43 thoughts on “Unknown – any ideas?

  1. This photo precedes the supermarket being built in 1980. The road is narrow on Billingham Road and the demolition are probably making way for the road widening and improvements to Tanners Bank. The gradient was also improved – (It was a really steep before) Demolitions would include the old school wall and railings and maybe the old toilet block (which approx backed onto the joiners shop in Rowan yard.) The new highway chopped 30 feet off the school yard and school nursery garden. We lost the cast iron railings ( memorably Mr Reid’s description of how you could be impaled on them if you ever stood on the wall). To put a date on the photo, I was running around in the old full-size school yard in first year juniors in 1958? so when I tripped in one of the pot-holes and sprained my ankle it was very memorable indeed. The new concrete retaining wall and new surface to the school yard was constructed a year or so after that time, so the photo could be as early as 1961. The school finally closed around 1980 and then the supermarket built, this “new” concrete retaining wall was modified for the supermarket and part of it broken through to form the steps and access onto Tanners Bank.
    Other references above? I remember Edgar Parsons but I only remember Mr and Mrs Mary Bottomley (not Peckitts) ever being on the corner of Mill St – as a grocery / off licence.- I used to take the empties back for the 3d’s. The only Peckitts shop I recall was the one in the picture and yes no kids were allowed in there.
    The two charming old ladies you recall serving in the sweet shop were the Misses Elcoate at no 62 High St ) Like many shops of that time and like Bottomley’s shop, their front room was the shop and they lived out the back and above the shop premises. In around the mid 1980’s? the Elcoates finally shut their sweetie shop and retired. When the last sister died the premises were bought as a family home and happily the room up-front is once more a Aladdin’s cave of delight, albeit in the guise of the charming Bailey’s Emporium.

    Like

  2. I used to get a haircut at Lenny Shaws Hairdresser, it was opposite our house on 59 Billingham Road, adjacent to the Red Lion Pub.

    He was then the best Barber in Norton, albeit the only one !!

    Lenny was a quite man, with a stilff left leg, my Dad knew him well as also Peckits the Grocer and Marky Trotters next to the Bank opposite the Highland Lad, fond memories of a sometimes mis-spent youth !

    Like

    • Hello Terence, hope you are doing ok, yes the shop in question I’ve past it lots of times, but I couldn’t remember where it was until you mentioned it. Terry you have to admit he probably didn’t make any money if he was waiting for you to get a haircut.

      Like

  3. Eventually there was a ladies hairdressers opened next door; was it called Doris Highland’s?
    In the early 80’s I seem to recall Jack Edwards moving into this barbers, having relocated from his old combined barbers/tobacconists shop near to The Highland Laddie? (That became another gents hairdressers called Garfields last time I was up north?)

    Like

  4. I joined the Norton branch of the Territorial Army when I was seventeen and that summer I had to go on my first two week compulsory maneuvers that we did every year. I knew they were sticklers about haircuts so I got mine cut the day before, quite short, or so I thought. However the officer in charge didn’t quite see it that way and I was sent to this barber for another shot at it. So I had two haircuts in two days.

    Like

    • Can beat that Jim, three in one day. The S/ Major decided my golden locks unmanly, hair cut, a trim and hiding it under my bush hat not good enough, second one, shaved sides and tucked a bit under the hat, no, told barber to shave the lot off and reported back. Oh my goodness, not pleased in the slightest, you are on a charge for dumb insolence he screamed. My punishment CO’s wife’s bodyguard and driver, now that is what I call serious punishment, she was a harridan.
      I spent many good times in Norton Drill Hall, as a Cadet for five years and member of the shooting team. There were also dances and parties there in my time. Going back last year to watch my Grandson pass out as a Cadet it had hardly changed, brought back some great memories.

      Like

  5. That is settled then, we all know where it is but do we know the history. I could be wrong though I do think this was a small sweet shop when I went to the Norton Board School, Hunters (Huntons) Dairy was next to the main entrance to the school and they sold sweets as well, the Boy was in our class.
    Mother would walk with me into Middlesbrough on fine days and that would be the High Street, South Road, Lambert’s Farm, I think I incorrectly called it Lumley’s in another post, Lumley’s was in Norton High Street, then over the Newport Bridge. In the back of my mind is a memory of stopping and buying sweets in that shop which became the Barbers much later.
    The Red Lion was a Coaching Inn with Stables for exchange horses as well as bed and board. Across the road where the Drill Hall was built before the war was the other Norton Bungalow Tea Rooms one being at the bottom of Beaconsfield Street Mr Carrol used it as a store room and it had me puzzled for years not knowing exactly what it was. Reminded me of India with its veranda covered in and the fancy wood work. Dad told me that as a Youth he had tea there although it would be a special occasion.
    The bank was once used by the Norton Tannery to dry out skins, where the allotments are now was wicker work frames the skins were hung on, they were repaired year by year until there was such a thickness it acted like a wick when the bottoms flooded and sucked the water up causing a flood at the top, Dad told me they had to cut and remove all the old frames to stop the water rising, it must have been quite smelly at times.
    The A19 was the main route to the East Coast and was all single carriage way until the Billingham Bypass was built before the war, two carriage ways and a cycle track, a vision of the future, a long time into the future as it turned out. All traffic to Billingham went down Tanners bank, the bus drivers with workers for ICI having fun on icy mornings, it was much steeper then, it was leveled a couple of times. Wades Garage was at the bottom across from Beaconsfield Street, some houses built pre war flooded at times Jack Edwards the Barber lived in one and Edgar Parsons Barber lived in Beaconsfield Road, we were quite well served by Barbers as well as Butchers, Norton High Street being almost self contained with shops you could get most things you wanted.
    Norton was a busy place at one time, the main road to the North though by my time it was Market Gardens, just about every piece of flat land grew produce and much of the rest Small Holdings like the one I grew up with, Large garden pigs hens geese ducks, rabbits and the odd goat, you lived off it and very well too.

    Like

      • Peckets shop was on the corner of Mill Street across from the George and Dragon, that was vegetables plus some general grocery, I remember Mr and Mrs Pecket (Peckit). There is a vague memory of two elderly Ladies, could well be wrong, the sweetshop idea does persist though.

        Like

        • Your right about the Peckitts, it was next to the old Post Office was and is now the Library. They also had a pig farm at Carlton between the village and the railway station. The other shop was old man Peckit who had the shop opposite the Red Lion r/about. He lived in Nelson Square. He did a prison service of which I won’t talk about which left him using a wheel chair. He lived in Nelson Square just off the Green. You would often see him in the chair at the entrancve to Nelson Square and the Green.

          Like

  6. Len Shaws hairdressers was opposite the Red Lion on Billingham Road just around the corner from the High Street. He had a very peculiar chair. The person having his haircut sat in the chair and fastened to it was a chair for him. He sat on it and he could move around the main chair using his feet to mobilise it.

    Like

  7. Well known local gymnast Lloyd Reedhead used to live in one of the end houses at the top of the bank. I knew him from Stockton Billingham Tech back in the 60s. We were in the same engineering class

    Like

  8. I have had many a haircut there, I lived at the bottom of what used to be also known as Tanners bank.
    This photon is c. early to mid 60’s.

    Like

  9. It’s at the roundabout in Norton looking towards Billingham. The village is to the left and the Army Centre is to the right

    Like

  10. It’s on the roundabout top of of Billingham Road opposite the Red Lion pub, I believe he was known as ‘slasher Shaw’ for his hair cutting technique!

    Like

    • Yes top of the bank opposite the Red Lion in Norton its the gents barbers my auntie Annies husband used they lived on Norton Green off Norton Avenue used to be the Fiesta club on corner

      Like

  11. I would say that this is the roundabout at Norton. The camera direction is towards Billinghan. The roundabout is adjacent The Red Lion Pub. The Leonard Shaw, gents hairdresser is now “La Parlour”, unless it has change ownership recently.

    Like

  12. Looks like the top of “Tanners Bank”, and the demolition site next door, would have been Norton Board School, now a Supermarket. Taken, at a guess from the Red Lion Roundabout.

    Like

  13. I believe that this is a photo taken from the outside of the Norton Red Lion looking down the road to Billingham

    Like

  14. Yes, this is the top of Tanners Bank in Norton, the photo was taken on the roundabout opposite the Red Lion. The photo was taken before the road became a dual-carriagway which I believe was !962-63. E. Welsh

    Like

  15. Would love to know where this is. My first thought was it is the Red Lion roundabout in Norton looking towards Billingham Bottoms many years ago but there is probably more of a bank there.

    Like

  16. Len’s barbers was on the roundabout at the top of Norton Bank opposite the Red Lion. He lived in Billingham and he had a son also called Len. I believe that the son died in his teens.

    Like

Leave a comment

