19 thoughts on “Queens Street, Thornaby c1955

  1. Bill Curbishley – great to read the comments and recall the names from that era, sorry to hear about the passing away of Tom Wilson he was good friend and school pal at the “NASH” School and The Arthur Head, I to spent a lot of time in Paleschi’s coffee bar and ice cream parlour as my parents owned the Pet Shop next door which I worked in for a while after leaving school, so names like the Crones, Costellos, D’ambrsio’s all ring a bell and recall happy memories I remember that the area round the Five Lamps was a hive of activity in that era, and full of local characters I still live local although not in Thornaby but over the River in Fairfield, Stockton with one or two Thornaby lads living round about who I see time to time. Bill Curbishley….June 21st 2015.

    Like

  2. I grew up with the Paleschis.. my Dad was Harry Foster the hairdresser, near the five Lamps and Paleschies Ice cream Shop.

    I used to get Almonds from the bakers , around 1956, knew all the bobbies from the police station! There was a co-op with those canister air machines for handling the cash.
    The Sali army band played round the Five lamps every Sunday.

    Like

    • MY DAD WORKED FOR PALESCHIS HE SOLD THEIR ICE CREAM. HE HAD A HORSE AND CART AND WENT ALL OVER STOCKTON AND THORNABY. THE CART WAS LIKE A BIG FREEZER. MY DAD STOOD ON A STEP AT THE BACK AND THE RAINS IN HIS HAND AND HE WOULD SHOUT GEE UP PETER THAT-S THE NAME OF THE HORSE. IT WAS 1950’S.

      Like

  3. Are these the Costello chaps that worked at Head Wrightsons, Thornaby, one was a fitter & the other worked in the clocking alley?

    Like

    • Yes they are, the one who worked in the clocking office was my uncle Norman Costello and the other was my father Fred Costello the Brother of Norman. Did you know them?

      Like

    • Sorry for the confusion but, my Father Fred Costello worked in the transport office, it was my uncle Norman who worked in the clocking office and they had two brothers Johnny and Davy. I am not sure but either or both of these could be the ones you refer to who worked as fitters ?

      Like

  4. Treasured memories of Ray Costello, (Our Ray) and another Italian boy Mario Ambrosi, who lived in Mandale Road, Thornaby. Ray was always happy, smiling and a good mixer, I can remember him skimming stones in the River Tees, climbing Mount Everest (the slag heaps behind Cork Insulation) and sat in our back yard discussing everything from how long it took pigeons eggs to hatch, 21 days, to who was the best fighter in Thornaby.
    I remember Ray best out of the many boys I knew then, he was a great compliment to his mother who was considered by the other boys including me, to be over-protective, and used the soap far too much on him, how Ray wasn’t drowned in the bath the way she scrub-scrub-scrubbed him was a miracle. Maybe that’s the Italian way, maybe that’s why Ray always used to go home late if he could and why he dawdled going home, he knew the dreaded soap was waiting for him. Ray was a kid who when he was dirty-was always clean?

    Like

    • Mario Ambrosi lived in Wilson Street, which had The Bon Lea pub on the corner, Mario played football for Middlesbrough F.C. A team in the North Eastern League about 1960, he also played for Head Wrightsons after his brothers Johnnie & Peter.

      Like

      • As a child I used to go to an ice cream shop in Mandale Road, Thornaby, owned by Marios family and incorrectly thought the family lived in the flat upstairs, I never knew he lived in Wilson Street, If any boy was respected in Thornaby with a big capital R,it was Mario. A gent even as a child.

        Like

      • I used to visit Mario at the Ambrosi Ice Cream shop in Mandale Road, Thornaby, and assumed wrongly perhaps, that they lived there or maybe upstairs above the shop, I recall one time it was to collect a load of free ice cream that had been made from cornflower? or some such trial substitute because of rationing restrictions. It was free so I could only guess it had not been sold. A fine person who today would have been quite a gent. I was sorry to hear of his demise.

        Like

      • I occasionally visited the Ambrosi shop in Mandale Road, and assumed wrongly perhaps that they lived above this shop, my error.

        Like

    • Hello Bob, these are very kind words you say about our Ray for which I thank you on his behalf. You are right, he would go any where with any one and much to his annoyance he invariably had to take me with him because our Mother made him.
      As well as skimming stones on the River Tees did you ever come with Ray me and Terry Morgan when we use to go fishing for newts at Butterwick at the in the bottom of Boathouse Lane in ponds near the Tees or, building a raft out of 45 gallon oil drums and floating on a disgustingly dirty pond some where near Head Wrightson’s. As for our Mother scrub-scrub-scrubbing him I think it was because she had a bathroom installed in one of our rooms in our shop in Gilmour street and it took her a while for the novelty to wear off.
      I was talking to your Niece? Anne Wilson recently at Derek Smiths Barnard Street reunion party at Preston Park Museum and she told me that your Brother Tom died some time ago, which I was sorry to hear.

      Like

      • Hi Fred, the pond mentioned was at the end of the slag heaps that ran alongside the Thornaby approach rail line from Middlesbrough, about 550 yards past ‘The Torch’. With living in Leeds, I never got to know family news, and it was saddening to hear long after the event that my brother John, Tom and sister Mary passed away, and no one thought to let me know. If you are raised in Barnard Street, Thornaby, you never really leave it, for instance you can recall years later going to Mrs Scott for the Daily Express, the Dandy and Beano, you bought your meat from Mr Toulson, your cod and kippers from Jakey Fell, you got your hair cut at Speedy Wonder, for rock buns Mrs Crone, you went to the Westbury Street fish shop, and when hardware was required you visited Mr Reynolds, and given a shilling it was the Queens Cinema or the Central, and so in this character forming way each of us was formed to be citizens of the North Riding of Yorkshire, whose local Thornaby on Tees hero was Edward Cooper VC, who defeated and captured seven machine guns and gunners and took a total of forty-five prisoners from inside a fortified German blockhouse. Barnard Street was not the most glamorous of streets, but it was ours, and for this reason lives on in our memories. Each family who lived there, made a contribution even if the message like the ones we got from the Appletons was: we all all sinners!

        Like

  5. This is my brother Ray when he was thirteen and I was eight and my cousin Pat when she was about ten or eleven. How about the long shorts and the bracers very fashionable in those days and, Pats trendy hair do. In the back ground on the right I believe is Page’s shop the general dealers and directly behind them is the house in Westbury street where the Paleschi’s lived when they first came over from Italy. My Aunty Elvira Costello lived with them for a while (and still lives in Gilmour Street to this day) when she also came over from Italy before she married my Uncle Johnny who was my Dads Brother.
    Derek Smith who posted this picture has an excellent exhibition on display at Preston Park Museum of VE day Barnard street tea party and I urge any one who is interested to go along and see it, it is well worth a viewing.
    Many thanks once again Derek for keeping the story going, please keep it coming.

    Like

    • We lived in the house you mentioned that was the home of Paleschis. It was number 19, we moved there when they put the A66 through our house, number 3 Eldon Street!
      Mick Russell

      Like

      • Hello Mike, when I was a kid the house in question had iron railings at the front and I use to climb on them much to the annoyance of my now Aunty Elvira.

        Like

    • Avril Costello was a very dear friend of mine growing up in Hardwick estate Stockton. My name is Titch Taylor. I wonder if she is related.

      Like

    • Fred whatever became of Pats brother Anthony ‘Tony’ Crone?
      In the 1950s he may / or may not have lived above the General Dealers shop his parents ran situated opposite the Town Hall, Mandale Road, Thornaby, at times he hung out in Barnard Street but once he into wearing “Long Pants” he sort of moved on and was rarely seen there afterwards. I often wonder what became of him and what his occupation was, Tony was always very a ambitious youth and the type who in the American Schools End-of-Year books would be noted “As the person most likely to succeed,” his old pals would agree with this comment (about him).

      Like

Leave a comment

