16 thoughts on “Head Wrightsons c1971

  1. It was actually Mr Wolverson not Wolviston and his daughter-in-law, Jean, took over many moons ago after Mr Wolversons son also passed away. She subsequently married a man from the midlands Brian Killman and became Jean Killman. The two ran the company since the late 80’s and I believe it’s now been bought out by Teescraft.03/09/2011

    Like

  2. I think HW & Davy’s merged around 1969/70 as I was working in the labs at Davy’s at the time and transferred to the Iron Foundry ay Eaglescliffe.

    Like

  3. I remember when being there they made 1 million pound profit and we all thought that was great. Now 1 million and you are thinking, ‘liquidation’ is just around the corner.

    Like

  4. I believe you are right Ken, it was about 1980 when Bob had long gone. I think the Mr Wolviston of Stockton Castings died young quite a few years ago and the part of the factory on the left hand side of Ross Road is now an engineering company owned by a well known Stockton Forge and Teasdale Machine Shop gaffer, Jeff Allen. His father was also the foreman at Teasdale Machine Shop.

    Like

  5. Quite right, Bob, you left the same time as I did and I can’t remember anything about the Davy Foundry, but Management didn’t let you know much in those days…(nothing changes does it).

    Like

  6. Yes Anon, Heads did have those four foundries and I think, Bob, but I’m not quite sure,that they became part of the group when Heads and Davys merged. Date not known. Anon, Stockton Casting was owned and run very well by Mr Wolviston and I belive its still running and probably the only foundry left anywere in the Stockton,Billingham or Thornaby area but again I’m out of touch now and will stand correcting. I certainly miss my time spent in the HW foundries, a wonderful set of chaps and I repeat myself when I consider moulders and core makers (sand rats) to be one of the most skilled craftsmen in the Engineering world and Eddie Peacock is one of them. I spoke to Eddie on Saturday and he looks no different to the above photo.

    Like

  7. HEAD WRIGHTSON’S HAD FOUR FOUNDRIES OF THEIR OWN – THORNABY, STOCKTON, EAGLESCLIFFE & DAVYS, BILLINGHAM. WAS STOCKTON CASTINGS ON ROSS ROAD & OWNED BY SOMEBODY CALLED WOLVISTON? EDDIE PEACOCK IN THE PHOTO WAS A FORMER PUPIL AT NEWTOWN SCHOOL & NEWHAM GRANGE.

    Like

  8. brian Popple is fine and in england at present would like to hear from you again ken. hope you are all well. enid xx this is our colin”s email address.

    Like

  9. For Phil Rambert. Yes one and the same, I seem to remember your dad made delicious ommelettes. I left a comment on a photo of Bishopton Lane, when you mentioned the decorators shop where your mam worked. I remember her well, happy days.

    Like

  10. For Steve Smith Is that the same Steve Smith from Brown”s Bridge that wasted whole evenings and weekends in the late 60″s and early 70″s playing football in Durham Road Rec, Rudd”s Rec on Grangefield Avenue and in the fields of the Special School at Brown”s bridge?

    Like

  11. Eddie Peacock was a time served moulder who worked at the Steel foundries belonging to the Head Wrightson group both at Stockton Steel Foundry and Teesdale Steel Foundry.Eddie looked after the young apprentices for anumber of years till HW closed the foundries down due to lack of work. It was said that HW made more profit over the next two to three years with the compensation recieved from the goverment and banks than they had made in the previous years. Eddie went on to finish his moulding career with another Stockten foundry based at Portrack called Stockton Castings who are I think, the only foundry left in the area from about seven or eight based in the Stockton area

    Like

  12. Eddie Peacock is my brother in law. I”ve just showed him this photo today (1/7/07), he was amazed. I”m sure he will spend a lot of time on this site from now on.

    Like

Leave a comment

