17 thoughts on “St Cuthberts Church School

  1. I attended this school from about 1945 to 1950. I remember Peter Sigsworth. His sister Joy was in my class. I also remember Joyce Charlton very well, who was also in my class. Headmaster Mr. Botcherby was a nice man. I also remember Mr and Mrs Greener who taught there, and Mr. Dixon and Mr. Sweeting. My favourite was Mrs Chapman who was a wonderful teacher.

    Like

    • Went to this school until we moved to Prions Mill and don’t ever remember it being called ‘St Cuthberts School, was always called Church of England school.

      Like

  2. I also attended this school but only for 18months prior to emmigrating with my family to Australia in July 1954. I previously attended the infant school next to the church (Chapel St?) where I started my schooling as a 5 year old. I have a programme from the Drama Night, Dec 1953, where I played a gypsy. There are names I remember when I look at the plays – Phillip Wooley (The Lord) who lived near me, Ronald Snaith(gypsy), David Bell(the King), Sheila Brunskil (narrator) who lived a few doors away, Pam Botcherby (bridesmaid). Robert Moodie (Scrooge) and Ann Womack (Bassanio) were seniors. I remember Mrs Botcherby and Canon Timms who christened my sister. Interestingly I remember the name of the school as Billingham Church of England School not St Cuthbert’s. The programme also calls the school this. I remember the frozen milk bottles that we had to place near the fire to thaw out and also the holes in the tops where the birds had pecked at them. Thanks for the memories.

    Like

  3. I remember going to the C of E on the Green. As I lived on Wolviston court so mam took me each day in the car. Walking to the old baths passed the other schools. Sewing lessons with Miss gibson!! Loved Mr Greener & Mr Ison. Outside toilets. Waiting for the van to arrive that brought our lunch. Cried when we had to leave to go to Wolviston school while waiting for the new building on Clifton Ave.

    Like

  4. I also went to St Cuthberts, also remember Dave Yates. Mr and Mrs Botcherby used to be heads of school and lived in a big house on the green. I was born at No 33 the green in 52, what I remember was how cold the place was, always being late for school, playing rounders, Mr Greener was popular, Mrs Crichton I think was also a primary teacher at Church Road, I also went there. I sat my 11plus there, failed and ended up at Faraday Hall campus, did 1 yr at Stephenson Hall first. Anne Craig mentions Cannon Tymms RE lessons, he christened me.

    Like

  5. I attended this school from 1951 until 1956 and remember lots of the people who attended such as the Fletchers, Andrew Gullon, June Thompson , Ann Womack, Audrey Davies, Billy Hill, Brian Sowerby etc. And Mrs Chapman. I have a number of photo”s of the football teams which I intend scanning and will make these available this year. I remember playing shinty, and monokitty in the playground and rounders on the green. I was Robert at school.

    Like

  6. I attended this school until 1953. I remember June Allen and Winnifred Lewis. I have some happy memories but I also remember many canings for silly reasons. My sister, Margaret also attended until we emigrated to Canada. I remember Peter Fletcher as his sister married my cousin.

    Like

  7. I also attended this school between 1951 and 1956 with my younger sister Liz. My first teacher was Mrs Botcherby; liked because she read chapters from Enid Blyton”s “Famous Five” books every Friday afternoon and hated because she was the only teacher ever to cane me across the palm of my hand. (for getting ink blots on my writing book). I remember Canon Tymms coming every Wednesday morning to teach us religious instruction and, to this day, I can still quote huge chunks of the Catechism! Mr Greener was the most popular teacher. On hot, sunny days he organized “Rounders” on the Green, kept the radio on in the classroom whenever there was a Cricket Test Match with England playing and allowed us to “do our own thing” every Friday. The upshot was that nobody in my class passed the 11+. I continued my education at the “South Modern” on Belasis Lane.

    Like

  8. i attended st.cuthbert”s school in the 50″s along with my brother tommy, sisters carol and jacqueline wells. my father worked in peter fletcher”s father”s shop on the green when he was a young lad. in the 80″s my son paul and peter fletcher”s son david attended conyers school,yarm and became good friends …small world isn”t it? i later attended st.johns and st.michaels billingham.Would like to hear from anybody who remembers.

    Like

  9. I went to Billingham CofE school between 1965 and 1970. I remember Mr Botherby, Mr Ison, Mr Greener, Miss Gibson, Mr heslop and Mrs Crieghton. I remember walking over the the church for assemblies and school play rehearsals and I remember playing rounders on the playing field and we used to make daisy chains. We used to go and do our lessons outside on nice days and make big slides half the length of the playground on icy days. We had to answer a times table question to get out of class at home time in the infants and I remember doing country dancing on afternoons.

    Like

  10. I went to the Billingham Church of England School in 51 to 55 and I remember Peter Fletcher. I was a good friend of Shirley Taylor. Teachers were Mrs Bocherby, Mr Sweetings class ans Mrs chapman and Mrs Hall was the Home Ec teacher.

    Like

  11. I also went to this school from 1955-1960. Then onto the newly built davy hall, now known as Billingham Campus, Hope everyone is doing fine. I would love to hear from all my old mates as ive lost touch with so many.

    Like

  12. The photograph is most certainly the Church of England School. I remember that below the large window near the centre of the picture there was a badly damaged air brick, just above ground level. I was playing with my treasured old worn tennis ball when it unfortunately disappeared through the hole in the air brick, never to be seen again. I was devastated and could not believe what had happened!

    Like

  13. I went to this school from aged five to fifteen and some of the teachers were Headmaster was Mr Bocherby then Mrs bocherby Mr. Greener Mr. Sweeting. Has anybody got any old school photos because I would like to see them

    Like

  14. Further to my earlier comments. This building had a stone above the entrance with the date 1861 [as I remember] etched on it. When I attended the school in the late 50″s/early 60″s, this building housed the juniors and the school dinner kitchens.The Boys” toilets were [outside]at the rear of the building and the Girls” in a courtyard to the right. Each classroom had an open fire which was lit by the school cleaner each morning – the rooms had high ceilings and were freezing until mid afternoon, though the teachers were OK as they would present the lessons whilst warming their bums as they leant back on the guards.

    Like

Leave a comment

