8 thoughts on “Church Road, Stockton

  1. The last shop on the right hand side of the second picture was my fathers shoe repair business. He moved there in the early 1950`s and carried on the business until the property was demolished to make way for the new swimming baths which I think would be about 1963/64.

    Like

  2. I recollect starting going to a barbers along this stretch after joining Stockton Grammar. I was encouraged to do so by my compatriots in the Sixth Form. Previously I had always gone to Mr Grubbs who had a shop in Tilery near where the railway bridge passed over Norton Road.

    If we are talking about the same barbers, I never really liked the place. And I am a bit surprised to hear that Geordie Hall came from Portrack, where he might have seen me about.

    One of the barbers used to ask “Did I need anything for the weekend, Sir?”. Something which, aged 17, at the time, I did not understand, until a few year’s later. By then the “something” was being looked upon as an obsolete commodity, because of the advance of biological science and engineering.

    For other info on how such times have changed, see my comment in Picture Stockton on the numerous white floaters in the River Tees in the early sixties.

    Like

    • Fred – Geordie Hall lived just a few doors away from my gran who lived at 32 Elliott Street. His son-in-law also worked in the Church Road shop, he was responsible for cutting the hair of children something Geordie himself would never do. When I was a boy brought up in Buxton Street I mostly went to Dickie Wilson’s barber’s shop at the top of Garbutt Street. My dad had his haircut there so insisted his boys should go there too. When I was a little older I went once to Geordie Hall’s to have my haircut, I never returned second time.

      Like

  3. To the right of the lady in the second photograph the building would be the barber’s shop of Geordie Hall which was just past the Half Moon public house. Geordie Hall lived in Elliott Street, Portrack, a few doors along from my gran. Like my father he was a member of the non affiliated Potrack Cons club in Barrett Street.

    Like

      • Mervyn I have spoken with my elder sister, she recalls a family of that name living in Union Street East. The street was part of the area known locally as “the buildings” and just off Portrack Lane next to the hospital.

        Like

  4. I would guess that the picture dates from around 1964 or even a bit later. Could it have been taken when the library moved from Wellington Street? I was certainly visiting the Wellington Street library when I was at Stockton Grammar in 1961. They had a good section on space travel which I used in giving a talk on space flight to Mars.

    A bit later when I was at Dorman Long, in 1963 starting to do Metallurgy, I complained to the Wellington Street staff, that considering the importance of iron and steel in the area (no one at that time used the word Teesside), the library needed some books on metallurgy. And hey presto! This is what happened

    Like

Leave a comment

