Beech Street, Stockton – 1960

Peter Jordinson – This is a photo of me taken outside the house I was born in (18 Beech Street). It was taken in 1960 a few months before demolition, as you can see the other half of the street has already gone.

I wondered if anyone has any memories of the area, or even any photos. For those of you too young to remember, Beech Street stood roughly where Asdas (used to be Netto) car park now stands. (Note the Dolphin pub in the background).

Photograph and details courtesy of Peter Jordinson.

 

This photograph reflects the view shown above in 2008.

 

 

18 thoughts on “Beech Street, Stockton – 1960

  1. Our name is Dorothy and Kathleen Sutton. We lived in 16 Beech Street. We were born in Church Road at our nans then moved to Beech Street. We lived there until moving to Hardwick about 1959.

    Like

    • Dorothy, I remember your Mother Sally from Hardwick when you lived next door to the Ellis Family not far from where we lived in Inskip walk. I believe our Fathers worked together many years ago and as I mentioned to Ken Ryder I was a year below your brother John at school

      Like

  2. Beech street 1881, there was a family living here called Welsh, Michael and Mary Welsh, would any one have any ancestry on these folks at all? This same Michael may have lost his wife and then lived in Housewife lane, if any one can help with this please ask picturestockton for my e-mail address.
    All the best.
    Derek

    Like

  3. Sorry last line of my previous comment should read ‘temporary workmans hut’. I have all the lost comments from this submission as I printed them out ages ago and hope to restore some in the future. Beech Street survived until c.1963 according to the election roll, but it looks demolished and fully re-developed in todays post, aerial photo t132871, that dates the aerial photo post 1963.

    Like

  4. This exact photo with the bottom and the boys image removed appeared in a local paper, the section Remember When, and as such a copy can be found hanging from a wall inside the Dolphin pub. On the left at the far end of the street, by the roadside and in the front of the Dolphin, can be seen a temporary workmans as once used by the utilities and hardly seen these days.

    Like

    • Peter my name is Ken Ryder, I used to live at 18 Beech Street until the late fifties, with my Father, his brother and their parents. The Suttons lived one side and the McDonald’s on the other. We moved to Wellington Street opposite the Library to a bigger house.

      Like

      • Ken Ryder I was born in the house on August 13 1958 so my parents must have moved into the house after you left. My parents remained friends with the Sutton and McDonald families after we moved to Hardwick in the early 1960’s and I remember John Sutton who was a year above me at Harrowgate junior and Hardwick Secondary Modern schools, thanks for the reply.

        Like

  5. I was reading my brother’s family tree and Beech Street is mentioned quite a lot. It seems the Ayre family lived here from early 1900s to 1940s at surprise… no 18!
    Just a little more to add…. a Clara Ayre died in no 18 on March 26th 1944.

    Like

    • I am researching a Corporal Edward Moore of the Northumberland Fusiliers who was KIA on the 20 October 1914 aged 30 and who I believe lived in Beech
      Street . He is buried in Bethune Town Cemetery in northern France which has over 3,000 First World War burials .

      His Commonwealth War Graves Commission records state that he was the husband of Annie Moore who re-married to become Annie Mason of 1 Varo Street .

      Any help appreciated . Thank you .

      Like

  6. Thanks for the explanation of the location folks. The street appears on the Godfrey O.S 1899 sheet 50.12 map. I should have recognised the Portrack gasholders on the right hand side, which I recall being built. I thought that the store was still a plumbers merchants – OOps.

    Derek Wade.

    Like

  7. The Beech Street in question ran south from Portrack Lane to Paradise Row.
    I too am not too young, and it may be time for my tablets, but nonetheless I can’t help thinking that this picture, with several replies, has been on the site before . . .

    Like

    • You are perfectly correct – this has been previously published, but is among those that disappeared over the years.
      We’ve recreated the original post – the comments associated with it are below….we’ve also added the follow up picture showing the same view in 2008.
      _____________________________________________________________

      Hi Peter, it was great seeing the pic of you and beech street!! please can you tell me if the other street showing is bay street? if you dont remember im sure your mam will..id love to see some pics of bay street.you havent got any photos of our Eddie have you? i still miss them all very much. id love you to put any other photos from the old days on this site. its fabulous isnt it. if anyone reading this has any stories or photos of mccoys at bottomly street middlesbrough please send them in.. I went there when i was young and it was a great place.any pics of the twisted wheel manchester?? thanking you in anticipation.
      – Christine Reeves

      Sorry im so late answering I”ve only just noticed your comment Chris. I think this is about the only photo I have from this period I think Bay street ran behind Beech street so it would have run off the other street pictured. The only picture I had of Eddie was taken at Inskip Walk in 1970 but I am sure I gave it to Eddie many years ago. The site has my e mail address if you want to get in touch.
      – Peter Jordison

      The entrance to Bay Street is first left in the black and white photo ie follow the mud roadmarks behind the boy. Parallel to Beech Street Pine and Varo Streets are under Nettos with now unnamed Cedar Street surviving on the opposite far-side of Nettos ie off the left of the colour photo. Cedar Street has recently undergone a slight revival with a new building completed opposite Nettos but this street has still not got its street name sign back.
      – Alan B

      Thanks a lot for answering Peter. I wish I had a better memory! It really made me happy seeing that pic of you and Beech Street shame you havent more pics.. mind you not many of us could afford cameras in those days. Take care Peter..
      – Christine Reeves
      Great photo Pete we lived in number 11 (on the corner behind you to your right). Still got good memories of the place even though I was only five when we were moved to Hardwick. It was great to be able to show my daughter (and grandson)where I lived way back.
      – D

      My mother was born in James Street in this area but I am unable to find its location on the old maps of Stockton can anyone help please?
      – John Lenham

      The Co-op dairy was built on the site of James Street circa 1952. The dairy is now demolished and the area is now wasteland and a rough car park. The dairy can be seen in t9201-11 = North Shore Development 2005; particularly rows 2 and 3. The site of James Street is between the new Baptist church and the Maritime Road Portrack Lane junction but close and parallel to Paradise Row. The James Street passage from Smithfield was at the back of the “The Square” car park.
      – Alan B

      James Street in Stockon ran parallel to Church Road (the part that was called Paradise Row then) on the Riverside. There was a dairy on the site later now it is a temporary car park just next to the new interchange. My great-great grandmother Mary Ann Richardson aged 72 lived here on the 1901 census. It is shown on a map of 1923 Stockton I use for my family tree. Opposite on the othe side of Maritime Road was Tees Street where my Grandmother Lily Storr was born in 1886.
      – Pat Pattison (nee Beard)

      Just seen another picture on t696 – 700 of the Portrack Bridge and if you go to the third picture in the link which shows the Dairy as you come up the bank there is a street of terrace houses just showing at the top left hand side this could be James Street?
      – Pat Pattison (nee Beard)

      To D – would you be Dave Fothergill by any chance?
      – Peter Jordison

      Like

    • Does any one remember Jonny Jones? He owned a bike shop on Portrack in the late 50s early 60s…. any information would be greatly appreciated.

      Like

  8. Sorry Peter, I’m not too young, but am a little confused. Is the Asda you refer to now Boyes and was the old Fire Station opposite it? Alternatively, the Asda at Portrack was either a farm or wasteland from the Tees diversion pre 1950 (I can not recall which for that particular plot) when the first light industrial estate was built. I’m not a pub goer and the hotel doesn’t appear on Google etc. Help please.

    Like

    • Dale, the Dolphin pub is in the background and of course it is still there, Derek you are thinking of the wrong Asda. The Asda pictured here used to be Netto and is opposite the tyre garage, along from what used to be the Cons Club on Maritime Road.

      Like

Leave a comment

