23 thoughts on “Coronation Day c1953

  1. Re Oakwell Road; Thanks for the mention Janet, I remember you as well, we moved out of Oakwell Rd in 1963. Bob Irwin -I remember Eric Robinson, we went to Frederick Nattress together.

    Like

  2. I REMEMBER MRS SNELLS SHOP AT THE END OF STANLEY STREET, I WAS A WAGON LAD AT JOHN RUSSELLS WAREHOUSE, AND WE DELIVERED TO THIS SHOP,I DON”T REMEMBER WHY, BUT WE ALWAYS PASSED THE GOODS THROUGH THE WINDOW INTO THE SHOP, THE SHOP ASSISTANT AT THE TIME WAS A LOCAL LASS CALLED ANNE WRIGHT, AND WE ALWAYS GOT A CUPPA.

    Like

  3. Just one point to add the shop at the end of Stanley st Norton was ran by Mrs Snell in the 60s and the one in Cameron street was ran by the Plumptons for a while. I lived for many a year at 54 Oakwell.

    Like

  4. To whom it may concern. Ivor Snell did train as a Manager for Woolworths. It was Barbara Lunn and I believe she went to Richard Hind after FN. She had a younger sister called Christine. Her Father was Foreman Maintenance Fitter for F Hills on Norton Road.

    Like

  5. Bob, I remember Leroy Griffiths from Freddy Natt, unusual name that “Leroy” for those days. Tell me didn”t Ivor Snell work at Woolworths in Stockton allegedly moving up to Manager and did the Lunns have a daughter called Barbara ?

    Like

  6. Re Cameron Street in the 1960 there was a ladies hairdressers in the second shop, they also sold fancy goods and we still have a pair of “Elegant Lady ” figurines purchased as a wedding anniversary gift from that shop

    Like

  7. Hullo John Buston, I lived at 60 Oakwell Rd which looked right down Camberon St. I was invited to the Cameron St Coronation Party but it rained and we ended up in St Joseph”s church hall. I still have the cup/saucer/plate. Was that the one you went to? I used to go to the two shops at the end of Cameron St every day for small items of shopping. The two ladies who ran the shops used to give me a sweet each time out of the large jars on the counter. Children used to play ball games and skipping games just outside our house every evening. Were you one of them? Ruth Flower from Stanley St was one of them and Marie Watson from Oakwell Rd another. Michael Nelson used to live 3 doors up from us.

    Like

  8. Remembering the names that took over the shops. Blands took over from Shields and Browns followed Blenkirons. My sister is a good friend of the Browns who now live in Fairfield. Before Snells had the shop in Stanley Street it belonged to Thompsons who”s son and Grandsons lived opposite. You”ll remember John Thompson , I would say he was the same age as you John and went through school at the Frederick Nattrass before going onto Newham Grange School. Remembering your side of the street at either end were called Pickering. Ragworth Road end was Jackie who was a lot older than us and kept pigeons. At the Oakwell Road end was Mr. Pickering who was a road sweeper and his son Billy.

    Like

  9. Hello John Buston. Fancy not mentioning me when you named people you knew from the area! I was born at 19 Oakwell Road and lived there till 1963. I remember you quite well and the people you mention. Ivor Snell was a champion roller skater (dancing). Peter Marshall did professional wrestling in his spare time. As for Leroy Griffiths, I can guess why you didn”t get on because no one bothered with him. (Or he did not bother with us). I came upon him in later years. No change in his looks but he didn”t go by the name of Leroy. Your 2 cousins and the Lunns I knew. The Lunns moved to Letch Lane Carlton as well as your uncle(Bunty) who went to Carlton The 2 shops in Cameron Street were Shields and Blenkirons. They did change over in the late 40″s and early 50″s. Can you remember the big slides we had outside the shops in Cameron Street during the Winter. Happy days. I don”t know whether you are aware but Alan Lees Mother has just moved out of their house in Ragworth Road into an old peoples home somewhere down South Road.

    Like

  10. I lived in Cameron Street from 1943 to 1959 and I can remember the Coronation Day Party. Mrs Stapleton, who was in her 90″s was the guest of honour. My father, Jack Buston, who died in 1998 aged 95, could remember all the names of the Cameron Street residents and used to go up and down the street with his reminisces in his final years. My play area extended to Oakwell Road and Stanley Street and names I can remember are Peter Marshall, Ray Lumley and Ivor Snell. In Cameron Street there was Alan Lee, my cousins Norma and Avril Hunter and the Lunn girls. Later on Paul and Peter Medhurst moved in. There was also Leroy Griffiths and his brother. Although he was the same age as me and we lived 5 doors away from each other we had nothing to do with each other. I have no idea why this happened and if Leroy reads this then perhaps he can explain. There was the two corner shops in Cameron Street and Mrs Snell had another one in Stanley Street. It was a great place to be a child in with the countryside only a few hundred yards away, the rec and the green within easy reach for football . Happy Days !!

    Like

  11. Hello Pam. Yes the man mentioned Joe Heathwaite is the one I thought of. I can now remember taking shoes to his house to be cobbled. I don”t know whether you know but the Harpers site and Golf course are supposedly up for sale and houses are going to be built there. Next to Sid Smiths was a cart track that led down to and over the railway. That was where we went to Hawes Wood. Hello Janet, I can”t remember the name Urquart but they must have moved in in my later years in Oakwell. I do remember Tom Elcoat though. That was one of Donny Wardles customers. His land was taken over and the estate next to the Ragworth Hotel, now Aldi is where he was. I found out later when I had to visit a farm half way along Blakeston Lane in the duties of my job belonged to Tom Elcoat. So he had moved from Darlington Lane upto Blakeston Lane.

    Like

  12. To Pam: How nice to read your Comment! If you have been to Oakwell Rd recently you will find it hasn”t changed much, I had a quick walk there 2 yrs ago. To Bob: The lady with the fierce dog was Mrs Urquert I think. Don”t remember the other names you mentioned. I had a friend who lived in a small holding where The Glebe Est is now, their name was Elcoat, did you know them?

    Like

  13. Hello Bob. Although I cannot really remember you, I am sure I would if I saw you, especially if you used to go to my parents” house and go with my Dad on his milk round. You are quite right that it was a shame when milk had to be sold in bottles even though this meant getting up early and bottling it before we could start the day”s deliveries and then we had to wash all the dirty bottles when we returned home ready for the next day. I remember as a child I loved making pom poms with the cardboard bottle tops – we had no televisions and not many toys during and after the war years but we managed to amuse ourselves didn”t we. Yes you are correct in remembering my father liked to go to the pub for a singalong which was usually at the “Mucky Duck” and then in later years at “Nellies” on a Saturday night. I recall quite a number of names of people that both you and Janet have mentioned who lived in Oakwell Road all those years ago.

    Like

  14. Hello Pam. My mother at 19 Oakwell Road was one of your Dads customers. I remember you well as a small blonde haired girl going round with your Dad. I knew him well and used to visit your house at times. In later years I would see him in one of the pubs around Norton. He was keen on “Sing Song” nights. The lady in the corner house in Oakwell was I believe called South. Mind you I did often go with him on his rounds and the horse Peggy knew every stop along the way. It was a shame when milk had to be sold in bottles and also when he gave up the horse for his van. It was part of life seeing him ladle the milk into the containers. Mind you I can remember one day when Whiteheads dog at 1 Oakwell drank all my mothers milk and then turned round and lifted his leg. I had to go to your house for some more milk.

    Like

  15. Hi Janet. Nice to see that you recall my father (Donny Wardale) delivering his milk in Oakwell Road. Those were happy days when customers could leave their milk jugs in their passages and also the payment next to the jug at the end of the week and I don”t think anything ever went missing. As a small child I visited my maternal grandmother who also lived in Oakwell Road for a short while. When I helped my father deliver his milk, as soon as we turned into Oakwell Road our horse, Peggy, used to set off down to the bottom of Oakwell Road and mount the pavement where she was fed every day with bread by a lovely lady in the corner house (can”t remember her name now). Needless to say we had to deliver the milk on the way back up Oakwell Road!

    Like

  16. My great grandfather was a night watchman on the Glebe Estate when it was in the early days of being built. His name was Sammy Watson and his wife had the chip shop at Roseworth. Any information.

    Like

  17. Janet. I remember the people you mention, re. the Lumleys, Arthur the father was my teacher at night school. Very convenient as he took me there and back in his car. Your Grans two sisters I can also picture. At the top end of your row did the blind man still live there? He was a lodger to a Mrs. Moreland. The two shops in Cameron Street were owned by Blenkirons and Shield with Thompsons in Stanley Street. They may have changed over from these names. Browns took over from Blenkirons and Blands for Shields. Living next door to me now is a chap called Eric Robinson. He lived next door to me in Oakwell Road. He is 12 years younger than me, I wondered if you knew him. It”s about that time he would be a child in the street as you were. I do remember the start of the Glebe Estate. Weaverham Road, Ashton Road together with Saltney Road. I was the local Bobby and it was one of the places I checked for with the Security. It was my Grandfathers fields that the Glebe was built on together with the Ring Road. He was Jackson Walker the Market Gardener. His fields were from Parsons Walk to Junction Road and from the Church as far down to about 150 yard from the railway.

    Like

  18. Bob, yes I remember Mrs Mills and her sons (one used to shop for my Gran and her sisters) and Marie Watson. I lived with my Grandma and her 2 sisters lived next to Mrs Mills in no 54. Mr Fenwick lived on the other side of us in 62. On the other side of the road I remember the Lumleys. I also remember Mr North who lived at the other of the road to us on our side. The lady opposite us had a dog which used to terrify me when I went to the 2 little shops in Cameron St. Don”t remember her name though. My main memories of Oakwell Road are the children playing ball games outside our house in the evening, the milk cart (Mr Wardell) delivering jugs of milk, and Walter Wilson delivery boy (on bike) delivering groceries, and the Millfield delivering the coal. I went to school in the Methodist church hall hated it. I did move back to Norton in 1968 when we were some of the first residents of the Glebe Est in Saltney Road.

    Like

  19. Janet. I can”t remember you, but I do remember Watsons living in the 2nd end house on your side. On the other side of Thompsons house lived the Mills family. I went to school with the youngest son Frank. I did know a few people on your side when I was a junior. I would think that you would be at school with my next door neighbour”s daughter Barbara Head. Opposite you was a Mrs. Hercomb.

    Like

  20. Bob, I remember our party was supposed to be in Cameron St but of course we woke up to rain and someone knocked on the door and said we were having in in St Joseph”s instead. I still have the cup, saucer and plate. Didn”t see it on tv, we went to the Odeon in Stockton a few days later. I did see the Queen though in Norton High St on her tour in 1955ish. I lived in number 60 from 1949-1958, next door to Mr Thompson the builder who built Oakwell Road.

    Like

  21. Hi Janet. This is the Stockton Stanley Street. I was born at 19 Oakwell Road in Norton in 1937 and lived there until I was 22. I can remember the Coronation but not a party for Oakwell Road. We didn”t have a TV so we spent the day next door watching the Coronation on their TV. It rained all day. Was it an Oakwell Road party or did you attend some another areas party. The only party I can remember was a combined VG Day Party held in Stanley Street which was for Cameron, Stanley and Oakwell Road.

    Like

  22. Hullo Brian, I was living in Oakwell Road on Coronation Day and our street party was held in St Joseph”s hall, was it the same one? Love this web site by the way.

    Like

  23. Coronation Day 1953 – This is the planned Stanley St “street party” which had to be held in, I think, the Unitarian Hall because of the wet weather.

    Like

Leave a comment

