12 thoughts on “Staff, Oxbridge Lane School c1954

  1. This photo shows the staff when I was at Oxbridge. I originally started school at Hartburn but was soon removed to Oxbridge as that was the school my dad attended and he knew Frank Showell.
    (I think he went to school and played football with him). I had to go for an ‘interview’ with Mr Showell before I could transfer schools and think I got the maths question wrong. I particularly remember Fred Mallon who was an inspiration to many who came under his tutorship – a Fred Mallon ‘look’ of disapproval was a far mightier weapon than the cane. I also remember Mrs Dee who I believe used to have a coffee perculator ‘on the go’ in the corridor outside her classroom (which was a highly exotic machine at the time ) and later met up with her husband when I went on to Richard Hind.. but that is another era… .

    Like

  2. I have fond memories of your father Ruth when he coached us in dramatics at the Co-op youth club in Stockton. We put on 2 plays at the Little Theatre in Middlesbrough, we didn’t win anything but we had an hilarious time trying to act under his direction. He was so enthusiastic which rubbed off on us giggley teenagers! This would have been about 1955/56.

    Like

    • How lovely to see your comments, Maureen. My father had a great sense of humour and a passion for drama and the theatre. I remember the excitement of going to The Little Theatre. Where was the Co-op youth club? Did you keep up the acting?!

      Like

  3. As far as I remember my parents went in for a competition to name the Bridge Street area shopping centre but they were second and won a small prize, they did not like the name chosen. I think Denis suggested something to do with the history of the area, either the river or the railway, because of the old Stockton to Darlington ticket office. Both Denis [died 2006] and Audrey [died 2010] were born in Darlington. Incidentally the teacher on the right in the back row, behind Denis, is Harry Watson, who later taught at the old Thornaby C. of E. School in George Street, where Denis was head. I remember Harry playing the violin. My father sometimes met Fred Mallon when out in town and they used catch up on each other’s news and talk about the old days at Oxbridge School. I went to Oxbridge infants and girls schools. I usually went on the bus, but now and again, when little, had a ride there on my Dad’s crossbar! No health & safety then and far less traffic!

    Like

  4. Fred Mallon 2nd left on bottom row was my uncle. He was a lovely man who sasdly died last year although he had a very happy life watching his beloved cricket.

    Like

  5. Mr Mallon (Fred, front row, second from left) enjoys a birthday upon Christmas Day and on the one just passed (2008) he will have become an amazing 92 or 93 years old, I can”t remember which. A lovely man and although experiencing breathing difficulties, with a mind as sharp as ever.

    Like

  6. Ref my earlier comment on this photo . Please forgive the mental abberation “Chandlers Ford ” should have read “Chandlers Wharf” Sorry.!

    Like

  7. The teacher on the extreme right front row is the late Denis Towlard who later became Head Master of the Church of England School Thornaby. Denis was I believe the person responsible for the name Chandlers Ford being allocated to the centre on the former Bridge Road in Stockton.

    Like

  8. I think the teacher on left back row is Mr. Kinsman (Gummy). He used to run the intermediate football team. I remember watching them winning the Cup (probably about 1958 or 59)at the Victoria ground. They played in red and white and not the green and yellow of the school. “Gummy” was a great exponent of the scissor movement and coached it to perfection between the inside forward and winger. I think Oscar Murray was a winger and had this movemnent down to a tee, Nellie O”Niel (brother of “Scon” John) may have been in the team as well. I used to ride in Gummy”s old Austin to matches when I played later on (for Fairfield), I always sat in the rear above the dodgy leaf spring as I was the smallest and lightest in the team.

    Like

  9. I believe the teacher behind Franky Showell is Mr Alcock and to the left is Mr. Mallen who rode everyday from Thornaby on his bike. Franky used to come from Guisborough and we used stick potatoes up his exhaust on his Ford Popular in order to make it conk out. Franky”s father was a Lay-Preacher (Methodist I think) and it rubbed off on him and he loved to tell us about the Old Testament and he ran a good service every morning at school assembly. He was a great games master and was always boasting about Norman Fowler (Old Oxy schoolboy)who he coached to be an England schoolboy player. He had a traffic accident which made him a little immobile around the legs and always told us of the story of not letting anyone help into the ambulance, and thus damaging his legs even further. He loved to tell us about Captain Cook and he used to walk us from the Moors to Staithes on school trips, the supposed route of Cook himself. And of course there was the summer camp in Staithes itself in the old wooden camp at the top of the bank. They don”t make em like Franky Showell anymore, got the stick of him a few times, but God Bless him were ever he his now.

    Like

Leave a comment

