21 thoughts on “Fruit & Veg Stall, Stockton Market c1962

  1. Mattherson’s owned the stall and my nana and great nana, Mary McKie later Mary Smith and Violet McKie worked for them for years. They worked in the markets in Stockton, Bishop Auckland and some of the pit villages in County Durham. It seems everyone that used the market remembered them which is lovely! Thanks for sharing this photo!

    Like

  2. I know the lady in the photograph her name was Mary Mckie then (Smith) it’s my nana! Her Mam also worked on the stall called Violet I think.

    Like

  3. I remember this lady. Think it is Sally Mathewson. She ran this market stall with her father and husband. They also had a Shop in Oxbridge Lane opposite the school. Their warehouse was in Norfolk Street off Bowsfield Lane. Her dad and mother lived near me in Fairfield. They were a hard working family. The fruit and veg were collected fresh from Newcasle very early in the morning.
    I remember most of the Fruit and veg stalls because I Repaired all their Trucks.
    These I can Remember on the Stockton also. Middlesbrough Markets… GEORGE SHARP, JIMMY BUCK, MATHEWSONS, ALL THE MASONS FAMILY.. JOHN.. EDDIE ETC.
    DENNIS, EMIL McMAHON, FRED HALLS
    ALL GENUINE PEOPLE WHO HELPED ME TO GET MY BRITTAINS GARAGE, YARM UP AND RUNNING IN 1971. STILL RUNNING NOW 45 YEARS IN OCTOBER.

    Like

    • Sorry I don’t, these photos are some that I have collected over the years, I have many thousands showing towns and villages from all around our area, from Newcastle in the north to Scarborough in the south and as far as Alston in Cumberland in the west, the Darlington, Redcar and Guisborough photos are particularly interesting but of course no good for this site, most of the photos date from between about 1890 and 1955, I also have images of vintage postcards from all around the British Isles, if you, or anybody else have an interest in such things please contact me through Picture Stockton.

      Like

      • Thank you Bruce Coleman, it sound like you have a very interesting collection of photographs and good of you to share some of them with us.

        Like

  4. Sally Matthewson lived in New Waverley Street in Parkfield. In the late fifties I delivered her meat every week from Baldwin’s butchers shop where I worked on Saturdays. An older person by then she was very friendly and chatty, but she was the only one of my customers, as I remember, who never gave me anything at Christmastime.

    Like

  5. The face of the lady in the second picture brings back some memories for me – the surname ‘McKie’ is ringing a bell with me, and would it be ‘Sally Matthews’ stall, or am I dreaming, I wonder? Does anyone remember these names?

    Like

  6. In the 1950s I would go with my mam on Xmas Eve to buy our fruit and veg for the Xmas dinner and a tree which was decorated in the evening. This was the start of Xmas for us not in August or even earlier today.

    Like

Leave a comment

