23 thoughts on “Stockton Schools Childrens Choir

  1. I was in this picture second from the right at the front and I remember Switzerland and some of the other things we did. It was a good part of my life all thanks to Miss Gittus.

    Like

  2. I also sang in the Stockton children’s choir about 1967/68 singing in places such as Montreux and at the Welsh Eisteddfod in Llangollen. People are correct about Miss Gittus she was our school Music Teacher at Newham Grange as was Mr Hazleton who assisted with the choir. Are they still with us?

    Like

  3. I have just come across this page when looking for any photos of the choir when we went to Switzerland. I don’t know how it came about but I was chosen from Roseworth Secondary school to join the choir and thought I was very lucky. I do recall a photograph being taken for the local gazette and kept it for some time but unfortunately was lost in the space of time.

    I also remember in one place we stayed we were offered horse meat to eat and to this day don’t know if I was only being teased. I also remember eating great lemon flavoured ice cream that came in lemon shaped containers and the fun we all had.

    Like

  4. Miss Gittis was a legend, She moved to Ian Ramsey after that and taught us music she formed a brass band and I played the tuba and still do today, she took us all over the place and even took me home some times in a great big Volvo she had. I thought she would have died by now but often wondered what happened to her. I remember how strict she was but it was good as she was also very fair, I had to be on my best behaviour as she knew my mother who also worked at Newham Grange as a teachers assistant.

    Like

  5. Teacher’s name definitely DOREEN GITTUS, father Claude, lived Eston, sadly died many years ago.
    Pianist REX HAZELTON, also played church organ, lived Bishopton road, Stockton, almost opposite St Paul’s church,also sadly died many years ago.
    Both taught Newham Grange school, gave so much time out of school hours to choir, unbelievable. They were devoted to music , happy days!

    Like

    • As mentioned elsewhere on this web-site and photos of Rex Hazelton in the Stockton F.C. football team,he played in goal when Stockton beat Mansfield in the F.A. Cup in the fifties. I think Rex started his teaching career at Tilery School.

      Like

    • I went to Denmark as well – it is amazing that i had forgotten all about these things ! Miss Gittus was indeed a legend and what a pity we dont have more people of her like in teaching these days.

      Like

  6. I am not in the photo, joined the choir some time later. Am certain the 2 boys front row centre are Kenny Coulson & Wayne Wilkinson. The choir did go to Stubb House which is on the way to Barnard Castle. One group stayed overnight and another arrived the following day. I also went to Cologne and sang in the Cathedral, an event I will never forget, then we stayed in a hunting lodge/hotel further up the Rhine – have some photos, must dig them out. Some girls from Queen Vic did join the choir – one was called Heather Newton.

    Like

  7. A few years after this photograph was taken, Queen Vic was invited to join this choir. A few of us took up the offer and we sang in Wales and travelled to Germany. I remember us singing in Cologne Cathedral and struggling to begin on the correct note (we were singing unaccompanied) as Miss Gittus became increasingly irritated while retaining a fixed smile! I also remember that my friend who I shared a room with (Liz Carter) had to remain behind in Germany because she developed appendicitis.

    Like

    • I agree her name was Miss Gittings and she was amazing. I too went to Germany and indeed Wales with the choir. Cant quite remember the year but has to be 68/69. We sang the llorelli song on a boat in Germany. OMG I’ve just read this post and Liz Carter is MY SISTER!!! And she was indeed left behind in Germany because she had appendicitus!

      Like

  8. I was in the choir at about this time with another girl called Mandy Gill both of us from William Newton. We practiced every Friday afternoon after school. I remember Switzerland and cruising and singing on the Rhine, I sang solo in Bonn cathedral. A great choir which had success in several festivals as I recall. Great memories (although rapidly fading) can anyone else bring back these times?

    Like

  9. I’ve just had a thought that the piano players name on the 1970 tour to Denmark was Nick Barber and at the time he worked at St Bedes Catholic School for Girls….alzheimers definitely kicking in here! Help!

    Like

  10. Her name was Dorothy – and I am positive it was Gittins or Gittings. I went to Germany with the choir think that must have been 1968. Will have to dig some photos out.

    Like

  11. The choir’s conductor was in fact called Miss Doreen Gittus and not Miss Skitters. I knew her well as she was my singing teacher and entered me for all my singing examinations. Mr Rex Hazelton (standing on the right of the photograph) played the piano for me on these occasions.

    Like

  12. I’m not in the photograph shown here, but I was a member of the tour that went to Denmark in 1970, not as a singer, but I was one of three people from Hardwick Secondary who played musical instruments. I played clarinet, Peter Fromm, flute and Terry Smith, trumpet. Alas, I can’t remember other names though I vaguely recall the teacher pianist was called Nick…his second name escapes me (possibly it was Drake…but not THE Nick Drake). I have long abandoned the clarinet in favour of guitars ect but I do appretiate the grounding in music that it gave me.

    Like

  13. The music teachers from Newham Grange School were Miss Skitters, who was the music conductor, and Mr West (Peter). The music teacher/headmistress from Hardwick secondary modern school was Miss Neave. Both schools joined together to form the choir. My sister is sitting behind the boys, front row 3rd seat, Marilyn O’Neill (Spence). The back row 5th girl is Lynn Dryborough . I remember as a child that an American Choir from California toured England, and parents of the children whom were in the choir gave the American girls a bed and breakfast. The first year we had a girl named Diane stay and the following year a girl named Pamela. The year my sister was in the Stockton School Childrens Choir they toured Switzerland. In 1968/69 my sister Maureen toured Wales with the choir and in 1969/70 the choir went to Denmark – thats when I was in it and in 1970 I left school. I remember faces not names. Are you in the photograph or do you know anyone who was in the choir?

    Like

Leave a comment

