16 thoughts on “Hartburn Signal Box

  1. Antony Gray!, how are you doing – I’ve just found this website (don’t know if you still use it). I didn’t realise there was a signal box either; it must’ve been where there was a gap you could cut across. Marlborough Road bridge, those were the days. Glad to hear you are working in railways. I am back living up here (in yarm), still see plenty of class 66 freightliners and coal passing over the viaduct. I’m gonna digitise some of my photos and submit… keep posted!

    Like

  2. Yes, this is Hartburn Jcn box. I worked at Bishopton Lane box as a book lad with signalman Tommy Tupling in the 1950s and was always on the sane shift as a nice chap at Hartburn jcn called Hall Tate. When I was a relief lad, I once worked a shift at Bowesfield jcn with Stringer and Thirlwell. WHEW!!! Anyone remember them?

    Like

  3. I actually worked in Hartburn Junction Box – as a then ten-year-old under the supervision of two of the signalmen, a Mr Walton and a Mr Hardwick. I was fascinated by signalling and persuaded them to teach me. This would be around 1944-45 when I was a pupil at Holy Trinity School. I wasn”t strong enough to pull the points levers but worked the signal levers and the bells. This included ringing the Stockton Station bell, rung to warn the porters of an oncoming train. Eaglescliffe North rang a high-pitched bell in the Hartburn Box, Bowesfield Junction a medium pitch and Stockton North a lower pitched bell. I learnt the bell code and still possess a copy. Great fun it was and no doubt highly illegal.

    Like

  4. The bell signal was 3.1 and the one armed signalman was Norman Allen, recently retired from Redcar box, one of his favourite tricks was letting his pet doberman pull off the false hand that he had. He lost the arm going home from Hartburn one night in a traffic accident.

    Like

  5. My mom and dad had very happy memories of this signal box and the warm wall I am sure they would have loved this site if they were still alive Jan

    Like

  6. I spent many a year spotting from the bridge between Marlborough Rd & Spring Street. All that time I never realised there used to be a box on Marlborough Rd (well it was several years after it was demolished). I am now an adult with children of my own & now work on the railways all over the country & regularly work in different box”s. Only wish Hartburn were still there, think I am getting old now & thinking of better times!!

    Like

  7. This is most definitely Hartburn Signal Box. I took the picture in July 1973, courtesy of my future father-in-law, Harry Robinson, who was one of the signalmen there. Over a period of 3 years visiting, he unofficially trained me in the arcane procedures of absolute block signalling.

    Like

  8. Hylton Hutchinson: This signal box is Hartburn Junction not Bishopton Lane, which was the next box along towards Stockton and just south of the station. The progession was Hartburn Junction, Bishopton Lane, Primrose Hill, North Shore, Stockton Bank and then Norton Junction South. All but Norton Junction South have long disappeared, with the area controlled from Bowesfield Junction box

    Like

  9. Hylton Hutchinson – hello there. There was a lad in my class at Redbrook School with this same name. I”m wondering if you are the same one. And Derek Dodd, please get in touch with me through this site or go on “facebook”. I”d like to catch up on the last 30 plus years.

    Like

  10. THIS IS BISHOPTON LANE SIGNAL BOX.I USED TO CHOP STICKS AND CLEAN THE WINDOWS WHEN I WAS A BOOK LAD AT NORTH SHORE SIGNAL BOX IN 1972/73. IS THIS THE SAME CLIFF THORNTON YHAT WAS A DRIVER AT THORNABY?

    Like

  11. Ah this brings back many happy memories. As a lad I used to go into this signal box (with my dog Timmy an Alsation look alike who used to jump up the wall from the road to get in) along with one or two others. Norman the one handed signalman used to let us work the levers and “bell” the trains from the last and to the next box. If i remember well the DMU”s passenger trains (bog units) used to be the bell signal 3:2

    Like

  12. I was well pleased to read cliff THORNTON remarks about the fireplace in the Signal Box Our Gang Neil SOWERBY Colin GILLES Harry RICHARDS used to do some cold winter nights courting our girlfiends at the signal box the we would wander over the Spring Street bridge to the Fish and Chip shop and buy three penneth of chips, some scraps and a bottle of pop. bit different to today where it would be a snort of coke and and half a bottle of scotch.

    Like

  13. In Ropner Park the grassy space alongside Marlborough Road was always used by my schoolmates to play football, cricket etc. But all play stopped on hearing the distant whistle of an approaching A4 Pacific locomotive. The first person to identify the unmistakable sound of that chime whistle shouted out “STREAK”. It was just like the starter”s gun at the Olympics as we all raced to see who could reach the embankment first and catch a glimpse of the engine in its green L.N.E.R. livery. In the 1950s the park had an old wooden fence with plenty of holes that we could squeeze through in time to see the train pass by. But then they erected the modern metal railings around the park. They proved an insurmountable barrier, and we had to run to one of the two exits to reach Marlborough Road and the railway line. That extra distance was just too far, and usually the train had passed by before we got there.

    Like

  14. Isn”t this the signal box that stood in Marlborough Road,it looks like it with Ropner Park in the background. The signalman used to keep a roaring fire going in the ground floor fireplace in winter. The fire heated the brick wall up and trainspotters could always warm themselves up by leaning against the wall in Marlborough Road.

    Like

Leave a comment

