Group photograph, Tilery Rec?

t14244I think this photograph was taken on Tilery Rec, but I could be wrong…

It shows my father Ernie Fish, the little boy 3rd from the left on the front row. His older cousin Harry Paul has his arms around him. My father looks like he has a skirt on but they were a very baggy shorts!  His brother Wilson Fish is the boy kneeling in the front row, 1st on the right.

My father was born in Swainby Road. They lived at number 67 with my grandparents Martha and Wilson Fish who moved to road when they wed in 1925. They had previously lived in Thistle Green/Housewife Lane and Bolton House Yard areas of Stockton which was demolished c1925.  My grandparents moved out of Swainby Road in the 1950s. Can anyone put names to the other boys in the photograph?

Photograph and details courtesy of Pauline.

10 thoughts on “Group photograph, Tilery Rec?

  1. My dad and his mam and dad lived in Swainby Road – the Wilsons. around this time Clem, Alice, Doreen, Clem, Pat, Norma, June and Tony. Anyone remember them?

    Also my granddad’s sister Margaret Wilson who married Robert Henry Cowley

    Like

    • Hello Brian, Tony was a school mate of mine, we both lived in Swainby but his family moved out when Roseworth was built, I went up a few time to see him,
      what I can tell you about the family is they were all lovely people.
      All the best.
      Derek

      Like

  2. I remember Tom & Daisy very well, from memeory didn’t Tom serve with Kings Own Scottish Borders WW1, Keith Bowes was a good mate of mine, so may lovely people lived in both Danby and Swainby road all those years ago.
    All the best.
    Derek

    Like

    • Hello Derek,
      You are right, grandad joined the KOSB’s at age 16 and was a regular soldier before WW1. He was wounded in 1918 and was in a military hospital at Buxton where he met Daisy working there.

      Like

      • All lovely people, salt of the earth.
        My grandad Robert Casey joined K.O.S.B 1912 with his mate Pat Sullivan, Pat was killed on the Somme, my grandad badly wounded, he had an eventful war did grandad, sent to join 2nd battalion 4 weeks after BEF landed in France 1914, then for reason I could never find answers to he ends up back at Berwick upon Tweed depot hospital rolls, then sent out to Gallipoli, then back into France for the Somme Offensive, just recently I learned why grandad had ended up back at Berwick upon Tweed end of 1914, he had been hit by a German dum-dum bullet,
        he give an interview to a local news paper and told them he hadn’t had the clothes off his back in two months, poor lads.
        All the best.
        Derek

        Like

  3. Swainby Road was built before WWII, when old area’s of Stockton was demolished folks from Housewife lane, Thistlegreen and other parts were moved to Swainby & Danby Road,
    my Casey ancestors were amongst them, would love to know the names of the lads on photo.
    All the best.
    Derek

    Like

  4. Swainby Road and Danby Road estate were built in the 1920’s, my mother moved to number 6 Danby Road in 1925/6 when she was 7 years old from Thistle Green area her name was Dorothy Bowes, Tom and Daisy her parents she had three sisters, Jean, Dinah and Barbara

    Like

  5. Hi Pauline, The photo does fit the Swainby Road side of Lustrum Beck as I recall it back in the mid 1950’s. I recall it being littlered with rubbish, old prams etc. However your comment puzzles me (my memory is not too great). I was sure that the Swainby Road estate was built after the war: the council houses on it are the same design to Harwick, Roseworth etc. The mad rush after the war was to accommodate the troops who had returned home and the baby boom; also get rid of the houses in Portrack / Tilery etc which were falling to bits and whose landlords would not repair. The older houses in the area were just north of Swainby Rd estate and can be picked out on the current Google map.
    I stand ready to be shot down!!!

    Like

    • Hi Derek, By what I can remember being told by my grandparents my father Ernie was born in Swainby Road in 1928. His brother Wilson was also born there in 1926. But again I could be wrong I will try and check this out. They also said they moved there when they wed in 1925 and the estate had just been built.

      Like

Leave a comment

