63 thoughts on “The Globe Theatre

  1. The Globe theatre is situated in Stockton-on-Tees, England. The original Globe Theatre was built in 1913 and was Teesside’s first cinema. Demolished in 1925, it was first rebuilt in 1926, and again in 1935, as a stage theatre which had cinema facilities. In 1938, it became an ABC cinema and the last show was on 5 February 1975. The Globe re-opened as a bingo venue until closing in 1997. However, thanks to a £4m pounds heritage lottery grant the long-promised restoration is going ahead on behalf of its owners Jomast Developments, and live shows are expected to be staged in this historic theatre soon. Over the years (and peaking in 1957) it held shows in which the following stars appeared: Tommy Steele, Johnnie Ray, The Platters, Buddy Holly and Paul Robeson. The Beatles appeared at The Globe Theatre on Friday, November 22nd, 1963. This was the day that President Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas. Roy Orbison also topped the bill, followed later by The Supremes and Stevie Wonder. When rebuilt the new Globe will be the largest indoor auditorium between Leeds and Newcastle. The last film was The Sting, on 15 June 1974, and Status Quo were the last rock band to play there in December 1974.

    Like

  2. Hello, I’m a Teesside University student and I’m using the Globe Theatre stockton for my final major project. I understand it’s being refurbished. I am putting together a handout for the opening night of the Theatre for my final project. I would greatly appreciate information anyone may have in regards to the history of the Globe Theatre, maybe funny old storys, images, blue prints, posters, leaflets that I could use in my work.

    If you would like to get in touch, please ask pictures@stockton.gov.uk for my email address. Thanks Sam.

    Like

  3. anthony lawrence
    its such a shame to see this lovely building today i can remember my mum taking me to the motown revue in the early 60s only because she couldnt get a babysitter i would have been about 10 or 11 also my dad taking me to see ZULU a year or so later even then i can still remember how grand it was inside i was always facinated when the lights would slowly dim before the start of the picture it seemed to take ages. I understand the Globe is about to be revamped i hope it goes well perhaps when its finished someone might turn their atention to that other rather nice building across the road call it what you like it will always be the Talbot to me 20/05/2012 23:13:31

    Like

    • Hi Anthony
      I went to see the Motown Show in the 60s brilliant all the top stars of Motown and Gorgie Fame with his group only sad thing was it was half empty.

      Like

  4. Another great name to add to the already impressive list, I recently learned that a 17 year old David Bowie [then still David Jones] played there on Friday 4th December 1964 with his then group The Manish Boys. It was part of a package tour which included Mariannne Faithfull, Gerry & the Pacemakers and The Kinks. The Manish Boys opened the set with Gene Pitney closing the show, this tour was the first time David had played outside of southern England.

    Like

  5. According to information on another part of picturestockton, there was a Home and Colonial Store at 159 High street during the 1920s/30s. The Maypole company was taken over by Home and colonial and eventually via a series of takeover/mergers, Home and Colonial became Safeway UK and as we know, Safeway itself was taken over so that as a company it has disappeared from the High Street. At one time Home and Colonial had over 4000 shops throughout the UK.

    Like

  6. In 1930 my cousins parents Mary May Bellerby [formerly Harris] and Alfred Bellerby, lived at 160 High Street, Stockton. The building which currently has this address is situated in the next block to the right of the Globe in the picture above, between Middle Street and Smith Street. This building is relatively new in relation to the age of others on the High Street. My mother remembers a store by the name of Home and Colonial once standing on this site, presumably in a building which pre-dates the current one. Can anyone confirm this, and is it possible that this is the sight of 160 High Street or could it have changed over the years due to additional buildings being constructed?

    Like

  7. My father used to work for Head Wrightsons in the 1960s and he used to get free panto tickets for the Globe; and I remember going to see Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick and Titch, Joe Brown and many more….happy days.

    Like

  8. David old pal, I also remember taking my nieces to see that show. I seem to remember that when they sang ‘Xanadu’ the lights went down and there was all kinds of strobe lights going on.

    Like

  9. Great news about the Globe. A classic venue and fine building. In mid-fifties I took my wife Peta (then a Riley) to see Guys and Dolls with the original touring cast. Our first formal date and I got my invitation in just ahead of Bob Garland and the rest of the story is history, as they say. We were doing courses at Constantine College. Other pals there were ‘Spanky’ Duncan, Geoff Kenyon, Jim Dooley and Dick Shepherd but Geoff is the only one we have kept in touch with. We meet so many new and interesting people but sad that we disperse and lose touch with people who mattered then.

    Like

  10. When my friend Trevor Seagrave and myself were young we used to do messages for the stars who came to the Globe, we were safe to do so in those days, we never had any problems. Everyone was very respectful.. this was probably in the late 50s. I remember Frankie Vaughan giving us free tickets to see his show and when he sang ‘give me the moonlight, give me the girl’ I shouted out ‘shes here’… he invited me to come up on the stage but I was too shy and declined! Those were the days. Just like to say that I found my Mccoys badge after all these years… it was in the loft, I was over the moon. Has anyone else still got their badge?

    Like

  11. I was one of the kids who hung around the stage door or the Globe and got autographs of Mike and Bernie Winters, The Shadows (including Jet Harris) etc. I agree with Anon, Bernie Winters was very grumpy especially the night his little mongrel dog escaped and he had to ask the kids to help him get it back. The grumpiest though was Max Bygraves who must have been staying at the top end of town (maybe the Metropole) and ‘Couldn’t find a cab in this town’. He had to walk the length of the High Street to get to the Globe.

    Like

  12. The stage door in the side street is where the kids used to congregate to get the autographs of the stars. I remember when Mike & Bernie Winters were appearing at the Globe, Bernie seamed to be very stuck up and refused to sign any autographs, a much different character than he portrayed on the stage.

    Like

  13. I remember standing in the side street that ran down the side of the Globe and Tommy Steel was hanging out of a first floor window waving and shouting to a croud of us, his hit at the time was ‘Singing the blues’.

    Like

  14. The club Fiesta took over from the Globe for where the stars performed I saw Adam Faith, Tommy Cooper, Mike and Bernie winters, to name a few. Dont think there is anywhere like that round here now.

    Like

  15. Brian Swales, thanks for confirming that Babes in the Wood was 1959, I have the programme but it has no date on it. I got Jet Harris’s autograph one night during that run, wonder if that was before or after he broke his shoulder! I also have another programme where the Shadows appeared without Cliff, it was Dick Whittington – the part of Dick was played by Frank Ifield, and Idle Jack was played by Ken Platt. I know this was 1961, as a flyer on the back page announces Cliff and the Shadows appering for one night only on March 9th 1962. I understand the Globe is being renovated, and hope they do it as a theatre venue and not a nightclub, it would save trips to Darlington and Sunderland theatres.

    Like

    • I worked as a dancer in Pantomime with Ken Platt in 1963/64 at the Globe. Billy J Kramer and the Dakota’s were the Star turn. Happy days!

      Like

  16. What a great website. Having recently discovered it, I thought I would add my thoughts on The Globe. My friends and I saw acts like Tommy Steele, Lonnie Donegan, The Platters, Eddie Calvert and not forgetting the late great Buddy Holly. Great shows and wonderful memories of stockton.

    Like

  17. I REMEMBER ADAM FAITH APPEARING AT THE GLOBE, HE WAS SAT ON A WALL FACING THE STAGE DOOR HAVING A SMOKE, WE STOPPED AND HE CHATTED TO US FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES, I CAN REMEMBER HE WORE JEANS AND A LEATHER JACKET!

    Like

  18. Hello Steve, so many questions about seeing The Beatles, I wish I could answer them, it was so long ago. I’m sure there was a support act, not that anyone took any notice, there was only one act we were all there to see. The atmosphere was electric, I don’t think it could ever be replicated in the huge arena concerts of today, and the screaming of course was deafening. The first time they appeared, I went with the son of family friends, between buying the tickets and the night of the show, he had split with his girlfriend, how lucky was I? The second time, I never expected to get tickets, assuming that fans would have been besieging the ticket office hours before it opened, however, my boyfriend, passing through Stockton on his way to college, just walked up to the ticket office, no one waiting, and got two tickets for the circle, then rang me at work to tell me the news, I took some convincing.

    Like

  19. It was during the 1959 pantomime run of ‘Babes In The Wood’ that Terrence ‘Jet’ Harris crashed the car he was was driving in Stockton. Jet broke his shoulder and Hank injured his eye meaning he played on stage with patch over his left eye and tape over his glasses lens. Cliff & the Shadows went to America after the pantomime but had to return to Stockton Magistrates court months later, where Jet Harris was fined £35.15.0d for dangerous driving & failing to display L-plates. The instrumental ‘Stars Fell on Stockton’, the ‘B’ side of their number one hit ‘Wonderful Land’, was written to commemorate the event.

    Like

  20. Thanks for the info Pat, I actually thought he appeared round about 1960 but obviously passage of time has dulled my memory. I believe at some point in his career Conway was the top selling country artist of all time, also when he did appear at the globe I was very young.

    Like

  21. My buddy Jim McCurley is getting old; he missed a whole slew of people out who appeared at Tito’s namely; The Walker Bros, Peter and Gordon, Wayne Fontana, Gerry Dorsey (better known as Englebert Humperdink), Gerry and the Pacemakers, Billy Fury made a stop as did Marty Wilde (both late in their careers) and lets not forget the house Band who had Ronnie Asprey sax and leader (later with Backdoor) and Ronnie Pearson as drummer (later with Sting). This was a ‘hotbed’ of Rock’n’Roll, we certainly got our money’s worth in Teesside in the Sixties!!!

    Like

  22. I too remember seeing The Who at The Globe in the early 70s, with Pete Townsend in his trademark white boiler suit. The warm up band was an American trio The James Gang, with Joe Walsh of Eagles fame on guitar. Also saw Elton John, who was just starting to make a name for himself. Emerson Lake and Palmer another band who played The Globe, had to endure a 30 minute Carl Palmer drum solo.

    Like

  23. When the Shadows were appearing at the Globe, their car was involved in a small accident on Bishopton Avenue near Sparks Bakery. The group needed to use a phone (not everybody had one in those days), so they spotted a house with telephone wires attached and knocked on the door. This was No 1 Bishopton Avenue and is the first house adjacent to the cemetary, my uncle and his family lived there at the time. On hearing the knock on the door, my cousin answered to find Hank Marvin stood on the doorstep, my uncle didn’t believe him when he said, ‘Dad, Hank Marvin wants to know if he can use the phone’.

    Like

  24. I remember seeing Freddie and the Dreamers and the Shadows at the Globe. Two other acts I remember which haven’t been mentioned, The Searchers (possibly in Panto?) and The Who on Thursday 22 October 1970, reputed to be the loudest band at the time. By then the Globe was known as the ABC cinema.

    Like

  25. Mick Turner – I have the programame for when Conway Twitty was on at the Globe and he was not a support act but top of the bill, along with Freddy Cannon, who was an American country and western singer, and Johnny Preston, of ‘Running Bear’ fame. The programme says Twitty was famous for ‘It’s only make believe’ plus ‘Mona Lisa’, ‘Lonely blue boy’ and ‘Story of my love’. Checking in the hit records book, ‘Its only make believe’ topped the charts for 15 weeks in November 1958 and, although there is no date on the programme, I think it was somewhere around 1962 that I went to see him. The support acts were Chris Wayne and the Echoes who won a Search for a New Act Contest in 1960 run by The Stage magazine (forerunner of The X Factor maybe!!) and a drummer called Tony Crombie. The adverts say you can buy a Grundig tape recorder for only 26 guineas (five weeks wages for me at the time!) or the new Freddy Cannon LP for 25 shillings.

    Like

  26. People I remember seeing at the Globe: Charley Gracie (still going strong in his hometown of Philadelphia), Eddie Cochran, Gene Vincent, Chuck Berry, Cliff Richard & the Shadows, Frank Ifield, Eden Kane, Tony Hancock. At Titos: Tom Jones, Lulu, Kathy Kirby, Vera Lynn, the Muscle Man (remember him!). Fiesta: Shirley Bassey, Dusty Springfield, Judith Durham, Tommy Cooper (the funniest standup comedian I’ve ever seen). And many more who I don’t remember. On top of that I saw the Stones and the Hollies on the same night at the Outlook; Chris Barber, Long John Baldry, Rod (the Mod) Stewart, The Alan Price Set, etc, etc, at the Redcar Jazz Club; and many more at the Kirk. For a while there we were part of what had to be the best entertainment centre in the country!

    Like

  27. I found the record ‘Stars Fell on Stockton’ in my flat, when I moved from Baghdad to Doha, Qatar in 1966. Never did find out who left it there! A strange coincidence for a Roseworth lad in the Middle East.

    Like

  28. Thanks Martin for confirming Billy J Kramer – it was Mother Goose and it was the Globe. The first LP I bought was from the market for 7/6 was Dave Dee etc. What a great market stall for second hand records. Singles were 2/6. Alan Blackburn yes I certainly do remember you.

    Like

    • I was one of the child dancers at the Globe with Billy J 63/64. The previous year I worked with Judith Durham and The Seekers. So lovely to be reminded of those wonderful times.

      Like

  29. Whilst searching the web, I came across some interesting snippets. I mentioned about the Troggs at the Globe, I learned there was also Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick and Tich and the Walkers Bothers, on the same bill. What a line-up for a show, the date was 8th October 1966.

    On another note about Billy J. Kramer, he was starring in Mother Goose panto, as the Viscount of No-Account. It was either the Globe or the Odeon where he was appearing on the panto.

    I used to go the Mecca Bingo in the late 1970’s or early 80’s and would sit there, thinking about the great acts, that performed on that stage over the years. Seems sad now to see a empty building with such a wonderful & interesting past.

    Like

  30. The Shadows wrote the instrumental track ‘Stars Fell On Stockton while they were appearing with Cliff Richard in Pantomime in Stockton. It was on the B side of ‘Wonderful Land’ and was recorded in 1962. Apparently the Shadows spent a lot of time playing pool in the pub opposite the Globe.

    Like

  31. I was lucky enough to have seen both shows the Beatles did there and the noise from the screaming was ‘rather’ loud. If I remember correctly the ticket was 7 shillings and 6 pence for their second appearance, not a lot for such an event.

    Like

  32. Noted the name Conway twitty being mentioned, if my memory serves me correct I believe he was support act. I’m not sure who for but being a country fan he is one artiste I regret not seeing. At the time of his appearence at the globe I think he had just had his biggest hit ‘It’s only make believe’.

    Like

  33. The Globe certainly attracted quite a number of ‘stars’ to perform there. In addition to those already mentioned I saw the late Lonnie Donegan perform there in the early 1960s. I would imagine when the Beatles appeared there, the place would have been packed and that the audience probably didn’t hear much of the singing due to the screaming of the fans.

    Like

  34. I went to see The Rolling Stones at the Globe in somewhere around 1966. One of the supporting acts was The Ike and Tina Turner Revue – some supporting act! That was the norm for shows in those far off days. What would such shows cost to put on today and what would be classed as a small venues nowadays.

    Like

  35. MY mum once told me in the 60s a Mr TOM JONES was in the Castle & Anchor opposite the Globe were he was singing AND she sat next to him! A hod carrier a singer – he’ll never make it lol.

    Like

  36. After reading Steven Raws (Hi Steve I think I went to Hardwick sec mod with you?)comments on visiting the Globe for the Panto, I recall visiting the Globe when I was a boy and seeing Freddie Garrity in panto I went as part of a Head wrightsons oganised trip. We were given a brown paper bag with an apple and an orange and a couple of sweets. I also did see Status Quo around 1974.

    Like

  37. Steve, I think it was a pantomime show, that Billy J & Dakota’s were appearing at the Globe. I think I went, but not a 100% sure, being a long time ago. I would of been aged 6/7 years old at the time.

    I think my Mum and Auntie went to the panto, she always said it was far too loud and her ears were ringing long after the show, probably the reason why she’s partly deaf nowadays. I will ask her about the show.

    Yes, the Globe did have some really good acts. I remember when the Troggs came to the Globe about the late 60’s and saw all these screaming girls in the side street, thinking what’s all the fuss about, now I know.

    I did get to see Status Quo at the Globe in 1974. There was another group about the same time that I wanted to go and see, that was Mott the Hoople. But, sadly the show was cancelled due to the singer, Ian Hunter, going down with a throat infection.

    Like

  38. David Boydell, are you related to Gillian Lewis? I went to Richard Hind school with her, and I am sure her father was connected to the Globe theatre. I have a few programmes from the Globe, Russ Conway, Conway Twitty, Johnny Preston, Freddie and the Dreamers, Roy Orbison, Helen Shapiro,Cliff and the Shadows, Eden Kane, and, would you believe – Bruce Forsyth!!

    Like

  39. Hello Pauline. I am huge Beatles fan but was only 7/8 when they came to Stockton, there was no way I would have been allowed to go (I had to wait until 2003 to see Paul McCartney.) What was it like? How long were they on for? Was there a support act? I am guessing Stockton was packed?

    Hello Martin – Billy J. Kramer at the Globe – was this for a panto? I remember my mum taking me and my brother to a panto at the Globe and I was sure it was Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas – The Globe was full – didn’t get to hear much from them due to the screaming.

    Like

    • Hello Steve. Only just found this site and don’t know if you will see this message but yes… it was Billy J Kramer at The Globe. 1963 or 64. I was a dancer in a troupe and still have my now battered and torn paper programme to prove it lol. Happy days.

      Like

  40. The Beatles appeared at the Globe on two occasions, I saw them both times. The first time was on the day that John F kennedy was assasinated, I remember waiting in the line to go into the theatre and was told the awful news by someone passing by.

    Like

  41. The Beatles played at the Globe, twice. The dates were Fri, 23rd November 1963 and Thurs, 15th October 1964. There also played at the Astoria Ballroom, Wilson Street, Middlesbrough, on Tues, 25th June 1963. I saw Billy J. Kramer & the Dakota’s at the Globe, probably around the same time 1963/64. Was it that long ago.

    Like

  42. The Globe was designed by Percy L. Browne & Son of Newcastle Upon Tyne for brothers Charles and Alfred Lewis and was constructed by local firm Arthur McLeod Ltd of Thornton on Tees. Fibrous plasterwork was by Messrs Webster Davidson & Co Ltd of Sunderland. The building cost a reported 75,000 pounds. The imposing facade has four sets of double doors in the wide frontage with 10 large metal framed windows (by Messrs F Braby & Co of Glasgow) on 1st and 2nd floor levels – five on each floor, grouped 1-3-1. (Quote from the site ‘Cinema Treasures’)

    Alfred Lewis was my grandfather.

    Like

  43. This is an excellent photograph of the Globe Theatre. It is, as stated, a superb construction of the art deco period. I recall it being built and attended just about all of Franck E Frank”s panomimes the first being “Cinderella” with the beautiful coach and live ponies. Franck E Franks was Buttons and was always a treat for us children with his “gags”. The Sunbeams provided the chorus and dancers, who else remembers these happy days with not a lot of money about? Such things were a treat. The Regal and the Globe were, without question, the most up to date in Stockton followed by the Empire and the Cinema up the arcade. There were probably other picture houses I did not know or had not been to. To return to the Globe, Alfie Lewis the Butcher and ex Mayor I always though owned the Block, which housed his own shop and also the Home and Colonial famous for its bacon, meats and loose butter made into a neat packs with butter pats with a few deft strokes. All their shop fronts clearly stated their name in clear gold lettering. The recent photo shows this well and they definitly had a shop there. I recall on my way to school by bus from Norton in 1938-39 seeing above the entrance into the Globe a full size mock up first world war airoplane, advertising “Dawn Patrol” with David Niven who took the part of Scottie an air flying corp”s pilot. We did not know then what was just around the corner with the second world war! I also think the Globe should be preserved as a fine example of its style.

    Like

  44. Who owns the Globe now and are there any plans to restore it? It is a beautiful Art Deco theatre and ought not to be allowed to go the way of other beautiful buildings in the High Street. Surely it should be a listed building!

    Like

Leave a comment

