16 thoughts on “Ashmore House

  1. My first place of employment upon leaving school in 1971.
    Began as an office junior in the post room – lots of filing also the occasional foray into the draughtsmens office with the tea trolley. Progressed to being a typist in the purchasing dept. My boss was Pat Hogarth (sadly deceased) and I remember Mr Sizer and Ken Ions. I only worked there until 1974 but happy times.

    Like

    • Christine, were you a junior with Anne Pevler and Liz Summerfield? I lost touch with a lot of people when Ashmores sent me to Algeria to work in 1973 and they had moved on by my return late in 1974. It was fun to go to work back then. Best wishes. Alan

      Like

      • Hi Alan. Yes I remember Anne Pevler – I used to get the bus from Thornaby with her and I think Liz Summerfield lived in Roseworth? I got a good grounding in office work with day release and night school which stood me in good stead for the future. I recently saw Bob bailey who was extremely pleased that I had recognised him.
        Best wishes also.

        Like

        • Christine, really nice to hear that Bob is still around. He must be quite an age now. He was/is a lovely fella. I remember being concussed during the inter departmental 5a side tournament and he took care of me. Where did you finish up working?? All the best. Alan

          Like

  2. I started there as a drawing office apprentice back in 1966 in the electrical drawing office and our chief was Frank Holmes. Look back with some affection, but…

    Like

  3. My pal was a fitter at South Works and they finished early on Friday about 1.30pm whilst we in the offices at Yarm Road were there until 5.10pm. I used to watch him with envy as he rode past on his Lambretta. South Works was sold to Wheels but closed sometime in the early 70’s and we moved down to the old Power Gas offices in Bowesfield Lane.

    Like

    • Yes, currently the offices of Jacksons Law Firm. That’ll be Yarm Road in the foreground. I guess its part of Visqueen that can be seen in the background.
      Was this called Ashmore House? as well as the Offices on Richardson Road?
      I guess it was the offices of Power Gas Corp., before being taken over by Ashmores?

      Like

      • This was the offices Ashmores Projects team, the South Works had their own offices not far from this spot towards Bowesfield Lane which was near to the Fabrication and Machine shops of the South Works Complex. Power Gas on the other Hand were situated in Bowesfield Lane itself at the Bottom End. The way it worked as I remember it was that Power Gas did the total overall Projects, Ashmores Projects did individual Projects as to supplying a Blast Furnace, and Ashmores South Works Bid on Manufacturing the individual Items such as a Blast Furnace, or a series of Pressure Vessels, or Heat Exchangers etc.
        As has been mentioned previously a great deal of development work went on at Ashmores South Works in the Fabrication of all of the new metals coming on stream in the early Fifties and Sixties such as Monel, Inconel, all the different types of Stainless Steel 316 321, 347 405 etc, and all the High Carbon and Chrome Moly steels, Aluminium and Titanium steel, as well as the low temperature steels . All these new metals required a different fabrication and welding techniques as well as Pre Heating and Post Heating treatment. A Local Company a World Leader in Fabrication, sadly no more only a mere mention in History…

        Like

      • That was 1974, when Barclaycard expanded their operations in Middlesbrough’s Cleveland Centre to take on these offices too.
        I was one of the first of the workforce to move over to Yarm Road. They were very smart offices, but a bit remote at lunchtimes!

        Like

    • Hi David, my dad – Albert Wilson worked there for years, ending up in the first aid block, I used to go there when he was on night shift to do my homework

      Like

      • I started there as a drawing office apprentice back in 1966 in the electrical drawing office and our chief was Frank Holmes. Look back with some affection, but…

        Like

Leave a comment

