12 thoughts on “Sparks Bakery 1981

  1. Worked at Sparks bakery for the summer vacation in 1968 with a guy called John Bonner. Also remember a hailstorm that summer pitch black at lunchtime hailstones the size of golf balls and water gushing up through the manhole covers with flour on the floor making it hard to stand up.

    Like

  2. I have very fond memory’s of Sparks Bakery, I worked there in 1962/3 in the dispatch department. It was a lovely friendly place to work, I can remember that if you were getting married they would make your Wedding Cake for free. Not many places would do that now.

    Like

  3. I lived opposite the bakery from 58 to 64 when we moved and emigrated to Australia. We lived in Farndale Green. I loved living there, it was a nice small close and friendly and very interesting watching from the bedroom all the bakery life.

    Like

  4. The highlight of my week as a teenager was Saturday night . Sparks cream cakes were the best ever I have had cream cakes all over the world but none better than their Nutty delights and Othellos I can still taste them now, wish they were back .

    Like

  5. George Clement, Thanks George for the reply, quite a number of the staff of Doggarts old shop used Wilkinsons buses to travel to and from home. George Dixon comes to mind from Fishburn he was in charge of the Ready Mades Mens Department at Doggarts Stockton. The other good old bus company was Crowes, chocolate and cream livery.

    Like

  6. Norman Kidd. As a boy I used to travel on Wilkinsons buses between Stockton ( my home) and Spennymoor to my grandfather. I”ve just finished reading a book on Wilkinsons and they were taken over by United in the late 1960″s I agree with you that they were wonderful buses to travel on, particularly in the late 1950s early 60″s.

    Like

  7. The O”Connor family lived opposite Sparks Bakery with its lovely white marble exterior, in Farndale Green from 1947 until into the seventies Tony, Jim,Patricia,Paul and Sue.Mother Nora and father Paul. My first memory of it was in 1953 when Sparks opened the big garage for all of the local families to celebrate The Coronation on June 2nd. It rained heavily that day. Many people from Newham Grange worked there, I had my first paying job, washing trays in big machines when I was 15 (1960). There was a football pitch on the right side with regular weekend games, mind you cows also used the same field I remember ,so you had to be careful where you did a slide tackle !! Sparks used to make very good confectionary and as kids we were always trying to get some broken cakes from the “Dispatch ” section were the vans were loaded up each day. I remember they also made fabulous small pork pies too, the quality was only the best in everything they made. I”ve recently seen it,in (07) and it has been redeveloped into very nice looking apartments ,still in keeping with the original design.

    Like

  8. I am delighted to hear that the Sparkes building has been restored and to know of others high esteem for this company. Newmans in Dovecote Street also was an excellent shop. The Newman family lived on Junction Road, near Ashville Avenue the bus terminus. Known as Ashpot Avenue, by some bus conductors. Do you remember bus conductors all those years ago? or even parcels being sent via United Bus Company. What happened to Wilkinsons buses of Sedgefield? they had some smashing buses. I remember when the Willian Newton School was built on Juction Road the children were bused in from surrounding villages and Tommy the bus driver for Wilkinsons, would park his bus on the old sand quarry area, and WAIT until the children finished school then take them home. I used to go and sit with him and chat. Life was like that in those days

    Like

  9. I agree with with the comments on Sparks bakery being a fine building, but I too was saddened to see how it had deteriorated the last time I was in Stockton (over 10 years ago). Recently I saw photos and an article about it having been turned into flats and happy to say it looks a lot better. A good use of an old building

    Like

  10. I passed Sparks bakery on a visit to Stockton last week – it”s in fine fettle and has been converted into flats with the external features just as they always were.

    Like

  11. The Sparks backery was(or is) a fine building – surely it has Grade 2 listing. So sad if it has deteriorated. Sparks on the High Street was indeed the equivalent of Betty”s of York and Harrogate. I remember one went through the shop to a large panelled room where coffee etc was served. It was one of the meeting places downtown. Another was Newman”s on Dovecote Street. Gone

    Like

  12. This Modern Bakery of Sparks was built just pre war. The last time I saw it I could have wept at the disgrace it had fallen into. Sparks cafe in Stockton High Street was the Betty”s of Teesside, it was the meeting place of Stockton Rotary Club and coffee and cakes a delight at any time. Wedding receptions were of the highest standard.

    Like

Leave a comment

