51 thoughts on “Newtown School

  1. I went to Newtown 51-58 and remember lots of the teachers Headmaster Mr Winn and Athens, Mr Glasswell. Mr Carr was our teacher in the last year he had a cane called ginger which he kept at the side of the blackboard.

    Like

  2. Peter Jordison.I attended Newtown School & the Mr Allan is the same person who taught at Newtown,who was your Headmaster at Harrowgate School.

    Like

  3. TO RICHARD LITTLE I KNOW ITS BEEN A YEAR SINCE THE POSTING, BUT WOULD THE MR ALLEN YOU REFER TO BE THE SAME PERSON WHO WAS HEADMASTER AT HARROWGATE JUNIOR SCHOOL IN THE 1960S [SEE REF T9295]

    Like

  4. Cliff Thornton says “All this talk of Mr Oliver at Newtown School in the late 1940s makes me wonder if it is the same Mr Oliver who became headmaster at Richard Hind Junior School during the 1950s?” The answer as far as I know is yes, except that his name was Olver not Oliver. He was my dad and the dates certainly fit, also the information given about his taking the choir and winning several local competitions. I think too that he was involved in football, but he was definitely not tall as someone seemed to think. I recognise names of some of the other teachers – like Ernie Wadsworth and Ernie Goodchild – and Mr Glaswell the Head. Miss Todd who taught Reception in the Infants was actually Mrs Todd and she was my great aunt by marriage. Someone mentioned Mr Winn as the Head. His daughter was a head in Middlesbrough at the school where I teach.

    Like

  5. Peter Ward. Your comment that you went to Newtown 39 – 44, that is about time I was there. May be a year behind you. can you remember who was in your class?

    Like

  6. I attended Newtown School from about 1939 to 1944 I lived at Westfield Crescent at the time unfortunately my memory is very vague about those years with the exception of gas mask drill in the cloakrooms and a individual school photo which I still have

    Like

  7. I remember the school well. The teachers and some of the kids who went there before with me. Now that I am a mam of two I tell them about the school, the kids who I remember and also the teachers. Every time we are on the bus going past I say “That”s my old school”. When I look at the photos I remember the class rooms as well and the memories and the good times I had at school.

    Like

  8. I remember that huge storm I was in Mrs D”arcy”s class at the time, in the huts. I remember the headline in the Gazette said something like Midnight at Midday. Scary stuff!

    Like

  9. I remember that the classes were mixed, but I do think the girls and boys were separated at playtime……. or did it just seem that way?

    Like

  10. Harry Iceton: The lovely girl that you remember in our garden was my older sister Audrey. Sadly she died many years ago aged only 54. She immigrated to Australia in 1949 but returned to England in the late 60`s and lived in Cheshire. I also remember your sister Jean and it was a big shock to us kids when she died so young. I lived on the corner of Hamilton and Londonderry Roads all my life until leaving England in 1966 to live and work abroad. I have very fond memories of the wonderful people who lived in that area at the time. Not a lot of money about but hearts of gold.

    Like

  11. I didnt attend Newtown school but I knew Ken and Colin Clarke. They both worked at Head Wrightsons Steel Foundry. Colin was a maintainance fitter and Ken worked in the pattern shop with me for a number of years. Both very nice guys.I have lost touch with both of them.

    Like

  12. Your recollection of living next to the Clarke”s in Londonderry road Harry Iceton brought back memories of a little girl who was a friend of my Late Wife, Marie Kennedy, who was also a very good friend of Margaret Clarke your neighbour, that little girl must have been your sister Joan Iceton, who died tragically after a burst Appendix I believe, when she as only about twelve years old. I remember Joan from Newtown Junior School. Does any one remember the underground Air Raid Shelter that was dug in front of the Caretaker Mr Rogers house, in the school playground, this must have been about 1940, I assume it was eventually filled in after the War.

    Like

  13. Yes Ged I did live next door to the Clarks in 130 londonderry road till I got married in 1942 I remember colin he was a few years younger than me and I seen him and ken an older brother every day, There Dad used to mend our bikes and fix the puntures,but after my marrage I didn”t see much of the lads but allways had a talk to their Mam when visiting my mother who still lived there till she died in 1980 . Sorry I can”t help as to the whereabouts of Colin or ken . Also Ray was my younger brother who went to the open airschool he had a hole in is heart and couldn”t go to the other schools it was an effort for him to walk about he couldn”t read or write and my mother tried to teach him at night time he managed to get by with a lot of help sadley he died a week before he was getting married . we had just finished getting the house ready for him to move into the last words he said was I feel dizzy and collapsed and died on the pavement outside the house. By the way Ged am I right in saying you had a daughter called Audrey I often spoke to a lovely young girl in your front garden when going to see my family . I Emigrated to Australia in 1986 ,Had two visits to stockton 1992 and 2006 some places they have done a great job but the high street has been spoilt doing away with some good old buildings .

    Like

  14. Ken Sawyer, I remember you as a fair haired boy in Tom Sowlers class 4b, just before the 1939 war started. I lost touch with for some years and came back into (Cock Salmons) top class and was then sent to the open air school in Norton. I left school from there when I was 14. I still have the class photograph taken with Miss Allan and Billy Hewitt the Headmaster. I got six of the best for flying a paper dart and not owning up. I have no complaints I learned two lessions. One own up, and the other do not trust everybody. After a lot of false starts in jobs by chance I found my niche in Mechanical Dentistry and became Senior Instructor at Leeds Dental School. Now retired and a grandad four times over. All the best, Norman Kidd.

    Like

  15. Bob Irwin: I don`t think that the “BOYS” sign above the enterance had anything to do with the toilets. In my days at the school the toilets were housed in individual buildings located in the school-yard. It is obvious from other comments posted that before my days at Newtown School the school was divided to provide separate learning facilities for boys and girls. Harry Iceton remembers this time during his stint in the school between 1930 and 1935. Incidentally Harry, did you live next door to the Clarkes? Do you have any knowledge of the whereabouts of Colin Clarke who was one of my best pals in the early 50`s? Was Ray Iceton your brother?

    Like

  16. I had 2 years only at Newtown as an infant before transferring to Holy Trinity. Good foundations were laid at Newtown and I also enjoyed my walks from Aysgarth Road (Grangefield) to school meeting friends on the way.

    Like

  17. I went to Newtown School in 1930 to 1935 in those days infants were in the Durham Road end of the school the girls in the middle and the boys had to use the Green Lane entrance. Boys were not allowed to go into or through the girls playground. Some of the teachers I remember were Mr welsh in class 7, Pa Gill in 6, Ernie Goodchild in 5, Tot Oliver, Pancy Ervin ,and a very strict tall lady who gave you a clip across the ear if you misbehaved she lived in one of the big houses on Billy Bortons bank. I just can”t think who was the Headmaster at that time Mr Welsh was a small tubby man but very strict and tough which he had to be as there were some big rough lads at 14 years of age ready to leave school. I was on the school football team and played against other schools on the Oxbridge Avenue playing fields and I used to dodge lessons to get the gear ready for our next match and the practice games on the rec near the Durham road Cemetry. Another lad that played in the team was Tommy Dodds a Grandson of the caretaker of the school, in all the years since leaving school I never sawn Tom untill I went to Billingham Press printers to work as a driver he was the owner of the firm. Toms Father was the owner of Dodds library in Bishopton lane till they started in the printing Business. Richard was right about the name of the shop and bakery being Brockets but it was on the corner of Bedford Street and Newtown avenue and opposite on the other corner was the Newtown Avenue fish and chip shop it carried on for a few years but closed I can”t remember what year it closed. The front room wich was the shop reverted back to beeing a parlour. There was to much competition in the area with the other two shops in Durham road

    Like

  18. I am one of the Community Heritage Officers who work in the refurbished Newtown Junior School, now known as Newtown Community Resource Centre. Ex-pupils, teachers or members of staff may be interested to know that we have a collection of school photos on display in the Centre. There is also a Heritage Coffee Morning on the last Thursday of each month to which you are invited. We are currently collecting memories and recollections of Newtown and the school for our community archive. Any contributions are very welcome.

    Like

  19. I attended Newton JS from about 1964 until 1967 when I departed for Grangefield Grammar School. Names I remember: Mr Waddington (taught English in one of the playground classrooms). Mr Dunn (stern-faced permanently grumpy chap whose wife may also have been a teacher there at the time?). Miss Richardson, Miss Collie,Mrs Rutherford, Mr Harker, Miss Wynne. Miss Wylie also came in once a week to teach the violin. Happy days – and all so long ago. Anyone remember me? Brian Tunney (sadly now dead) and Steven Rodgers were also there and, the love of my life (then) Barbara Lawson.

    Like

    • OMG you must have been in my year although I’m sorry I don’t remember your name! But Brian Tunney (who was one of five children I seem to remember) was in my class also the very handsome Steven Rodgers but also the love of your life Barbara Lawson !! I was the very plain Susan Carter who was friends with Barbara!! How amazing is this?

      Like

  20. I lived in Londonderry Road from about 1950 until 1958 and I went to Newtown school from 1950 until 1956. I also remember the large rings on the “common” as we called it, although that place was really out of bounds for me! My Mother used to work at Relton”s bakery in Bedford Street. I also knew the Luddington brothers, in fact I used to call for Peter around 5pm knowing full well he would be watching their new TV, of course his Mother would say he wasn”t coming out to play but would you like to come in and watch the TV with him. I did along with lots of other kids from the area! I also remember sledging down the bank past the old St Bedes school to the corner where Newtown school was. We never give any thought to what traffic might come round the corner . . . . . not the number of cars then as there is today. I was a good friend of Paul Steer (whose Father used to develop & print photographs), sadly Paul died several years ago.

    Like

  21. I lived on Billy Borton”s bank and remember the night when a car ran out of control, demolishing a lamp post halfway down! this must have been around 1958. I seem to remember that the occupants of the car had been imbibing too much alcohol! We also used the bank for roller skating using one skate and sitting on an old Beano annual – predating skateboards by several decades! I attended Newtown between 1954 and the early sixties during which the headmaster changed from Norman Wynn to Mr Glasswell. I remember Miss Dinning, Mr Wadsworth, Mr Allen? and Miss Hutchinson. My aunty Jen ran the Willow Dairy in Newtown, following on from my great aunts Bessie and Lily who lived on Durham Road (no. 85). Great memories of the whole Newtowm area in the 60″s!Amyone remember Ginger Grieveson, Towser Walker, the Luddington boys and Barry Smith? and bonfires on Wrensfield? I was also friends with Chris Little (Richard”s brother mentioned above) but only after passing the 11+ and going to Grangefield.

    Like

    • Denis Hodgeson, WE were probably in the same class. 1959 was our last year at Newtown. I used to sit next to a boy called Denis (you?). I lived at 92 Durham Road, in front of the fish shop. I went on to Richard Hind and then ICI. Loved those years, and being on the sports team.

      Like

  22. Yes, Richard I remember “the little brothers”. Also remember Brockett”s, in fact my sister Lesley worked there. It”s not til the memory is jogged that it all comes flooding back!

    Like

  23. I and my two brothers went to Newtown in the 50″s and I have enjoyed all the memories posted.We lived next to the Co-op on Bishopton Road.I can remember the large iron rings embedded into concrete near Brown”s bridge, barrage balloon site maybe ? The Maths teacher, Mr. Allen,lives over the road from me in Norton. Does Sue Rudge nee Black remember Brockett”s Shop & Bakery on Vicarage St.? The fresh teacakes were a real treat. I spent a lot of time near the railway at Stockton Station and took quite a few black & white photos of steam trains which were developed by a Mr. Steer on Bishopton Road.

    Like

  24. My Mum,Mrs Joan Hall, was a teacher at this school during the sixties, and I remember a Miss Hutchinson, I didnt know she fancied the head teacher though !! The Head Master during my time here,was a Mr R.F Glaswell, who always played Classical Music at assembly. Thanks to him, The Blue Danube, is my favourite piece of Classical music, and I always remember him, when I hear it. I also remember a Miss T Rutherford, who had a bright yellow VW Beetle, Mrs Betty Chesser,(my mums friend)and a Mrs D”Arcy, who had a severe expression most of the time. Mr Harker was the deputy head I believe. I attended this school in the mid to late sixties, does any one remember that dreadfull thunderstorm around 1967-68, when the sky went black, and it hailstoned?, we kids all hid under the table! This school appears on the friends reunited website if anyone”s interested.

    Like

  25. Brian Bennison – the bakery shop in Bedford Street was called Relton”s. My mother worked there in the 1950″s. Not sure when it actually closed but I seem to recall the family emigrated to Canada, possibly mid 1950″s.

    Like

  26. In answer to Sue Rudge nee Black. I also lived in Newtown (Londonderry Road) and went to Newtown School from 1950-1956. The bank you mention . . . . I always knew it as “Billy Bawtons Bank” (not sure of the spelling), not Bawdon. Does anyone know who Billy Bawton was? I remember Susan Calvert, she had a sister Ann.

    Like

  27. All this talk of Mr Oliver at Newtown School in the late 1940s makes me wonder if it is the same Mr Oliver who became headmaster at Richard Hind Junior School during the 1950s?

    Like

  28. Yes Benny, I remember Mr. Oliver very well. He was my teacher during my final year at Newtown School (1948-49) and was largely responsible for getting me to Richard Hind School. No mean feat as I was certainly no scholar. His nick-name was Tosher and I have no idea why that was so. Not only did he show a passion for football and sport in general but he was a very strict choir-master and achieved considerable success with the Newtown School choir of which I was a member during that final year. I am pleased that you thought well of him as I always regarded Tosher as an excellent teacher.

    Like

  29. Benny, as I am now 77 it means we have an age gap of 6 years, it is unlikely that we would have known each other in our younger days. Did you have an older brother? I had a lot of friends and relatives from the Hawthorne, Willow, Hazel and Appleton Rd. area. Like you we all played in Durham Rd. rec. You are right about Mr. Bailey being H.M. at Newham Grange school, my mistake. I do remember a Mr. Oliver being the manager of Walter Wilsons on the corner of Zetland Rd. If you or any old Stocktonian would like to drop me a line I would be pleased to hear from you, my e-mail address: p.weatherall@tiscali.co.uk

    Like

  30. Hi Peter, I am trying to place you. I was a paperboy for 3 years, Craigwell Cres. was my round. this would have been 1947 to 1950. Like Benny went to Newham Grange as well as Newtown Junior.

    Like

  31. Peter Weatherall We lived in Hawthorne road which backs on to Craigwell Crescent One of my best friends and my best man was Brian Anthoney who lived in Craigwell Crescent he attended Stockton Secondary School, you may know him. I am 71 years old and Brian would be 73 now.We used to play football and Cricket and all other conceivable games in the Sports field. The Sports field also backs on to Craigwell Crescent. We also played in the Durham Road rec. SAS to tot Oliver I seem to remember him as a shortish thin man , the person you may be referring to may have been Mr Pop Bailey who was Head Master at Newham Grange until an unusual event that led to his departure.

    Like

  32. Benny Brown. I feel we must have known each other when we were kids, I lived in the next road to you,(Craigweil Cres.) Pre war, Newtown School featured a commonwealth country every year on Empire Day. 1937 it was India, we had posters and pictures showing elephants, tigers and marharajah”s in their finery, pupils were asked to bring any Indian artefacts and souvenirs, and a surprising number did so. Many different types of knives, daggers and turbans were on show, it was a day I still remember. “Tot” Oliver, was he not headmaster at Newham Grange? He was to us eleven year olds a giant of a man at about 6″-6″

    Like

  33. Memories come flooding back talking about Newtown School, I remember on the wall of our class room were what must have been pre War posters advertising South Africa with views of a lovely sunny climate and showing grapefruit and what appeared to be a nice place to live. I must have had this locked in to my brain as I moved out to South Africa at the first opportunity when I was 27 years old with a one year old Daughter Alison and my wife Marie. We lived there for five years, and I always believed it was the influence of those posters in Newtown School which may have stirred my enthusiasm to visit South Africa. Does any one else remember those Posters advertising South Africa.

    Like

  34. Having another look at the top picture of Newtown School I realised that our class room was in the end of the school view shown, all the other final term classes were at the other end of the school, who had a Mr Oliver as their teacher. Mr Oliver took the “A” and “B” classes for football up at Durham Road Rec, the “C” class only ever managed to be invited on one occasion to play football for some unknown reason, but it was to my advantage, as Mr Oliver gave me a good report for when I started at Newham Grange School, as Mr Ray Irvine the Sports Master selected me in the under 15 years Football Team from day one, and I managed to play for four years in this team for which I was very grateful, and it had a very big influence on my future football career, whereas I may not have been given this opportunity if Mr Oliver had not allowed us the one day of football for the “C” class. Does anyone else remember Mr Oliver. I think his nick name amongst the children was Tot.

    Like

  35. Sue Rudge refers to “Bawdons Bank”. I always referred to the stream that ran alongside Newtown Schools as “Billy Borton”s Beck”, although the more refined used its proper name. Was it Borton or Bawdon? Just as I write this the little bakery in Bedford St springs to mind. Who ran it and when did it close?

    Like

  36. I remember Mrs Hutchison a tall thin lady with Spectacles a real lady in appearance, but not a teacher to inspire children in their endeavours. I remember when the 11 plus was coming up in 1946 Mrs Hutchison who taught the “C” Class made the most astonishing statement to this class when she said “you children have no hope of passing the eleven plus so you may as well have a days holiday”. which most of us did, not realising the importance of this examination to our futures. I admit we were a pretty uneducated lot, most of us unable to read and write coherently. She went on to tell us that only one girl had ever passed the 11 plus examination from a “C” class in the history of Newtown School. When I look back I find it extraordinary that a teacher should make this sort of statement to her class no matter how poorly educated the children were. I also remember Mrs Hutchison bringing in clothing and shoes to give to the disadvantaged in the class. I told my mother about this and she said ask her if she has any shoes for you, which I did and she turned up next day with a pair of ladies high heels asking me if they would be any good for me. All in all she was a lovely caring lady but may be not have been with it all the time.

    Like

  37. I attended Newtown Junior School from 1955 – 1961. I remember a lovely teacher called Miss Hutchison and if I am right she fancied the pants off the then Head Teacher whose name escapes me! My best friend was Susan Calvert and went everywhere together. I lived in Vicarage Ave and remember the walk to school over the field at the bottom of Bawdons Bank. I also remember roller skating at high speed down this bank frightening the pedestrians!

    Like

  38. What are your memories of Newtown? I am a Development Worker with Write to Read and I am currently putting together a show/play based on the recent history of Newtown with the children/young people from Newtown Youth Drama group who meet on Monday evenings. I am intersted in talking to people who have lived in Newtown all their lives, particularly the older generation who may have memories of local events, wartime memories and any famous people who were from or visited Newtown, which can be sketched in the play. If you have any memories you think might be included in the show please ring the Write to Read office on 731985 or email marion.wilson2@stockton.gov.uk

    Like

  39. I attended Newtown Junior School from 1943 to 1949 and am intrigued to see that one of the photos clearly shows an entrance marked “BOYS”. In my days the school rejoiced under the name of Newtown Junior Mixed School and all classes were indeed mixed. I have very fond memories of the school. In the Infants section I recall Miss Todd, Miss Skace and Molly Gibson trying to instill learning and later in the Junior School Mr & Mrs Lawson and “Tosher” Oliver had the job of guiding the pupils through the dreaded 11 plus examination. Tosher was also our choirmaster and we won several “firsts” at local song festivals. Incidentally, one of your browsers remembers a Mrs Atkinson from Londonderry Road. I lived almost opposite the Atkinsons until they moved in 1949 and have often wondered what became of the daughter Judith who was the same age as me. Does anybody have information?

    Like

  40. Just a few words of thanks to Lynne Hall, Steve Wild and Barbara Baker on my recent visit to Stockton from Western Australia (September 2004). Thanks for the Newtown tour and information it was great to visit my school of the 1950″s. Great site and hope my video and photos, plus more to come, are useful. Thanks again great site, great team and look forward to my next visit in two years time. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  41. Happy to be one of the first to add a few words. I attended Newtown J S during the war years, before moving on to Newham Grange. Teachers I remember: Mrs Gill was the first teaching infants.I also remember a Mrs Yuile, in third year. The final year Mrs Atkinson lived in Londonderry Rd. 2nd year classes were held in the methodist church. I now live in Sydney Australia

    Like

  42. 1977 is when I started Newton Juniors, I cried my eyes out!!! Ha ha ha. I soon got on and made plenty of mates. I remember having to do PE in our knickers and vests, in the play ground whilst people went past on the bus! Newtown was a great school and I have fond memories, both my two girls went as well and I now live on the same road (which is strange).

    Like

  43. I went to Newtown School from about 1949 to 1954. Mr Winn (Pop Winn) was my headmaster during the earlier days. There was also a particularly nasty bald headed teacher whom I will simply refer to as Mr “H”. He ridiculed me because I got some sums wrong, causing me to play truant undetected for two weeks. There was also an elderly woman teacher during my early days who used to punish children with a chair leg! Any comments to priaprism@hotmail.com

    Like

  44. I was a pupil at Newtown school for two years, then I moved away. My teacher at the time was a lady by the name of Mrs Little,a very nice teacher. The headmistress then was a woman by the name of Mrs Thomas or Thompson who wore her hair up in a large bun, and if my memory serves me correctly she was a dab hand with a slipper

    Like

  45. Newtown school is now being refurbished and will open as a Community Resource Centre in October. I”d love to hear from any ex pupils, teachers or anyone connected with the school to gather together more photos, momentos and memories for an exhibition and to include in a Community Newsletter. Anyone with any information can contact me at lynne_hall_newtown@yahoo.co.uk

    Like

  46. I was a pupil at Newtown School from 1955 to 1960. I have old photos of the choirs and dancing teams. Have very happy memories of the school and its teachers, many of our family attended over the years both pre and post wars. Visiting in September 2004 from Australia so hope it is still there for a few more photos.

    Like

Leave a comment

