34 thoughts on “Holy Trinity School

  1. Hi there, yes the tallest boy in the back row is my father Tom Shaw, who is now 78 years old and has resided in South Africa since 1972. Lovely to see this photograph and will tell him to look it up.

    Like

    • Looks like the boys are hard at work in the Vicarage garden (Skinner St. and Brunswick pub in the background). The section with the toddler is between Holy Trinity School and the Maison De Danse? In the colour section, where everyone is getting on the bus, there’s a sign for the Maison De Danse, an Uptons van and Castlegate in the background.

      Like

      • I love the shot of the man picking the toddler up and leaving his cigarette in his mouth, how times have changed!! I went on a similar trip from Richard Hind Juniors around 1952 we were allowed free time to look around and one of my classmates found a 10 bob note, riches indeed back then.

        Like

  2. Alive and kicking – just!!! Now 72, seems like just yesterday this photo was taken. Do not have contact with anyone on photo. Nice to see photo as I do not have any of my time at school. Still remember some of the teachers – Mr Campbell, Mr Brown, Mr Nesbitt (head), Mr Parker (woodwork)though probably would be better to forget. Have lived in Eaglescliffe area for past 45 years.

    Like

      • If it’s the same Barry Carr, son of Jake Carr the bookie, he lived in Eaglescliffe for many years, well sorry to say he passed away about 3-4 years ago.

        Like

    • Hi Barry nice to hear you are still ok and see the old photos. Do you remember we lived in Hillcrest Ave. you lived Chemsford Tom Shaw /and Jim /living in SA now for past 45 years

      Like

  3. John
    you must be the John Holms lived in Norton that used to cycle to school behind the number O bus in the slip stream and we all followed from Trent Street, there (was myself Ray Buck) John Merchant, from Mount Pleasant Alan Craddock, from Cottisloe Road yourself and a couple of others
    Yes we must be nearing our three score years and ten, I have actually passed the 70 mark last May, Alan Craddock of course was killed when knocked of his bike on the Portrack roundabout in about 1963 when going to look at a house he was hoping to purchase, as he was about to be married, he had gone straight from work , from Pickering’s lifts, John merchant is still in Fairfield as is Brian Galloway.
    No 8 was George Green

    Like

    • Hello, I knew Brian Galloway from the Holy Trinity youth club, I am just embarking upon a quest to discover my old friends who went to school with him, ie; Bill Connor, Peter Atkinson, Brian Williams. also part of our crowd were Rosemary Antrobus, Irene Merryweather and Pauline Mearge who’s family had a fruit and veg stall on the market. Do any of these names mean anything to you?

      Like

      • Mr Smith, the Stockton Roots site on the internet may help you find the married names of the young ladies you mention, providing that is they married locally.

        Like

  4. As the boys in the photo will now be nearly/are 70, I thought it was time I added a few more names to those listed.
    Back Row, (From the Left) 3)? Hill,6)Tom Shaw,7)? Watson,9)Ivan Patterson,11)? Smith,12)? Baldwin. Centre Row,(From the Left)3)Alan Simpson,8)? Green,10? Richardson,12)Fred Bromley.
    Front Row(From the Left)2)? Ward,3)Barry Carr,5)John Wilson,6)David Wilson,7)/ Foster,8)Peter Cliff.
    The Photo was taken in 1950, and is of the “Remove Class” IE, those boys who in the opinion of the Staff were not bright enough to pass the 11+.
    The teacher I remember most was Mr(Cock) Salmon, who during a lesson, if asked about the loss of his finger end, would spend all the rest of the lesson telling us of his Service in the Army during the 1st World War, And what about his Singing Lessons.
    I think Mr Brown took over S2 after Mr Salmon retired.

    Like

  5. My dad was Joe Palmer, as mentioned in your message Alan. He sadly died in August 1994. It was so nice to hear that you remembered him.

    Like

    • Jane Palmer so sorry to hear your Father passed away so young Joe and I were best friends at Trinity also after leaving school for many years. We lost touch when I went to live in Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe). Whilst there I came across Paul Booth also in our class he was in the police a CID Inspector at Bulawo. I now live in Devon and tried to contact Joe on many occasions in recent years without success I now realise why. I remember Alan Wealan, Dave Galer and many others in our class

      Like

  6. Mr. Ganner is mentioned – surely Lloyd is his first name? Uncommon family name, isn”t it? Lloyd and my sister were “an item” in their school days, but Lloyd went on at a VERY early age to the RAF ( a pilot ) and the romance ended. I am amused tha Mr. Ganner became known for his use of the cane! It was a common practice in my school days, though. We had a “Slasher” Pierce to torment us in our 12th year of age!

    Like

  7. ray buck..your memory is very good to remember the names of the teachers at the huts.i only recall their names after reading your comment.i had the job on a monday morning to go to every class including the huts to collect the 5 shilling dinner money.by the time i had finished my blazer pockets were full of half crowns walking back from the huts.can you imagine being able to do that theses days.never once had a problem,i handed all to ma alan. I will be sending photo”s during this next week

    Like

  8. I recently sent 2 class photo”s from HT.They have not yet been added , but were taken in the same spot. I left HT around 1960. Most of the teacher”s mentioned I can remember,Mr.(the cane)Ganner,(how would he fair at a school to-day),Ma Tolson, Mr.Brown,Mr Thompson and his film club,Miss Allen was deputy head,and Mr.Nesbitt was head master. In the HUT were Mr.Cambell,S3 and art, and Charlie Paker, with the wood spoilers. From our class the head boy was ALAN JONES, he had a sister at raggie hind.The year before him it was JORDON JONES who went on to skipper the Boro, and the YEAR after i left it was DEKKER THWAITES.

    Like

  9. I went to HT from 57-61 teachers there were mr nesbit HM, miss tolson ,miss allan,,mr brown,mr thompson,mr ganner,mr sawyer,(icky),mr parker,mr cambell,mr tingel, We didnt have much of a football team, but had some well known names Gordon Jones who was a captain of the Boro, Dennis Thwaites who played for England boys and many years for Birmingham City, Stewart Fellows who went on to play for Newcastle Und, I still keep in touch with a few of old school mates even though Im 12000 miles away.

    Like

  10. Yes it is Mr Brown next to Mr Nesbit, a small mistake in my original post(it was over 60 years past) The Huts as were known at the end of the Church yard were as you say, Art Mr campbell, Woodwork Mr Parker.

    Like

  11. I agree that the teacher next to mr nesbit is mr brown I recall mr thomson (science/pt teacher). mr ganner (still get the shivers with him and his cane.) the woodwork and art classes were at the other end of the church ground.I have similar picture taken in same spot.anyone remember the conker tree?

    Like

  12. To David Palmer- – – If you look up picture ak01014 in the Schools section of the Picture stockton web site you will find a picture of the School. Your uncle Joe was in the same class as me. We both left in 1952. We then both joined Holy Trinity youth club. What happened to him after that I do not know.

    Like

  13. I started at HT 42 years ago (1964?). Ma Allen taught me as well as my father some years earlier (Wallace Palmer) & his brothers, George Palmer, Joey Palmer. Not sure if eldest brother, Archie Palmer, went there too. Only Wallace still on Earth (May 2006) Nesbitt was still HM. Does anyone remember Nesbitt serving the mashed potato at “dinnertime”. I have several class photos in UK from the old school & the dedication of the new school. However I, do not have photos of old school. Does anyone have one?

    Like

  14. I attended the school from 1951-1957. I am sure the teacher seated next to Mr Nesbit is Mr Brown who taught me when I was in S2. Mr Parker at that time was the woodwork and technical drawing teacher and also taught S4. I have a school photo somewhere I will seek it out and post it. I have lived in New Zealand for the past 31 years.

    Like

  15. I went to Holy Trinity or “Holy Tripe” as it was locally known, from 1960 to 1966. Mr Nesbit was still headmaster and Miss Allan and Mr Thompson were still teaching there with Mr Tinkeler, Mr Saywer, Mr Scott, Mr.Ganner and Ma Tolson too! The cane, slipper, wooden rulers and blackboard rubbers were the prefered tools of torture. We had to wear a maroon blazer and cap. It being a Church of England boys school, each morning we had assembly and it was of course religious. I remember the odd film show in the school hall and Mr Thompson setting up the projector and the groans of the kids when the film snapped. The real treat was when we all trooped of to the Odeon cinema to watch Treasure Island or a similar classic. I also remember leaving school one afternoon at 4pm and running the length of the High street to catch a glimpse of The Beatles running into the ABC Globe Theatre for a concert that night, John Lennon was wearing his leather cap!

    Like

  16. This group school photograph ( I think) was taken 1946 or 1947 ish at Holy Trinity Church of England Boys School.  I am 5th from the left middle row, John Marchant is fourth on that row , John Holme”s is between Mr Nesbit and Little Mr Parker, John Clague in first in the middle row with Brian Galloway next to him, Front row first left Barry Buckle, next to Mr Nesbit (I think ) is Brian Williams middle row second from right is ( I think ) David Henderson E&EO please correct me if I am wrong Several others I remember but unable to recall there names …Sorry

    Like

Leave a comment

