19 thoughts on “Stockton Cricket Club

  1. Stockton Cricket Club have won the Dukes North-East Premier League for the first time & can now claim to be the best club side in the North-East,they have won thirteen games & lost one led by their captain Kevin Ward.

    Like

  2. Brian Armstrong was a neighbour of mine in Norton,I found him to be a polite & modest man.He also played football for Durham City when they won the Northern League title & Billingham Synthonia.

    Like

  3. You are right Benny i did get my Brians mixed up,it was Brian Armstrong who was my solicitor,its all down to old age.Eddie has told me that you are visiting in September and i look forward hopefully to seeing you.I see him most Saturdays in town so im sure he will keep me informed.Cheers Benny

    Like

  4. Ken Rhodes I think you have your Brians Mixed up, Brian Anthoney was my best man and a team mate at Stockton Cricket Club, Brian Armstrong was also a team mate at Stockton Football Club, also a good friend, and a solicitor with D C H Townsend in Yarm road. Brian Armstrong was also my solicitor. Brian Armstrong was also Captain of Norton CC for a number of years. I am visiting Teesside in September and hope to meet up with these friends, besides many others. I may see you Ken

    Like

  5. I remember Wally Buffam,Colin Richards(my best man) and Barry Butler who i went to school with along with Colin and Wally,s brother who i think was called John.Brian Athony was my soliciter.George was a well known Parkfield lad and although a bit older than me always spoke to most people when walking up Camden Street on a Saturday going to play cricket.What a wonderful ground Graingfield is, one of the finest if not the finest in the North and how i used to love going along on Saturdays to watch all the stars mentioned on this site.Nigel i dont think your Uncle John played much cricket due to an eye problem but i remember as a classmate always full of fun and very proud of his brother Wally.

    Like

  6. I am Wally Buffham”s youngest son Ian is my elder brother. We have a younger sister Amanda who was born 12 years after me. Great to see names from my childhood banded about! We left Stockton in 1956 had four years at Guiseley W Yorks where Dad wowed them with his trademark cover drives. From Guiseley to Lytham St Annes where Ian and our families live now. Jimmy Branson, David Branson, we remember well Dad would always give Jimmy “Air time when nostalgic yarn arrived. Arthur Austin, Andrew Brown, Dawson (from Norton?) Colin Richards, Brian Micheson, Brian Anthony, and of course Mr Cricket,Herbert Trenholme. Dad told a story regularly of Herbert that due to his committment to cricket he would meet up with his family once they were on holiday. This would mean he would not miss a Stockton match. He would travel to his holiday destination……….yes, Scarborough Cricket Week! Does anybody out there remember the young Barry Butler playing for Stockton first eleven? Great memories,and thanks for remembering Dad he was a fine model.

    Like

    • So lovely to find this post Jimmy Branson was my granddad and Dave my dad. I remember Stockton well. I’d love to hear more!

      Like

  7. Lived from birth to the age of 15 in the houses overlooking the cricket ground .Apparantly, so I am told,at a tender age I was in my cot in the front bay window when a cricket ball came through the window and landed in the cot! Don”t know the batsman, what a stroke.

    Like

  8. Hello Alastair and David – Nice to hear from you. Alastair how the heck are you?! Drop me a line sometime lnjackson@ns.sympatico.ca. This is a great site – not only wonderful to wander down memory lane but informative. I certainly know a lot more about Stockton than I used to.

    Like

  9. Hiya Linda, I was at school with Philip,both Richard Hind and Grangefield, and also played cricket and golf with him. I played for the under 13s, 15s and 17s. Phil was exceptionaly good, along with our mutual friend Nigel Campbell, at all sports. I also remember meeting you in 1973 on one of my visits from London and writing to you. I think that Phil played at one time for Thornaby as I am sure I was on the opposite tem to him on a few occasions.

    Like

  10. Hi Linda, I played cricket with your brother Philip for the 1963-64 Stockton Juniors side. Other players in the team included Peter (Podge) Davies, Geoff Crossley(Captain), Nigel Campbell, Brian Waller. The rest of the team names have been dimmed by the years.

    Like

  11. I wonder if anyone from Stockton Cricket Club remembers my family – my dad, Richard (Dick) Jackson (though I think he played for Thornaby) and my brothers Tony and Philip, all of whom I think played there at one time or another in the 50″s, 60″s and 70″s. Some of my fondest childhood memories are going with my mam and spending warm summer afternoons at the cricket field. She used to spend winter nights knitting those massive white jumpers with all the cables!!

    Like

  12. To Benny and David, Nice to hear your comments re Uncle Wally Buffham. Don”t know if you know but he died 4 yrs ago in St Annes. He was a very active member of St Annes Cricket Club along with his 2 sons who are now on the coaching staff and had a hand in coaching a certain England player, Andrew Flintoff!

    Like

  13. Hi Benny,I remember Harry, he was opening the batting for the Norton second XI when I first started to get into the senior teams,I always called him Mr Thompson. I remember Lol Ward in a funny incident in a rain affected match between Norton and Stockton at Norton. The Umpires delayed the start till after tea, by this time Lol had had a couple of games of snooker and pints in the clubhouse. When the game started Stockton lost a couple of quick wickets,bringing Lol to the crease,after trying to hit the first two balls out of the ground,he fell flat on his face in the middle of the pitch, unable to get up and retain his balance he was stumped by John Addison the wicketkeeper who walked up to the stumps from some 15 yards back. It was one of the funniest things i have seen in cricket,everyone including the umpires were creased up. Smashing guy Lol,another of my Stockton cc hero,s

    Like

  14. Hi David Nice to see your comments. I remember your Dad as he was my Captain in the Stockton second eleven, A good all round cricketer like yourself, except he was a slow bowler, not express like yourself. Yes we had some great games with Norton, I remember one at Norton”s ground, My foremen at Head Wrightson”s was playing for Norton, Harry Thompson, he was playing at forward short leg when I was batting and caught me off a ball that bounced before he caught it, when I was given out I complained to Harry that it was not a catch and his reply was look in the paper tomorrow Ben. As a sixteen years old being cheated out by my Foremen I was not very impressed. They were hard men in those days, no quarter asked and Non given. I talked to Harry recently on the phone and reminded him of the incident and he just laughed.

    Like

  15. I remember Wally Buffam, he was also one of my hero”s he was with Andrew Brown a regular visitor to our home in Norton, both being family friends with my parents. Sad to hear about George Beaumont,he was also a legend at Stockton. I used to love to play at Stockton,as Benny says the teas were the best in the NYSD League and atmosphere in the bar under the pavilion was always friendly. Some of the Games between Stockton and Norton were very spicey at times,as Benny will no doubt remember.

    Like

  16. Yes Janet I knew you uncle Wallis Buffam, Wally Buffam as we knew him, he was a wonderful cricketer and one of my schoolboy heroes as I was only a fifteen years old schoolboy in Wally”s team and he always reminded me of Denis Compton both in looks and the way he played cricket. Arthur Austin the Durham wicket keeper was the Captain, also in that era was George Beaumont another well known Stockton Cricketer who died recently. Andrew Brown no relation was the opening bat, along with Herbert Trenholm the opening bowler. Wonderful days at Stockton Cricket Club, I always enjoyed the tea interval where we all adjourned to the tea Pavilion for afternoon tea provided by the ladies of Stockton Cricket Club. Herbert Trenholm had a wonderful memory and could recall matches of years before in minute detail you enjoy cricket Janet you would have loved to see the way your uncle played the game, he was a very exciting cricketer.

    Like

  17. Benny, was it you who knew my uncle Wallis Buffham? He played for Stockton late 40″s and early 50″s. My grandad and all my uncles were members of Stockton Cricket Club. They all lived in Vicarage St before moving to Rydal Road a LONG time ago.

    Like

  18. While playing for Stockton CC in the early fifties we had a wonderful Spin Bowler and Groundsman in Mr George Brook, who was a Professional cricketer, each team in the North York”s and South Durham League were allowed to have one professional in their team. George Brook was an ex Worcestershire County Player and getting on in years, but this did not stop him from getting a bagful of wickets for Stockton CC. He told me the story of how he was the first bowler In England to bowl the great Don Bradman when the Australians toured England in 1930. He failed to mention that Don Bradman scored 236 before Mr Brook had him Caught by Walters. To Mr Brook”s credit he dismissed the Top Four in the Australian line up in Woodfull, Jackson, Bradman, and McCabe. Mr Brook also umpired Stockton Junior,s Matches and was well loved and respected by all who came in to contact with him. A real live hero who maybe never received the acclaimation he deserved for his services to cricket.

    Like

Leave a comment

