5 thoughts on “608 Squadron Band RAF Thornaby 1940

  1. I believe my great uncle Paddy Grimes is the drummer in the back row, the 3rd from the right. He is holding the drum sticks. I have an original picture of the 608 Squadron Band in 1937 with my great uncle Paddy. Does anyone know where I can get more information?

    Like

  2. John I remember the names Whitfield and Dinsdale as brass band members who played in bands in the local area after the 2nd world war.

    Like

  3. My grandfather John (Jack) Whitfield is the man on the middle row 5th from the left. He also appears on the large squadron photo taken at Ramsgate he is the 4th man in from the right on that photograph. I am desperate to find a copy of these photographs as I have no copies of them. I have my grandfathers pyjama case that he had with him when he was in the RAF.

    Like

Leave a comment

