11 thoughts on “The Flying Scotsman, Stockton Station

  1. Is it in the bay platform? The bridge in the background looks like the one which headed over towards Dundas Street from the gasworks, so the photographer would have been on the bay platform with FS on the mainline?

    Like

    • It is in the bay,the photographer is on the up platform, the people next to the Flying Scotsman are on the down platform, and the engine is in the bay.

      Like

      • Ah yes, I can see that now; I had forgotten about the bay that side (I was thinking about the bay platforms closest to the station building)

        Like

  2. 25th May 1968 is correct, the Railtour website ‘Six Bells Junction’ confirms the date of the tour. Organised by the Teesside Centre of the Stephenson Locomotive Society it started at Stockton (hence in the bay platform in the photo) and ran via the coast to Newcastle, Edinburgh and to Dunfermline. On the return journey 4472 blew a superheater element north of Newcastle and was assisted back to Darlington by Deltic diesel 9007 ‘Pinza’. All the details and two photos are on the Six Bells Junction website, including timings and even the consist of the coaching stock.
    Following the end of BR steam in August 1968, steam was banned until BR relented in 1975.

    Like

    • Thanks for the 6 bells info Dave I have been able to find a derailment I had at Port Clarence signal box on Saturday 28/09/1963 when a engine on a train spotters special derailed due to the snout of the points being out of gauge, I have also found a photo of the derailed engine which was 61037 the whole tour was delayed 2 hours till they got a diesel unit to take them forward I don’t think they were that bothered though as they got some great photos and then spent the waiting time in the Royal pub which at the time was almost opposite the derailment. The goods agent at the time Ernie Temple was told the points were never used and in fact they had to be barred across and clamped but he said as it was a pre planned route no deviations must take place despite a x over being available a couple of hundred yards down the line that was used daily, still never mind I made a lot of overtime. Happy days

      Like

      • I am pleased you found the information useful Gordon. I enjoy researching railway history so when an opportunity arises I pursue it to the point of boring people I’m afraid. Although I left Stockton in 1948 when I was six, then ten years in Warrington and in Carlisle ever since, my thirst for knowledge about Stockton’s railway heritage is as strong as ever. Aided and abetted of course by this incredible website and expert input from the likes of yourself. My early observations were from Railway Street where my grandmother lived, so I am very much a ‘North Shore’ fan. Sorry to hear of ‘Jairou’s mis-hap, it was a stalwart of 51E when I knew it.

        Like

  3. This is a great photograph showing an icon of rail travel in bygone days. As a lad and somewhat of a train-spotter for such famous icons – The Silver Link and The Silver Jubilee also come to mind, Where would I have gone – on foot – to the closest rail line that marked the regular journey taken by these beauties. I can’t offer any answer to the previous writer’s query as to a more probable date for the photo.

    Like

  4. I wonder whether this is actually September 1968 or perhaps earlier. Steam on BR lines had ended on 11th August 1968 with the famous ’15 Guinea’ Special, and I always thought that there was then a strict embargo on steam on BR lines which lasted until about 1971. I could be wrong but I believe this photo was taken sometime prior to September 1968, and perhaps someone could confirm this or put me right!

    Like

    • Martin I have photos of this time with the same woman in the red dress and they are dated 25/05/1968 hope this helps I think I may have posted them on this site.

      Like

Leave a comment

