6 thoughts on “Architects sketch of St Peters Church, Yarm Road

  1. Regarding the architect Eugene Clephen I am led to believe that he once lived in Blytheholme house Yarm Road which is now the Blytheholme Club. I wonder if there are any photos of the house before it was altered to way it is now. I live here at the moment and wonder if anyone can help.I can be contacted at graham.evis@ntlworld.com.

    Like

  2. I was very interested in all Barry Robinson”s recent comments. I feel that his dates at St Peter”s and Holy Trinity were very similar to my own. I would appreciate him contacting me either through Picture.Stockton or direct to my Email address:- rdicken@gmail.com

    Like

  3. I WAS BAPTISED AT ST PETERS CHURCH BY THE BISHOP OF DURHAM ON MARCH 3RD 1933 AND CONFIRMED BY THE BISHOP OF DURHAM AT HOLY TRINITY CHURCH ON APRIL 29TH 1944. I AM WONDERING IF THERE IS ANYBODY AROUND WHO WERE EITHER BAPTISED OR CONFIRMED ON THESE DATES.

    Like

  4. The church was built in 1881 without a tower. The tower was added in 1906 and dedicated by the Bishop of Jarrow. A plaque commemorating the dedication is inside the church.

    Like

  5. Architect was Eugene Clephan, member of the family which bequeathed numerous works of art to the Museum Service. Eugene’s Steam Building works still stands on Norton Road. Eugene went bankrupt in the 1890s and moved to Gateshead where he later died.

    Like

Leave a comment

