9 thoughts on “The Leeds Hotel, Stockton

  1. Fond memories staying at the Leeds Hotel in the mid seventies. Several of us stayed there whilst working as electricians on the Redcar Steel Complex when under construction. Loads of memories. The Newlands pub, Fiesta nightclub good times lovely people.

    Like

  2. I miss my pint there when I got off the bus from Hardwick Estate on my way to Tony Kemps who has been a mate of mine for 56 years now. I have lived in America since 1980. I miss my pint and Tony.

    Like

  3. I popped in there regularly on my way to see Tony Kemp, my mate now of 56 years. I got off the bus from Hardwick estate’. I’ve lived in America since 1980. I miss my pint there and Tony Kemp.

    Like

  4. As this hotel & bar was on the way from the S’ton railway station and with the next majorly populated and industrialised town going south being Leeds, such places were named to catch the eye of the travelling public or ‘commercial’ travellers that used the rail system at that time. they may even have been operated by persons from that city. There was another ‘Leeds Hotel’ in the area, it being just opp. M’bro railway station in Zetland Rd. Unfortunately, during WWII it suffered a direct hit by a bomb killing the Manager and several members of staff.

    Like

    • The connection with Leeds and the nearby station could be that the original railway company which built the first station on that site was the Leeds Northern. Could the hotel have been called that at one time?

      Like

Leave a comment

