33 thoughts on “Form 5x -Newham Grange Sec. Modern – 1973

  1. My mum who is 85 is new to kindle and I was browsing, what a great pic I still have the originals too I have the prefect pic too cos I married Peter Watson from 5E, no longer married though. I think a couple of classmates on pic are no longer with us. Jan Watson (nee Brown) I still live and work in Stockton look me up on facebook

    Like

  2. I have a painting of Newham Grange school, it was painted by a local artist, who lives on the estate. I left the school in 1965, the teachers Mr.Grant, Race, North, Rogers, and Rex Hazelton to name a few. Female teachers Mrs.Grant, Taylor, Raper, and of course Miss Gittus.

    Like

  3. Does anyone remember Mrs Doreen Gittus or Gittings? She was the music teacher at Newham Grange School. I was there 1963 to 1967.

    Like

  4. I would have been in that picture but left the year before to go to Fairfield. Was it really that long ago? I would love to see some of those people again but am now in Canada so slim chance!

    Like

  5. Just found this picture whilst looking for other photo’s. My cousin Pauline Hunt is in there. The school is now called ‘The Oak Tree Primary School’. still in it’s old location. I used to go there from 72 till 74 then it merged with Richard Hind, whilst waiting for the Bisshopsgarth School to be built.

    Like

  6. Lorraine, a reunion would be great if someone could organise it. A bit difficult for me living in Hampshire. Do you remember when we were both usherettes at the Turner Theatre in Stockton? I lost count how many times we must have seen "Cabaret" and "Pinocchio".

    Like

  7. Jock Grant came to Newham Grange School about 1956, he was the P.T.Teacher & took over from a very good sportsmaster, Quin Winton. Mrs Grant was at Frederick Natress at that time.

    Like

  8. I can’t believe I came across this whilst just browsing a site. I bumped into I think it was Marion Ransome in Norton not so very long ago whilst visiting my mother. It’s really time for a REUNION if anyone is up for it. Whatever happened to Mrs Greenwood, Miss Flynn. I suppose Mr Agar (Maths) and Mrs and Mrs Grant are long gone. So many years ago!

    Like

    • Mrs Greenwood, Miss Flynn and Mr Grant left in 1973 when Bishopsgarth Comp was formed. Mr Agar and Mrs Grant continued to teach in Bishopsgarth.

      Like

  9. I think it was taken because it would have been our last year at Newham Grange. Do you remember doing “Macbeth” for GCE. You were Macbeth and I was Lady Macbeth when we used to read it out in classs. Mr Devine was our English teacher. Lots of girls wanted to do Chemistry and Physics, but it wasn”t anything to do with the good looks of Mr Grant or Mr Race! There was only Fiona Hall who was allowed to take those subjects.

    Like

    • hi Lesley, yes that’s right, my mother came to see the headmaster about me doing science, it would have been great to have female company! Great to see so many names here, Fiona

      Like

  10. Well now thats a blast from the past, I remember the photo being taken, but can”t recall the circumstances. I remember all the boys wanting to take biology – Mrs Greenwood was, after all, a lot better looking than Mr Grant.

    Like

  11. The top entrance at Newham Grange school was from Newham Grange estate,Patterdale Avenue was only a field leading to St Pauls Church in the early fifties.The school was one of the most up to date schools in the Stockton area with its own sports fields in the grounds,along with Grangefield Grammer school & William Newton school for girls.I guess we were fortunate enough to attend at the right time.

    Like

  12. Newham grange had and still has 2 entrances one was from patterdale avenue the other was from green lane, there used to be a woodwork shop (Wooden hut) at the green lane end and a pottery room (another wooden hut) at the paterdale end. I went there for a year and it was a tatty old school, it has now been renovated as a juniors, infants and a creche. Newtown infants and juniors is not a school anymore, it”s now what they call a resource centre.

    Like

  13. This is a photograph of form 5X of Newham Grange Secondary School. 1973 Names are: L-R Back: Martin Wright, David Woods,Robert Watson. 3rd Row: Geoffrey Hart, Stephen Shepherd, Marion Ransom.Carol Lee, Ian McGregor, Alan Thompson. 2nd Row: Leigh Gordon, Lesley Heselwood (Me), Janice Brown, Fiona Hall, Pauline Hunt, Lorraine McCue, Judith Dack. Front Row: Barbara Ransom, Jackie Poikla, Judith Bowen, Mrs Greenwood, Ann Gall, Janet Howe, Helen Smith.

    Like

Leave a comment

