12 thoughts on “Woolworths, Stockton High Street c1958

  1. Woolworth’s moved in march 1972 I was an HGV driver for National Carriers and moved all Woolworth’s stock from the old store to the new one.

    Like

  2. F.W.Woolworth and Co.- 3D&6D Stores.

    I was going to say that in all probability I visited Woolies during the War. More recently, I believe the manager’s name was Mr. Fulton; but I was there at the tragic end, and still have unwrapped “bargains” to remind me. (As a shopaholic, I also attended the last rights at Littlewoods, The Works, Stationery Box, Smarts, Dickens, and others: how many more to come?) The shop seemed immense to me at the age of six and was my favourite but that allegiance had to change. I clearly remember the island counters and live tortoises creeping on the porcelain slabs. I wonder how much they cost? You can still visualise the L-shaped sales area; it’s a large charity store now. Perhaps the demise of Woolies typifies the decline of the High Street. So long live Rediscover Stockton. PBB

    Like

  3. I believe to the left is Sparks Bakery shop. Just writing this makes me remember Saturday morning shopping with mum, usually included a final stop in Sparks before getting on the No.3 up to Roseworth. (Not forgetting having already been to Jims Pies). Nostalgia just isn’t what it used to be.

    Like

  4. I used to go into this store occasionally on my way home from Richard Hind school in the early 70’s and buy a bag of broken biscuits for I think 3d. I would then proceed to eat as many as possible, just in case my tea wasn’t ready when I reached home, but it always was.

    Like

  5. Yes Gareth Hill. Woodhouses on the corner of Wellington Street. Peter I can remember going into Woolies in the pre 2nd WW Thirties, perhaps with my 2 ‘Saturday pennies’ browsing around to see what sweets or toys I could buy. Here is a repeat of my January 23rd 2005 posting:

    As a child I always knew Woolworths’ as ‘the bazaar’. When Woolworths’ began in the UK in Liverpool in 1909 it had to compete with Marks and Spencer’s Penny Bazaar which were mainly in open fronted shops and market stalls. The emphasis was on ‘Nothing in these Stores over 6p’. Originally it was expected that goods would be imported from the USA but they proved to be too expensive. So they turned to domestic/UK supplies. I think that there was a very good quality in what was sold at the bazaar. It was great to tour around thinking of spending my Saturday penny! ‘
    Should have been 6d not 6p.

    Like

    • Woolworths sold a certain brand of crockery which believe it or not has become quite collectible these days. Not on the same level as most well known, but people have started to become aware of it. The name is HOMEMAKER and it is all black and white, something maybe to look out for.
      Does anyone remember Norman with his homemade Crumpets or (pike lets to some). He had a place on Tilery Road where he made them, I think it was his house, not far from Hills. He had an old black delivery bike, similar to all the old butcher and shop bikes, but it had a very large box on it and was possibly made to keep the goods warm. He was always sat outside of Woolworths and did a roaring trade, especially in the winter time. Happy days.

      Like

      • Yes I remember Norman, in fact I didn’t know his name until you mentioned it. As a kid I always wondered if he made enough money to live on. Like you said he was always on the corner of the High Street, and Wellington.

        Like

  6. I can remember going into Woolies at this location as a kid in the mid 60″s. I think the store stayed there till it moved to the new Castlegate Centre in I think 1971
    Peter Jordison

    Look at all those people in Stockton!! This was when it had many shops to visit and a market to be proud of. People came from miles away. They even organised bus trips to go shopping in Stockton.
    Alice Gardner

    In the early 1950s the store manager was Mr Coffee the deputy manager was Mr Burnicle (who was to become manager of the Billingham branch) and the staff supervisor was Joan Birtle. I worked at the Middlesbrough branch from 1951 until 1953 when I joined the RAF and was posted to the Suez Canal Zone. During my time there Joan used to post me copies of the Woolworth staff magazine which I very much appreciated.
    J Bruce Towl

    Even up until the 1980s I remember this end of the High Street busy like this as this was where all the bus stops were. To the right you can just make out the shop which I think was Woodhouses.
    Gareth Hill

    Joan Birtle was my aunt sad to say she passed away on Christmas Day 1992. She left Woolworth”s in Stockton when the new Woolco store opened in Thornaby I think she was Chief Cashier there. She was obviously very well thought of within the company I remember the lavish dinner dance at the Billingham Arms laid on in her honour when she had achieved 21 years’ service. Ill health eventually forced her to retire early.
    Tim Hardy

    Like

Leave a comment

