Richard Hind Juniors from 1952

Richard Hind Juniors from 1952. Names are as follow as far as I can remember. Back row, Left to right Dave Dickinson,Keith Cooke, ?  Billy Peake. Pete Temple,Kenny Jackson,John Youlden,John Smelt, Neil Mollard,Dave Hooton.   

Middle row. Barry Heath,Billy Hurren, Me, Alan Wilson,Byron Gowthorpe Ronnie Ibbotson,Keith Gamble, Alan Pattison, Arch Berry, Alan Brant,Barry Shepherd.   

Front row  Valerie Buckle, Jean Firth,  June Mansell, Sheila brown, Christine Verrill,Valerie Hayton, Sheila Parker ‘ Janet Dixon,. Valerie Lofthouse,Maureen Benson.  Photograph courtesy of David Day

29 thoughts on “Richard Hind Juniors from 1952

    • Hello David, sadly Ernie died about two years ago. I remember you and your brother, you lived in Dennison Street, next door to the Evans family, the Russells on the other side of your house. I lived in Waverley Street and went to Richard Hind juniors. I think that I am around two years younger than all of you in the photo but knew many of them Billy Hurren lives next door to my cousin in Fairfield.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad to hear Billy (Kipper) Hurren is still around we were good friends as teenagers. Sorry to hear about Ernie. I wonder how many of the people in the photograph use this site as it is great to catch up with things from what seems not that long ago sometimes.

        Like

      • Trish thanks for letting me know the sad news, he was my friend when I lived there. I left Stockton when I was 11 and have just come back as its always been home no matter where I lived. Its nice to know you remember us. I remember a girl from Waverley Street she lived half way up on the same side as Blenkinsops shop Margery Pollo I think and also a family further up on the other side called Jones they had some pets in the back yard. My cousin who lived in no. 9 after we left still goes to the football with Laurie Dunning if you remember them. Really good to hear from you. I hope you are well and happy. David.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Trish I was going to contact Ernie about 15 years ago when visiting Stockton. I asked about the Coles family in the chip shop that used to be Miss Whites sweet shop and was told I had just passed Eveline? as I entered the shop. When I told my aunt she told me that Ernie had died 2 years earlier so I did not try again. I hope he had a good life and am devastated to have not tried harder. I have told my brother John about you and he is so pleased as he has been in America for over 50 years and its the first time we have been in contact with anyone from our past as we moved about a lot and have not kept in touch. I sometimes visit Dennison Street just for old times sake and it has not changed at all. Sorry to go on but it’s been nice to go back to the old days. David.

        Like

        • The reference to Miss White’s sweet shop was a real memory jog, it was a tiny place but she was a lovely woman and always had time for us kids. Evelyn Coles was younger than Ernie and he also had an older brother Walter. It is years now since I was on Teesside but glad to hear that the streets behind Dennison Street to St Cuthberts Road are still there. I know my old house in Richardson Road is still there because of the wonder of Google maps.

          Like

  1. I was in that class but left to go to Oxbridge. I remember some names but hard to remember faces. I think my father worked with Valerie Haytons father Dick at Ashmores. They lived off Richardson Road I think. Just moved back to the area after 65 years, its always been home to me.

    Like

  2. Can anyone help with the name of the boy 3rd from the left on the back row, I can remember everyone else well but cannot even recall knowing him at all despite him obviously being in the class

    Like

      • Still have no recollection of him but I remember Valerie Lofthouse lived in the shop on the other side of Stafford Street opposite the house of one of my friends Ray Dea.

        Like

    • Hi John I wonder if you remember going to see Quo Vadis at the Globe with me back in the distant past.I also remember coming to your house and playing in the woods behind which must have been in Preston Park. Happy Days !

      Like

    • Hi John. I didn’t go to Richard Hind but I think I worked for your mother at Tilery infants when I was a very young teacher! Both of your parents were at my wedding in 1972. Your mum was very proud of you and your sister so I feel as if I do know you.

      Like

  3. Glad to see Dave Hooton picked up on the picture, yes my father spent many hours on the bowling green in Ropner Park. I wonder how many other old school friends use this site. I open it most days and find it fascinating to read other people’s memories of the region.

    Like

  4. I wonder if Dave Hooton of St Peter Road has seen this photograph of himself way back when. I wonder where they all are now. I live in Buckinghamshire but still have fond memories of Stockton which has undergone many changes over the years

    Like

    • Thanks for the intro, yes I have seen the photograph, indeed some others relating to Richard Hind. I have been living in Bishopsgarth for the past 25 years. I do see Billy’ ‘Kipper’ Hurren on a regular basis, he lives in a part of Fairfield quite close to me. It is wonderful for the ‘boys’ of Richard Hind to keep some sort of contact via the web!! I clearly remember your dad Arthur, I believe, he used to play bowls at Ropner Park with my dad, Harry Hooton. It is a small world nowadays but so thrilling to here from old school friends. Please does anybody know of the whereabouts of two of my mates around the 1950’s, Billy Jones (originally from Waverly Street) and a good friend of mine Geoff Ayre. The last I heard of him was that he went to Australia! Lovely to hear from anybody from the old school. Regards David ‘Tich’ Hooton.

      Like

  5. Thanks for the reply Dave – Maureen Benson was in the team with John Smelt and me.
    I think also Valerie Hayton who was in your photo of the class. I am hoping someone else
    has a copy of the sports team and can help me out with a copy.

    Like

    • I have just seen the photo of Richard Hind class of 1952 posted in 2012 I am John Smelt’s sister and was in the relay team as was our cousin Chris Ayre. There were two relay teams on the photo one boys and the other girls. Can’t remember the name of the other girl along with Chris, Maureen and me. I know we won trophies and 2 flags. Somewhere I have that photo will try and find it

      Like

  6. Sorry Keith but I never made the team for the town sports as I was always beaten into 4th place by yourself,John Smelt and Barry Heath. I would imagine Maureen Benson was also in the team as she was a fine athlete. They were great days at the Hind and I still have fond memories of my time there. Incidentally I wonder who anon is, who seems to have extensive knowledge of many issues re schools and local sports teams

    Like

  7. This photo brings back some memories. Unfortunately I no longer have it and am grateful to
    Dave Day for posting it on this site. We had a very successful team in the town sports that year and I remember that a photo was taken of the team. Does Dave have a copy of it? It would be nice to see it again.

    Like

  8. Big Alan Pattison played centre half for Preston Sports Club in the sixties & also was a scramble rider(now called motor cross). Maureen Benson in this photo represented Richard Hind senior school well in the town sports.

    Like

  9. I remember a few of the lads in this photograph from my days at Richard Hind Senior School. In particular, Ronnie Ibbotson, Billy Hurren, Alan Pattison, Barry Heath, Alan Brant, Keith Gamble & David Hooton. Some of the lads lived in and around the Sunderland Glebe estate during those school years. Occasionally I have seen Billy Hurren around Stockton in more recent times, would be nice to know the whereabouts of the others I mentioned.

    Like

Leave a comment

