Newham Grange Secondary Modern School, 1957

Back row from left to right:- David Hebron, Tommy Mooney, George Lambert, Michael Morgan, Keith McQuade, David Mallaby, Earnest Allen, Robert Wilkinson, Brian Swales, Douglas Baker, Kenneth Harris, Kenneth Lake.Middle row from left to right:- George Steel, Joe Simpson, Audrey Furguson, Ann Hall, Margaret Grainger, Beryl Bailey, Nancy Clark, ? Kirby, Glenda Ellis, Kathleen Plummer, Beryl Kett, Brian Savage, Tommy Ballantyne.Front row from left to right:- Edith Oram, Pauline Ward, Ann Matson/Lofthouse, Pamela Fynn?, Brenda Ridley, Mrs Sproates, Judith Turner, Linda Hart, Maureen Burns, Carol Simmons, Audrey Oliver.Photograph courtesy of Brian Swales

19 thoughts on “Newham Grange Secondary Modern School, 1957

  1. I attended Newham Grange 1957 to 1961 and I remember Mrs Sproates. Also, if my memory is correct, a Mr Stelfox was woodwork teacher and Mr Grant taught P/E. I would be interested to hear from any of my former classmates. I am retired and now live in Newquay, Cornwall.

    Like

    • Hello John remember me Jimmy Taylor we were in the same class at Newham Grange I know that I did have a bit of a reputation as a boy me being a rough raggy trousered lad glad to say that ended shortly after leaving school. I left Stockton when I was 15plus going to Derby to find work I obtained a apprentership as a plumber done quite well eventually going into the industrial side of the trade, travelled quite a lot with the job Scotland, Wales & All over England plus worked over seas power stations gas pumping stations RAF stations & USAF air Bases, I like you are retired & still living in Derby ,but I do go back to Stockton every year to meet people & relatives

      Like

    • Hi John, I attended Newham Grange from 1957-1961. My name was Beryl Simpson – do you have any school photos? I have lost all of mine.

      Like

  2. I am delighted to find this website. I attended Newham Grange School from September 1953 to April 1957 when I left to become an apprentice engineer at Head Wrightsons in Thornaby. I was in 1A to 4A and became a Prefect and the Boys Vice-Captain of the School in my last year under Mr Beaver, the Head Master. Christine Houghton was the Girls Vice-Captain. I was involved with Mr North and his printing press and have a number of photos from the period. I had a mind to organise a reunion in 2007 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of my class leaving Newham Grange but as I now live in Epsom, Surrey I did not get round to it. I would love to hear from any old boy or girl who remembers me. Please get in touch. I currently work for the London Borough of Sutton and expect to retire in 2012 at the age of 70.

    Like

    • Good morning Roy
      I was interested to read your comments about Newham Grange and wonder if you remember me. You mention Christine Houghton and hopefully I shall meet up with her next month. We have a small group of old pupils, from around the early 50s and I have recently opened a Facebook page, “Newham Grange School”. Look forward to hearing from you, regards, John Waller.

      Like

      • I remember Christine as she was the girl friend of a good friend of mine Dennis Maxwell for a while back in the late 50’s. She then also worked at HW Eaglescliffe Iron Foundry as telephonist when I was a lab assistant there. Please pass on my regards to her if you see her. I live in Bucks so have little contact with Stockton any more but have fond memories of growing up there.

        Like

      • Hello John (John Waller)
        I am delighted to read your comment. I have heard through Len Nicholson that a lunch-time reunion is being arranged by you at the Old Farmhouse Inn in Darlington on 9th May. I am already planning how I can attend this as I live in Epsom in Surrey. I am not on Facebook (too old-fashioned) but my sons are so I am going to get them to help me. I am in touch with three other ex-pupils, Christine Houghton, Pat Whitmarsh and Margaret Marr, Would you like me to contact them about the get-together?

        Kind Regards
        Roy

        Like

  3. In my 3rd August post I was referring to the Mr North who taught Brian Swales – and probably many others – about printing. Charles North died in Elland a few years ago. His wife”s name is Madeleine but I do not know her maiden name.

    Like

  4. I do not know what happened to the printing press but having known each other in Stockton – the Newham Grange & Richard Hind link – we met up again later in our professional careers in the Halifax area. He was Deputy Head of Eastfield Secondary School at Lightcliffe – until 1974 in the West Riding authority – and later he became Head of J H Whitley Secondary School at the north side of Halifax and by then in the Calderdale authority. So we were colleagues as Secondary School Heads. His wife taught at Newham Grange also I believe.

    Like

  5. During the time I attended Newham Grange school, from 1956 – 1960, one of the teachers was a Mr North. Apart from other subjects, he also taught a craft class, including printing. In the craft room was a wonderful old printing press that he used to print all manner of things for the school including, I recall, a multi-coloured programme for a production of Merry England. The printing press was a large free standing flat bed press called (I think) an Albion. If my memory is correct these machine dated from the mid 1800″s. I have often wondered where this printing press came from and what happened to it after I left school in 1960. After missing numerous lessons during the last couple of years at Newham Grange to help in the printing department, I left school and took an apprenticeship as a compositor in the printing trade. Does anybody know what happened to that printing press?

    Like

    • I attended Newham Grange School from 1959/1963. Something quite special must have been in the air of that Printing Office as I too became smitten with those 26 soldiers of lead, a love which I have not lost to this day, and joined the printing trade as an Apprentice Compositor.

      The reply to your question concerning the fate of the two printing presses (The Albion and a treadle operated Arab) and associated type and equipment is very sad.

      A new timber building was provided which was situated between the old classroom and the public footpath to accommodate and expand this facility. The building burnt down with the loss of both machines and all of the equipment!

      Heaven knows how many people Charlie North introduced to Letterpress Printing over the years. I know of several who got the bug and made a successful career in the industry.

      Do you remember that poster displayed by Charlie in pride of place with those immortal words of Beatrice Warde “This is a Printing Office . . . ” Proud and true words indeed!

      Like

  6. Tommy Mooney in the photo is the father of Tommy Mooney the Wycombe Wanderers captain, ex Swindon,Birmingham City & Watford football player.

    Like

  7. Margaret Stableford – If you “Search the database” for Newham Grange School you will see another photograph (t6167) I have added to the site. It shows your mother with another teacher, Mrs Hewitt, it was taken in 1958/59 on a school trip to Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland.

    Like

  8. Hello Brian, Rob did indeed orginate from Penshaw he visited there quite often during the years he lived in Windermere Road, Grangefield. His parents sadly died some years ago, his brother Malcolm lives in Hartburn, Stan the youngest brother moved to Middlesbrough. When Rob and Hazel married they moved to the cottage on the corner of Yarm Road and Butts Lane. The building had been used as a site office by Tom Gray the building contractor. Hazel was Tom”s secretary, when she and Rob married Tom allowed them to buy the cottage and they turned it back into a home. They lived there until they eventually emigrated to Australia. I have very fond memories of my time spent with Rob and Hazel and the wonderful parties we enjoyed at that house.

    Like

  9. Hi John, I was friends with Robert at school. He arrived at Newham during that first year from, I think, Penshaw. I did hear from another old schoolfriend he was in Australia. Douglas Baker, third from the right back row, also lives in Perth, Western Australia.

    Like

  10. Rob Wilkinson one of the pupils in this photograph is a friend of mine. We worked together for many years at the Co-op Building Department also on the construction sites of Rimswell and Glebe estates. Rob and Hazel, his wife, moved to Perth in Western Australia many years ago, a move they have never regretted.

    Like

Leave a comment

