5 thoughts on “Tanker Wagon, Billingham Station c1979

  1. Possibly ammonia, it is too blurred to be sure. I was one of the signalmen at the Belasis box 1971-2, that is the next box along from Billingham Station on the ICI and Port Clarence line and if my memory serves me well I think that anhydrous ammonia tanks had a broad yellow line around the tank..
    Arthur Blakemore

    Like

  2. I worked at ICI until 1979 I think they would be carrying Ammonia. I was an Instrument Technician that worked at the Ammonia loading station.

    Like

    • ICI did manufacture Carbon Dioxide and send it out by rail but as the other replies stated they are Ammonia tankers, returning empty to the Billingham works.

      Like

Leave a comment

