4 thoughts on “Demolition of Roseworth Library

  1. Site now occupied by a Heron food outlet. When Roseworth Library first opened C1956 it had at times to operate a queue system for the children’s section until the novelty began to wear off a little. We would hover near to the counter looking for borrowers returning the ‘Famous Five’ books,all ready to ‘pounce’ for a loan.I seem to remember the first librarian at Roseworth as being a youngish man. Hardwick Estate built from the late 1950s and where I lived never managed to get a library of its own. Perhaps a sign of the changing times.

    Like

  2. This breaks my heart! I lived in Hardwick. A large family with not a book in the house. I spent many happy hours in Roseworth Library. All my friends went to university… I am always proud to say “I was educated at Roseworth library”… So sad.

    Like

Leave a comment

