21 thoughts on “The Fiesta c1960s

  1. Del Shannon was touring in Britain in 1954. So this might give another clue to the date. I saw him at the Wembley Arena. It too is a very small venue by the standards of today.

    Like

    • This building was the Modern Cinema but was taken over for the Fiesta night club. I was stationed at Houghton le Spring in the PF in 1966-67-68 and a person was telling me he was going to the Fiesta that night. I was born and bred in Norton and often visited Norton through this period and did not know about the Fiesta, so I think it started sometime in the time I was at Houghton le Spring which is 1966-6.

      Like

  2. I think this photo is me taken with my daughter in the pram. She is now 50 years old. My mother lived in Lune Road behind the Fiesta so I walked past the Fiesta many times when I visited her. The pram is a Pedigree pram navy and white.

    Like

  3. Oh I remember going to see Alvin Stardust here when I was still at school… he did a show on the Saturday for under 18’s it was great…

    Like

  4. I had my bachelor night at the Fiesta in 1978 on a Thursday night, as I was to be married Saturday as most lads did then. I don’t recall who was on that night, as I had done a tour of the Stockton Pubs and was a little worse for wear by the time I reached the Fiesta. It was a popular venue for hen and bachelor nights back then. A much missed establishment.

    Like

  5. I think my first visit to the place came in early 75 as part of a bachelor night from the Mile House, I seem to remember having to borrow a tie from the door staff to enable me to get in, they didn’t seem bothered about my age (I was only 16). Lynsey De Paul, who was appearing, was absolutely gorgeous…

    Like

    • Yes, I remember seeing Lynsey De Paul too. She was that small, there had to stack three chairs up for her to play the piano and she had a dance with one of the doormen, lucky fella. Yeah, Lynsey was a shunner. I was 19 years old then and felt like 29 that night.

      Like

  6. Good days indeed!
    Del Shannon appeared at The Fiesta 4 times, June 18-23 1967, October 29-31 1967, 15-21 November 1971, 31 December 1972 and 1-6 January 1973. So judging by the dress of those pushing the prams the picture was taken between 18-23 June 1967.

    Like

  7. I went there to see the Dubliners in the 70s, they were fantastic,we were right at the front. Unfortunately they have all passed away now & I still love ’em,especially Ronnie Drew.[a voice that could take the froth off a guinness at 50 yds!!]

    Like

  8. I had a concessionary members card that let me in for free anytime. If there was a large queue I would use the phone box just outside the club telling the security men I was waiting. I would then walk up to the front and they’d let me in.

    Like

    • It must have been in the 70’s when we saw Showaddywaddy, I also remember seeing the ‘Flowerpot men’ …….didn’t they sing ‘Lets go to San Francisco’?

      Like

      • Yes, the Flowerpot Men, appeared on Monday, 1st January 1968 for one night. Morecambe and Wise, appeared for a week from 22nd September 1968. I think Showaddywaddy appeared around 1974 time.

        Like

  9. I remember it as the Modern Cinema. We had many a happy night there in the 1/9ds or, if we were broke, it was 1 shilling and threepence . Good days.

    Like

    • I remember Del Shannon there as he used to stay with the chaplain at the time in Thornaby and I lived across the road from him. Del Shannon used to play his guitar all hours of the night after he performed at the Fiesta.

      Like

      • It’s remarkable to think of the acts that appeared at the Fiesta, nowadays some of them would be playing stadiums or 15-20,000 seater arenas, I saw Bernard Manning, pre Chubby Brown days, he was dynamite.

        Like

    • I too remember the modern cinema as what is was originally,and going to the kid’s matinee,and how we all had the commissionaire running from one side of the stalls to the other,I believe his nickname was ” SPAM “,We often used to open the side doors to let other kid’s get in,if we sat upstair’s we all had pea shooter’s and a pocket full of split pea’s,or rice.Such happy times.

      Like

Leave a comment

