Class 5 Juniors, Cleveland School c1959

t11210This photograph shows Class 5 Juniors at Cleveland School in Eaglescliffe in 1959.

First row (l-r): Elizabeth Evans, ??, ??, Margaret Phillips, ??, Mrs. N. Fitzsimons, Jean ?, Kathleen Husband, ??, Pheona ?, Carol Rowlings. Second row (l-r): Christine Todd, Ellen Williams, Heather Marshall, Michael ?, ??, David ?, Christopher ?, Carol Pillar, Glenis Todd, ??. Third row (l-r): ??, Kay ?, ??, ??, Elizabeth, Barbara Brecken, Helen Holt, Ann, Judith Melon, ??.

Photograph and details courtesy of Heather Schofield (nee Marshall).

16 thoughts on “Class 5 Juniors, Cleveland School c1959

  1. I am one of the Donaldson family. Three of us went through the school. What memories!
    Miss Chalmers, Miss Hawe, Miss Fitzsimmons, Miss Scott, Miss Cannon, Mrs Henderson, Mrs Kirby Mrs Phillips et al. The Phillips family were a feature of the school.
    There are so many memories. To me the best day was Sports Day followed by the garden party on the Grass tennis court and we all wore our cream dresses and were allowed to be relaxed.
    Also prayers, when we has such inspirational music to listen to before we marched off to lessons.
    Worst were the soggy chips we were forced to eat and I use to end up in Miss Chalmers office saying why can’t you give me brown paper and I will send them off to the starving children of Africa.
    There was Grassy bank and Muddy Bank and out of bounds at the bottom of Grassy bank was mystical as a child.
    Best of all were the school plays. what amazing fun they were and in hindsight those teachers put in so much dedication and love to us all.

    Like

    • I remember you and your sisters Eleanor. Eileen and Marjorie? I think you were the youngest? I lived on Thornaby Road and I can remember going to your house on The Green with Eileen.
      Your father was a doctor at our surgery although he wasn’t ours. We had Dr. Mckay then Dr. Brown.
      I also have very happy memories of my years at Cleveland school (1952 -1964) and many of us in my year group have stayed in touch and even meet up. Last year 12 of them gathered here at my house travelling from far and wide… Spain, Inverness-shire, Dorset, Coventry and also some from Teesside!!!
      I was Catherine Knight and June Williams was in my class along with Hazel Goldsborough, Angela Guest, Joan Guthrie, Megan Phillips… I won’t list them all!

      Like

    • Hi,

      We (The Teesside High Former Student Association) are trying to trace former member of either Queen Victoria High School, Cleveland School and Teesside High. We would love to hear about your time at school and welcome you to join the association. We can be contacted at teessidehighFSA@gmail.com

      Thank you

      Lotti Puryer (Teesside High Class of 2011)

      Like

  2. Hi Heather, I spotted you on this school photo although I went to a different one in Norton. My mother Peg nee Johnson Miller was friends with yours. I saw her doing voluntary work in North Tees a few years ago, and she recognised me. I have lovely memories of playing with you and your brothers in Swainby village many years ago. Tell her I was asking after her – Marilyn nee Miller Wood (I have been known as Mandy since I was about 16). I hated being compared to the then big star, Marilyn Monroe. She was glamorous, I was plain Jane! (I am on the Norton High St School photo class 4B, to the left of the teacher!!)

    Like

      • When I was in the juniors in the 50’s and there were 3 or 4 boys in our class. They left when they were 11. The ones I remember were Peter Dodds, Michael Lofthouse and John Parker.

        Like

      • Hi,

        We (The Teesside High Former Student Association) are trying to trace former member of either Queen Victoria High School, Cleveland School and Teesside High. We would love to hear about your time at school and welcome you to join the association. We can be contacted at teessidehighFSA@gmail.com

        Thank you

        Lotti Puryer (Teesside High Class of 2011)

        Like

  3. I went to Cleveland School from 1950 to 1964. My mother Peggy Williams taught Domestic Science there for many years. For any of you who remember her she is now 94, unfortunately she has Alzheimers and is very frail but living quietly in a care home in Gillingham, Dorset. I still keep in touch with some of the girls in my class. Even though I now live in Devon I have managed to attend a couple of class reunions when we all remembered many happy times. June (Beasley) was Williams

    I still keep in touch with some of the other girls who were in my class. Over the years we have had class reunions which brought back many happy memories.

    Like

Leave a comment

