82 thoughts on “Richard Hind Girls School

  1. My name was Christine Hutton when I attended Richard Hind. I left in December, 1958 which was as soon as I could. My fault, not the school’s. I have enjoyed reading all the posts, and remember all the teachers but don’t recognise the pupils’ names. In my form I remember Elsie Irish, Irene Monty, Ann Fawcett, Barbara May and someone called Myra, surname I can’t recall but I can’t remember any others. I eventually went on to teach English in comprehensive schools. Miss Carr would have been staggered because I was not a model pupil! Does anyone remember me? Might be better if they didn’t!

    Like

  2. Hi does anyone remember Joan Crawford R.H 1950 to 1953ish… she was in the hockey team. I married her in 1960, or any photos.
    Derek.

    Like

  3. Hello, I was at RH. 56-58, and have good memories. Names which come to mind are Joan Salter, Marie Collett, Margaret Dawson. And of course teachers, Miss Betts, the Misses Stephenson, the Esperanto teacher, a brilliant English teacher whose name I can’t remember. A special friend was Ann Pounder but we weren’t in the same class.

    Like

  4. Hello, I was at RH. 56-58, and have good memories. Names which come to mind are Joan Salter, Marie Collett, Margaret Dawson. And of course teachers, Miss Betts, the Misses Stephenson, the Esperanto teacher, a brilliant english teacher whose name I can’t remember. A special friend was Ann Pounder but we weren’t in the same class.

    Like

      • Ann, Miss Rowbotham did teach Esperanto to us boys during wartime when she was one of the Lady Teachers in the boys School, she was supposedly teaching us English. The Esperanto was double Dutch to most of us who thought her a bit of a Vilja the witch of the woods. I believe she also taught some classes French though we had a different French Teacher and Miss English was our class English Teacher for the last four years of schooling. I found her a nice Lady although some of the noisy lads could upset her, those Teachers had a lot to put up with.
        Fred Star was corrected about “never the twain shall meet” in our time it was even more strict on the school bus to Norton the Girls had to go downstairs the boys up and we had Prefects to make sure the rules were obeyed, says he who was reported and got six of the best for taking my school cap off on the bus. You never denied it as the prefects were never wrong as I found out when my time came.
        Frank.

        Like

  5. When Richard Hind school was demolished, houses were built on the site. However the perimeter wall, shown in the photograph, is still in place around the small estate. So a lasting memory of the old school remains.

    Like

  6. Susan Bush – now there’s a blast from the past. You may not remember me but I certainly remember you. You had someone already living in the US before you went there yourself and they very kindly sent over an LP that we couldn’t get over here. You can get my email address from this site if you want to reminisce. Having re-read some of the comments here I may be wrong but I thought Miss Short taught us science, Miss Mabbott took us for history and I don’t remember having drama?.. the only drama was trying to keep out of Mrs Cowie’s way.

    Like

    • Wow! Susan Bush and Moira McInnes two blasts from my past. Have just recently retired and researching information of old schools attended. They demolished Richard Hind when I was living overseas. A sad day but I have fond memories.

      Like

      • Hi Karen I knew you were back in the country as somewhere on this site someone mentioned seeing you at Judges, can’t remember what the occasion was, turning sixty or forty years from leaving Richard Hind. Still in touch with a few, if you want to chat get my email address from picture Stockton. Great site this don’t you just love all the old photos?

        Like

    • Hey Moira, sorry it took so long to check back. Now that you brought it up, I do remember having my sister send me LPs from the US and I now remember that it was by George Maharis–pre-Beatles obviously!!! And I remember that I gave them to a number of people, but sorry that I don’t remember who. I know there are people who can tell you the names of their grade school, sorry primary school friends and teachers, but I’m not one of those people. I have a memory like a sieve, most things just pass through! Glad that I was part of a fond memory.

      Like

  7. Wow, stumbled upon this site whilst trying to get correct name of my UK high school. I went to RH from 1959 to 1963, left in my fourth year to move to the United States with my family and have not been back to the area since. Some of these posts bring back long buried memories – the names Miss Betts, the Miss Stephensons, Miss Rowbotham, Miss Mabbott, Miss Short, Miss Carr are all bringing up images and times that have long been forgotten. I would never have independently remembered any of the names or places such as Lustrum Hall. I have a vivid memory of having lunch at Lustrum Hall, but not much else until reading these posts. Now I remember Miss Stephenson teaching me botany, Miss Betts, walking from her house, and other details. Thank you. Unfortunately I do not recall the names of any of my classmates, too many years, schools, and places ago.

    Like

    • I went to RHS at the same time. I remember all those teachers, particularly Miss Rowbottom who I found quite scary. She spoke several languages including Esperanto. I forget the Head Mistresses name but remember she wore a grey wig. I was Yvonne Cook at the time and went to live in Germany in, I think, 1963. The girls I remember best were, Felicity Wilson who lived in Eaglescliffe, Sheila Lumley and Liz Hollingsworth (?). Long time ago!

      Like

  8. If you lived in Dumbarton Avenue, Ragworth & were the daughter of Ted & Mary Amos with a brother called Kenny and you married Vic Franks, when you were at Richard Hind some of your classmates were Judy Hollifield, Margaret Douglas, Irene Ibbotson, Carol Wilson & Wendy Spieght.

    Like

    • Hope this is Irene Fairlamb from Norton. If it is you sent me a Xmas card once. It did come from Australia but I was at my in-laws staying for Xmas and sadly the envelope was thrown away without me getting your address. I regretted that for a long time. June Dixon (Wheelhouse).

      Like

  9. I remember running against Keith Gamble John Smelt and Barry Heath at tht junior school, I was alwys 4th! Maureen Benson was also a very fast runner. Good to see some names I remember. I have a picture of the class of 52 somewhere. I will submit it and add some names to it. I lost touch with some of the class as I went to Grangefield but remained friends with a lot of former classmates.

    Like

  10. Ann Stockdales comments about her happy experiences at Richard Hind Girls’ School and ends with ‘Lovely…and that Ken Sawyer is still around.’ I must presume that it was due to my assistance in athletics at the request of Miss Betty Wise and also with Folk Dancing. How many of those who were either Girls’ School or Boys’ School pupils would have preferred a Mixed School at that level following on from the Grammar Schools? I really preferred teaching mixed classes and the opportunity arose in Rugby for my main subject as a Head of Department – Religious Knowledge – and in a C of E mixed secondary school.

    Like

  11. I too attended RH jnr 45-51 then senior school 51-53 until we moved house and I changed schools. I remember you MAUREEN BENSON very well and we met up again when I lived in Fairfield and was married. I can remember doing practice hurdles down the side of the school building with Miss Wise. Does anyone remember Miss Cannon-the art teacher; she was lovely, and so too was Miss Mabbot who taught geography. Poor Miss Rowbotham used to get teased dreadfully. I can remember staying back to learn Esperanto. Oh happy days. Lovely to hear all the comments and that Ken Sawyer is still around.

    Like

    • Maureen Benson Doneathy here. I remember all the things you mentioned. Living in Canada now. I sent a reply to Ken last year. Yes it’s amazing….

      Like

      • Hi,
        I have just come across this site which is very interesting. I wondered, are you the Maureen Benson from 10 Moorehouse Estate? Often wondered about you when I visited Teesside.
        Terry

        Like

  12. I believe I was the one who mentioned your Aunt Doris Short on this site. She taught History and Drama, which were my two favourite subjects at school. She was a lovely lady, very patient and not the kind of teacher who talked down to pupils. I was at Richard Hind from 1957 to 1962 and I remember doing several plays with her, we used to perform them in the Methodist Chapel on the corner of Grove Street ande Yarm Road, which we also used for "overflow" classes and did country dancing in the hall there with her. One play was "Little Women" I played Meg, the oldest girl, and got to wear a gorgeous (if somewhat hot) Victorian dress complete with bustle. We also did "Alice in Wonderland" and I played the Duchess and, guess what, got to wear the same dress! I had to carry a "baby" wrapped in a shawl which, if you remember the story turns into a pig. We could not find a toy pig anywhere, so Miss Short improvised with a teddy bear and made a snout for it! She was an inspiration to me, I was so sad to hear of her death, and still fondly remember her. Sadly, I do not know of any photos from school with her on.

    Like

  13. I was stunned to see a mention of my late Godmother and Aunt Doris Short, who taught at Richard Hind School. I went to Cleveland at Eaglescliffe and Aunty Doris would teach me Drama and I did lots of exams with her at Queen Vic school (across the road and down a bit!) tough times as we were two of a kind and had our ‘personality clashes’. Very sad day when she was killed as we had just moved to Wales to live and she was about to join us, but it was never to be. I would love to hear anything or any memories you or anyone have of her and any pictures.

    Like

    • I was at Richard Hind from 1964 to 1969. I remember Miss Short very fondly; she was a lovely lady and I still recall the dreadful morning we were told of her accidental death. Very sad indeed. I also remember Miss Carr, Mr ‘Pop’ Rawlings, Miss Betts, Miss Chappell, the two Miss Stephenson’s, Mrs Rawlings, Miss Cannon, Mr Humble, and the very very bad tempered Mrs Cowie (bag).

      Like

  14. Elizabeth Kidd (nee Inman)I was at school with Pat Beard as well and was friends with Kathleen Hunter, Angela Thomas, Norma Ross, Susan Ings, Pam Fawcett and many more. It was the best school and I have many happy memories. The freezing cold toilets that nobody wanted to go to, the art and science lab across the yard and the long jump pit behind along side the railway line. I was a prefect in my last year and enjoyed the perks of our own room at the end of the corridoor. Miss Carr was the best and a very fair head as were most of the staff. I went to Switzerland with the school and we had a wonderful time swimming in Lake Lugano and sightseeing across the border into Italy. It was brill. Does anyone else remember? Mrs Cowie went on to teach at Bishopsgarth School and taught my daughter and she still smoked.

    Like

    • Would anyone happen to know how old Bishopsgarth School actually is? I was there from 2002-2007 and my Mum mentioned yesterday that she went to that School herself but that it was in a different location, Mum’s 51 now and I’m pretty sure that she said it was in a different location, Newtown I think she said.

      Like

      • It was Newham Grange School which moved to Bishopsgarth School about 1976. One of the pupils there in the early days was Lee Turnbull the Middlesbrough footballer.

        Like

  15. Hello there Ken, I guess I can call you Ken now.
    Where are all my school chums, too busy for the computer world, retirement is wonderful for some things, but………. I am going for a walk today instead of a run, time marches on.
    I did continue my athletics after school and moved to Carlton in Lynrdrick and ran for the Nottinghamshire team, got a couple of county medals. Oh! what memories and Oh! what a long time ago.
    Hope to hear from some more old school friends.
    Real cold here in Canada, just been watching the opening of the Olympics. Vancouver is quite mild to here in Ontario. I am about an hours drive from Toronto.
    Keith Gamble, Jeff Smith, June Arnold. YES I remember you all.

    Like

  16. As a member of RHS Boys’ School staff (1949-1957) I can reveal that I did pick up a well worn tennisy that came over the wall from the adjoining ‘playground’ during break duty one day. What did I find? Stuck in a slit was an affectionate note to arrange a date with a well-known footballing 5th year young man!

    Like

  17. Ah! Richard Hind Girls… The undiscovered country from whose bourne no man returns (from ex-Richard Hind boy)… I bet Pop Carlin would have liked that!

    Like

  18. After searching for items from Richard Hind girls school about two years ago, imagine my surprise to find this site now.
    I am in Canada now, wondering if any of my school mates moved in this direction? Wonderful to read so many names I remember from the past I remember Ken Sawyer as Mr Sawyer.
    Eileen Johnson, Margaret Dunning, Pauline Jopling, Margaret Richardson etc etc.

    Like

  19. Just to let you all know that Saturday 10th October girls of Richard Hind School held a reunion at Judges in Yarm, it was 50 years since we had started our education there. Eighteen from our year managed to attend, some coming from long distances. It was great to link up again and share memories of our schooldays, walking to Ropner Park for Hockey and Tennis, going down to Chapel, Lustrum Hall and the gate in the yard wall keeping boys and girls apart, happy days.

    Like

  20. Further to Joyce Brown’s posting on pupils going to Richard Hind in 1934. Phyllis Walker (b1922) is my aunt. Still alive and well, living near Toronto, Canada.

    Like

  21. Joyce,my husband had a cousin called Phyllis who was quite a bit older than him. Her parents lived in Ullswater Close on the Grange Estate. Sadly Phyllis past away in the early 1960’s.

    Like

  22. My mum went to Richard Hind in 1934 – does anyone know of pupils from that year? Mum is 87 now and had two very good friends at school, Phyllis Walker and Frances Pearce. Most of the teachers mentioned don’t ring any bells, however Miss Mabbat may be the same one that taught my mum all those years ago.

    Like

  23. Recently met up with a few from school to talk over schooldays. We all remembered fondly Needlework at Lustram Hall with Mrs Dunne, and cookery there, especially when it was your turn to help the cook prepare the lunch for everyone being taught there that day. What a variety of sewing machines there was, from hand operated to one that was operated by pressing a long metal handle with your knee as well as foot operated ones. It is 50 years this september since my friends and I started at Richard Hind, we are hoping to have a reunion of some kind, if anyone is interested please ask the Picturestockton team for my email address.

    Like

  24. I was sad to read Paul Dee”s report of Audrey Robinson”s death of lung cancer last autumn, perhaps within days or weeks of my own wife”s death of the same cancer. 51 years since I had last met Audrey. She was a lovely lady then and highly committed in her teaching and the young people”s work at Stockton Parish Church.

    Like

  25. Must have been a rumour based on an idle boast that Fred Starr heard. No trouble getting home or 4 days later travelling to Scotland for a short honeymoon on the luxury of a Lambretta – bought at Taylor Brothers in Yarm Lane.

    Like

  26. I am sorry to tell you all that Audrey Robinson died of lung cancer last autumn. I saw her a few weeks before she died – she was handling her illness very bravely and was very resigned. She had been an English teacher in Redcar for many years before retiring to Wolviston. I knew her through my brother Peter Dee. A lovely lady.

    Like

  27. Those of us who have received the latest edition of the Old Stocktonian”s Magazine will have noted an entry from Audrey Robinson (1941-1948) asking that if anyone remembers her, will they please contact the Old Stocktonian”s Association. I make the assumption that this is the same Audrey Robinson referred to by Irene MacLean and Ken Sawyer. By stretching my memory a little I managed to discover a 1947 Class photograph of the Sixth Form at the Secondary School which features Audrey. The picture was sent to me some years ago by a Classmate of Audrey”s, Jennie Handley (Dixon), with whom I am still in contact. I also have a photograph of the “Get Together” of the Sec” Golden Girls taken about eight years ago at an unnamed Eaglescliffe Hotel. Audrey appears on that picture too. I do hope that I have not confused things.

    Like

  28. I well remember when Mr Ken Sawyer left Richard Hind Boys. He was on his Moped, which was as much as the average senior teacher could aspire to in those days. Only headmasters could afford cars, like Mr Rigg at Portrack. The rumour was that Ken”s petrol tank had been doped with sugar. I could not help grinning as I saw him depart, especially as I have always thought that crash helmets make people look idiotic. But in my heart I thought it was a mean trick to play on someone”s final day. Ken asked me what I was grinning at, but he got “Nothing” as a reply. I would have been at the end of my third year by then. Ken was an okay bloke. I hope he got home alright and he got some sort of a send off from his colleagues.

    Like

  29. Of Audrey Robinson I know not now. I left RH Boys” staff at the end of July 1957 on marriage and departure to Rugby and later on to here in Halifax 41 years ago. I knew Audrey well in those days through Stockton Parish Church which was very active then. We were amongst those who led 11-15 year olds in the Sunday School.

    Like

  30. Thats right Ken, it was Audrey! Do you know if she is still in the area? I seem to think she lived with her parents on Roseworth Estate in the early 50″s.

    Like

  31. The Mistresses I remember from my days at Richard Hind were; Mrs Wozniak – French, Miss Cannon – Art, Miss Betts – Maths. Mrs Kelly (ex Mayoress of Stockton)- History.The Misses; Stephenson – Science and Domestic Science, Miss Gregory – Deputy Head and Scripture, Miss Mabbatt – Geography. Mrs Atkinson (known in music circles, I think, as Dorothy Duffney), Miss Wise – PE. A young teacher who came from Stockton was called Miss Robinson – English. Miss Rowbotham – who remembers her Esperanto? And of course – our Miss Carr. How on earth did she get her hair into such tight curls and waves? Was it a wig?Her father came to pick her up one day in a very old car (a Daimler maybe)I remember it shining in the sun – was it always sunny at Richard Hind? Maybe it was.

    Like

  32. We mustn”t forget Mrs Rawlings! No matter how hard I tried, I was hopeless at sport, but she took pity on me and let me cut and serve the oranges at 1/2 time. What about Mrs Cox (Coxen?) The French teacher, everyone said she had been a nun, and that she painted an ash cross on her forehead at Easter, never saw it myself, does anyone know the truth about that?

    Like

  33. A reunion would be a good idea Dorothy, I am still in touch with Sheila Lumley, Marjorie Simpson, Felicty Wilson, Liz Holligon to name a few. Sadly Mary, Lustrum Hall was knocked down and now there is a block of flats on the site. This is a real test of the memory remembering teachers names etc., Miss Betts for maths, Miss Everett for P.E. (who married a teacher from the boys school whose name escapes me at the moment), Miss Mabbott geography to name a few more!

    Like

  34. As I remember, the piano lessons took place on Yarm Road just across the zebra crossing outside school, the bus stop was outside. June Stephenson (now Arnett) is indeed related to David Gathergood, she is his cousin. Funny I remembered you going to our school, Pat, but Paul didn”t. I remember your husbands name, was he in the same year as Tommy Glass, Billy Duckling and Alan Rowbotham? The room I also remember was the one at the end of the corridor that was used by the prefects, one prefect in particular was a tartar, I think she took lessons from Mrs Cowie. She gave me an essay once title of “How to cultivate the Art of Respect”. I was devastated but my brother Denis, who was older than me and at Grangefield, wrote it for me and said to tell her if she wanted anything else adding she should ask him as he knew her, she never picked on me again! I am seeing some of the girls, I mentioned before, on Saturday can”t wait to share the memories this page has stirred. Perhaps we should arrange a meeting Pat, lots of Richard Hind and Stockton Transport memories to talk about, a reunion for Richard Hind boys and girls from the sixties would be good.

    Like

  35. Growing up in Vicarage Street in the 50″s, we played regularly in the grounds of Lustrum Hall, or as we called it “The Vicky”, short for vicarage, which I believe was it”s original use. Over the road on derelict ground, a bungalow was built and occupied by a sour faced ex teacher, a real killjoy, who used to tell us off for playing there. She used to dump her garden waste by wheelbarrow on Wrens field at the bottom Borton”s Bank and one time chased us, still pushing the barrow, the full length of Vicarage Avenue and back down Vicarage street back home to her bungalow. The tennis courts are now an “Old folks” home”. The home has been there about 20 years, the hall demolished some time later.

    Like

  36. Miss Bodell, rings a loud bell, but what did she teach? Can anyone recall the names of the student teachers who stayed at Lustrum Hall? We had to clean their rooms. Is Lustrum Hall still there? It was a lovely old house, I loved the old fashioned kitchen, and the tennis court at the bottom of the hill.

    Like

  37. Happy memories from Dorothy Butler of Richard Hind Girls” School. I was two years above you Dorothy, but, like you, met my husband Dave at school too. Heaven knows how, as we were supposed to be strictly segregated by the Wall! We married in 1966 and still live in Stockton. We still keep in touch with several school friends from both the girls and boys” schools. You mention a June Stephenson, think she is related to Dave Gathergood, who was best man at our wedding. This being the small world it is – I also know your husband Paul, my Dad, Bert Beard, was his conductor when he drove the buses, and I have spoken to Paul on this site before. As well as the teachers you mentioned does anyone remember Miss Gregory, who taught Geometry? I was terrified of her, mainly because I was no good at the subject. Also Miss Gwen Carr, the Head, with her black gown and steel grey hair presiding over Assembly,was horrified to hear she had committed suicide shortly after retiring. Miss Short, History and Drama, killed in a car crash after I left school -I loved her classes as they were my favourite subjects. Miss Chapelle took us for Pitmans Shorthand and Typing, and there was also another Shorthand teacher who taught Gregg shorthand, but this was being phased out when I was there – can”t for the life of me remember her name, but can visualise her as if it was yesterday. Mrs Cowie, English – she married while I was at school – very sarcastic lady who smoked all the time – unfortunate name for a teacher to have too, as it gave rise to many nicknames! And Mrs Dunn, the Needlework mistress, who presided over Lustrum Hall. I was useless at sewing at school, only finding a love of it later. I once met Mrs Dunn in Ropner Park when I was walking with my son in his pram and she commented on the embroidered pram cover and was amazed when I said it was my work! I actually owned a small needlework shop once in my varied career. It was, as you say, a good school, very innovative for it”s time, teaching not only academic subjects, but domestic skills, and commercial ones too – I left with Shorthand, Typing and Bookkeeping RSAs as well as GCEs.

    Like

  38. No name supplied recalls Mrs Atkinson. She was an outstanding musician and conductor of several choirs, including excellent ones from Richard Hind Girls” School in the next few years. Perhaps stirring the memories – good ones hopefully – is a good thing. The boys school next door did not produce choirs in spite of the efforts of Bill Carlin!

    Like

  39. Who doesn”t remember the formidable Miss Stephenson (I think our first “cookery” lesson was sandwiches or blancmange!). Then we had the wonderful Miss Bodell, does anyone know where she is now?

    Like

  40. Norma Cross was in my year at Richard Hind I think,and I also remember Miss Wise.And someone mentioned the smell of smoke in the staff Room-I remember that too.My favourite teacher was Mrs Atkinson-she took me for piano lessons to her house[just round the corner from school].Where are these memories coming from!!!!!

    Like

  41. Oh Yes! The Domestic Science room, and the wonderful Miss Stephenson. Into the staff room carrying a VERY heavy tray, and always being shocked by the smell of cigarettes. Ironing a T cloth on the little “island” counters, as if…. I recall making bread and dropping mine, it bounced several times before coming to rest before a very bemused Miss Stephenson. The boys who used to wait to see what we had cooked were not interested that day!

    Like

  42. A star of the hurdles strip was Sylvia Mackay who won the Durham Championships and competed in the English Schools” finals. A long jumper who competed for Durham was Norma Cross. PE teacher was Betty Wise. Does that stir any memories in you young ladies?

    Like

  43. I had forgotten all about the hurdles along the grass strip at the side of school. Does anyone remember the huge copper kettles and jam making pots on the top of the cupboards in Domestic Science room and the electical points hanging down from the ceiling where we used to plug the irons in, and making the tea for the staff at breaktimes and going into that “holy of holys” – the staffroom – with the tea trays?

    Like

  44. I was in the same class as Dorothy Wright at Richard Hind and remember it well. Walking to Ropner Park in our hockey gear in the winter and our tennis gear in the summer. Also, running the hurdles on the stretch of grass between the school building and the boundry wall next to the road. As you say Dorothy, happy days.

    Like

  45. I went to Richard Hind from 1959 to 1964. How I remember not being able to use the front doors until we were in the 5th Form. We used to wave to Miss Betts mother as she was always sat looking out of the upstairs window of where she lived across the road from school. I remember the treck in all weathers to school dinners down Spring Street over the railway bridge, hockey and tennis in Ropner Park and speech days held in the Corporation Hall. Friends from those days and still in touch with them are Linda Young June Stephenson, Kathleen Tong, Sylvia May and Pat Morris although we don”t know where Pat is now. Lustram Hall was a great place to go once a week for either halfday needlework or full day domestic science. When they were pulling down the old school I managed to acquire a brick from the wall up to the entrance a lovely curved one. I met my husband, Paul Butler, at school as he attended the boys school, we married in 1970 moved to Durham and then Washington. It is 50 years this september since I started Richard Hind, who remembers Miss Rowbotham and her push bike and bubble car, Miss Cannon, Miss Mabbott, Mrs Bishop and Miss Chappell who lived at Redcar. Happy days.

    Like

  46. I remember Maureen Benson very well. Maureen was in my class at Richard Hind Secondary School for girls. she was excellent at sport. Also, can you remember Sheila Parker, Audrey Duncan, Pauline Jobling, Margaret Dunning, Joyce Ball, Sheila Morris, Ann O”Grady and many more.

    Like

  47. Jeff Smith, I have found a photo of the triumphal folk dancing team at the Darlington Festival 1957 and have sent it along with some athletics and football team photos to PictureStockon. I just hope that the photo is acceptable. The team members were Paul Wesson, Colin Spink, Thelma Walls, Brian Sugden, Ann Whittingham, Jeff Smith, a girl whose name is not in my notes, Barbara Fowler, Norman Bainbridge, Eileen Johnson. Where are they all now one wonders? The floral arch photo is in our wedding album!

    Like

  48. I was a member of the folk dancing club, Ken Sawyer – I joined as soon as I knew that girls would be involved. I remember forming an arch at your wedding and still have photographs somewhere both of the wedding and at Pacittos where the dancers retired for ice cream afterwards.

    Like

  49. Thanks Keith but actually alive but well is a another matter. A 15 year old problem in my feet would make refereeing a difficult matter! That this photo is of Richard Hind Girls” School is a reminder that the 2 schools had a joint folk dancing club in the mid 1950″s. Actually won competitions at music & dancing festivals, such as at Darlington. Must find a photo.

    Like

  50. It is really nice to know that Ken Sawyer is still alive and well and remembers me. I certainly remember him as a truly inspirational teacher who encouraged me in my sporting pursuits- Football, cricket and athletics. I joined Stockton cricket club and also Norton and Stockton Athletics Club because Ken was involved in them. He spent an unbelievable amount of his time coaching and encouraging us youngsters. It was certainly a long time ago Ken and remembered today with gratitude.

    Like

  51. I remember both J Keith Gamble and Maureen Benson as good athletes! My task was in encouraging promising young runners + jumpers and throwers at the Richard Hind Boys” and other local schools in Stockton. Long time ago.

    Like

  52. I remember Maureen Benson. I was a Pupil at both the junior and senior(boys) schools bet. 1945 and 1957.I recall that Maureen was a good sprinter. I was very keen on running also a lad called John Smelt who was very quick on his feet.

    Like

  53. I attended R.H.Jr. from 48-51 and Sr.51-56 If anyone out there was at school at that time would sure like to hear from you. I was into sports quite a bit, and house leader “blue” in 56

    Like

Leave a comment

