20 thoughts on “Stockton Grammar School

  1. Help! Where is the “second photo” mentioned by ???? showing the absentees and “the fifth”. Mention of Bradley as an absentee is the closest I’ve come to tracking down my school pal in more than a decade. I’d be extremely grateful for any scraps in information about Jeff Sidebottom, John Crow, Tony Bradley. I am Ted Fletcher.

    Like

  2. I do believe that my dad Peter Mitchell is the last lad on the right,third row down. He lived on Hawthorn Road in the Primrose Hill Estate. He has a brother Les and sister Joan. We moved to America in 1966 and my dad lives in the state of Ohio on Lake Erie.

    Like

  3. This picture was taken the year that I was born and my father, Ronald Bradshaw, was the headmaster at the time. We lived in the house in Linden Avenue that was provided with the job and had to move out when I was three and my father moved on to be head at Grangefield Grammar School. 15/01/2012 18:10:14

    Like

  4. Thanks for that Peter, you are absolutely correct in saying he was not a tall chap! I doubt he made it past 5 feet 6 as an adult. Incidentally I used to live opposite a Mick Minns in Norton, any relation?26/11/2011 02:05:18

    Like

  5. Yes, I too was born in 1941 and vaguely remember a lad named Sayer in the same class – not a tall lad; quite the opposite, in fact. Would that be right? I’m sorry I cannot identify him in any of the three photos but I barely recognize myself.30/08/2011 12:02:56

    Like

  6. I thought I recalled my late father saying that he went to Stockton Grammar School and having checked with my mother we believe that to be the case. He was born in ’41 so assuming he gained entry to the school via 11-plus then he must have started in 1952 and so, presumably, is in the picture(s) above at about age 13. My mother has perused the pictures but as she didn’t meet dad until he was about 17 it’s hardly surprising she doesn’t recognise him (although there are one or two ‘possibles’)… so we’d be grateful if any of you could rack your memories and tell us whether Donald Sayer is present! Dad went to Ashmores (Power Gas?) in Bowesfield Lane as an accounts clerk but office work didn’t suit him and he subsequently spent his working life in the electrical and motor vehicle fields. As an aside, my Latin teacher at Norton Comp. in the late 70’s was a Mr. Collin… he’d been my dad’s French teacher, presumably at the Grammar School and was known as ‘Froggy’ Collin, if that stirs any memories! I think (but am not certain) that he’s third from right in the second from front row, in the middle picture. It certainly does look like the chap I remember! Mr. Collin died in the late 80s or early 90s, I remember the newspaper article as it was believed his wife subsequently took her own life, being unable to live without him.27/08/2011 17:49:51

    Like

  7. F Starr
    Max was full of praise about architecture of the ‘new’ library on Church Road, which I personally think looked better before it was extended. But he decried the ruination of Stockton High Steet by the introduction of chain stores, cinemas etc. I think at one time the centre of Stockton must have looked like Yarm High Street. I wonder what Max now thinks? 26/08/2011 11:43:31

    Like

  8. I left in ’52 after GCE’s to join Ashmores as a Student Apprentice. The people who stayed to do Advanced form the row along from the Masters. I recognise Charlie Goulding and Max Underhill – good to hear Max is still involved. I met Charlie on a golf course a few years later. Still gruff but likeable. Of the 6th form I can see Mike Fenby and Nobby Clarke possibly David (?) Hall, all good folk but touch lost as we went our different ways. A couple of other faces later turned up at Constantine College and then at Kings College but names have faded. 25/08/2011 09:50:18

    Like

  9. Pleasantly surprised to find your comments on this thread Peter. It was a great disappointment to me all those years ago that we did not stay together on leaving Bailey Street School. Without question you deserved your place at Stockton Grammar School, ironically I am a regular visitor to the building that now stands on the former school site. Hope you are keeping well Peter, best wishes from an old friend.16/08/2011 11:37:01

    Like

  10. Yes, John Robson, that’s me. Wish you’d been with me – I joined a class of 30 strangers. A strange school, the old Stockton Grammar – a class named ‘Shell’ and a school song in Latin. We used to get the slipper, not the cane. All that was needed was a Billy Bunter in the school. I was in the school choir until they found out it wasn’t the organ that needed tuning.15/08/2011 17:26:54

    Like

  11. I was absent for this photograph but can be seen with most of our Fifth Form (absentees: Bradley, Marshall, Parker), 1955, on a separate photo.

    Like

  12. I am on this photograph, 19th from left on back row. Stockton Grammar School website is a good starting point for making contact with ex pupils. We had a reunion just last Monday when old teachers Max Underhill and Terry Brown (maths) turned up.

    Like

  13. Nice to see Peter Minns in the top photograph, he is eleventh from the left second row down.
    Peter and I left Bailey Street School together after the 11+, he to Stockton Grammar, I went on to Richard Hind. We both played in the same Bailey Street Junior football team, a photograph of that team is also on this website.

    Like

  14. This photograph was handed to me by my brother in law Melvyn Hough on a recent visit to the UK, he emigrated to South Africa in 1965. Mel would like to hear from anyone who knew him from those days or could put a few names to faces. Mel is eleventh from the left bottom row. He can be contacted through me via Picture Stockton.

    Like

Leave a comment

