18 thoughts on “Trinity Street, Stockton?

  1. Some how it doesn’t seem to matter whether it is Trinity Street or Lightfoot Grove. It is in Stockton from years gone by and it generates a lovely warm glow that this is what we remember from our past. If, as age takes over, we find comfort in these images they are worth their weight in gold. I was 5 when I came to live in the town and 21 when I moved to London where I still live today.
    Stockton will live forever in my memory.

    Like

    • Roy you mentioned in a previous message that you worked at Head Wrightson was that in R & D with myself Bob Middleton and Colin Waugh. I remember some great times there in 1957

      Like

      • Hello Dave
        At last, someone has replied that remembers me. I am delighted. I came to Head Wrightsons in early spring of 1957 and left in July 1961 when I moved, temporarily, to Plymouth where I joined the Police. Yes indeed, I worked in the R&D so let me rattle off some names. I worked on a daily basis with Don Fletcher who was a good friend of Alban McClusky. I remember a Dave who was black haired, went to Middlesbrough High School and was into motoring with his Dad. Both were members of Middlesbrough Motor Club. I remember Bob Middleton. He went to Stockton Grammar before coming to Heads and Bob and I became good mates at work. Colin Waugh I remember as a curly haired lad who was keen on cricket and a lad called Harold who had a dry sense of humour. Another good lad was called Ken who, like me, was a keen cyclist and we used to go riding together on summer evenings. Do you remember a ginger haired chap called Martin who had a little Ford Estate car, went rock-climbing, grew shallots, and liked Trad-Jazz. He had musical debates with another thin chap who liked Dave Brubeck and shared a Vauxhall Victor with his Dad. He worked under Ken Dawson who came to work on a combination. The boss at this time was a nice man with glasses called Bob McDonald. In the admin office were two young women, one called Lesley and another, I think, called Beryl who lived at Hutton Rudby. The lab photographer lived out at Marske and came to work on a Norton Dominator 99. The girl I shall always remember was called Olwyn. An attractive girl who suddenly started dressing in a very glamorous way. She was really nice.

        Well Dave, I hope that has given you a clue. I am sure we must have been contemporaries if you remember Bob and Colin. I agree, I enjoyed life at Heads in the late 1950s and still think about them now with great affection. I am now 75 and live in Epsom, Surrey, but usually, once a year, visit Billingham to see my late brother’s family. Do you still live in Teesside? Please keep in touch.

        Like

        • Hi Roy
          Good to hear from you after all these years, the Dave you are thinking of was Dave Hodgson I think, as I remember him being one of the few people who had a car at the time. I did projects with Dr Aston answer Rip Kirkby down in R&D around the time you worked down there. I remember all the names you have mentioned especially the glamorous girl, do you remember the 2 Anne’s who worked in the lab where the dark room was along with Ray Hargreaves? I left Teesside a long ago and now live in Buckinghamshire. I will look out for your posts as we both seem to have similar fond memories of Teesside as it was although it has changed considerably over the years.

          Like

          • Hello Dave

            I remember now Dave Hodgson, keen motorist. I remember Ray Hargreaves too but struggling to recall the two Anne’s. Another enquirer asked about Don Fletcher. I don’t think he was ever a referee but I remember him having a 1948 Ford Anglia that we made a heater for – and it worked. He was going out with a nice girl called Myrna. Rip Kirkby I remember as a big chap who wore a duffel coat an college scarf, he was always jolly as most of us were at that time despite life not always being bubbly. Do you remember Sam Butler? He had a ginger beard that was pointed with a fly-away mustache that made him look like one of the Three Musketeers.

            I never thought the day would come when I get dewy-eyed about working at Heads. Nostalgia is such sweet sorrow isn’t it?

            Like

              • Yes she lived in Trafalgar Street at the time she worked there, and Alan Simpson was the photographer if my memory is correct. The other Ann was I think called Tremblett and lived near Ropner Park.

                Like

                • Hello Dave,
                  Thank you for remembering the photographer’s name, Alan Simpson. I was mad about motorbikes at the time and Alan had this Norton Dominator 99 which was well out of my reach. When he arrived for work in the morning, dressed in a full-length motorcycle mac, white silk scarf and white helmet, I though he looked great on his Domi. I couldn’t afford a bike but eventually bought my first one when I moved to London at 21. I later became a free-lance writer for several bike magazines and a police motorcyclist when I was in the Met. When I retired from the police I became the motorcycling adviser for the London Boroughs. Now at the age of 75, I am still riding. My present bike is a Honda Deauville, a 700cc touring model. I have a trip to Cornwall planned for Spring – can’t wait.

                  If there are any more old HW-ites reading these posts please post a note here.

                  Like

  2. Not Trinity Street, they have very nice brick arches over their front doors. Looks like its the next street along, making this 1 & 2 Lightfoot Grove. Now clad in exterior insulation but enough of the original features still showing to make it recognisable.

    Like

  3. Not Trinity Street. Check on Google Earth, The upstairs windows are round topped on Trinity Street unlike the flat-topped ones in this picture.

    Like

  4. I’m afraid its not Trinity Street, the houses there have a brick arch feature over the front doors.
    I think you mean Lightfoot Grove, its Nos 1 & 2.
    Despite the houses now being externally covered in that awful white insulation, it can be seen that the distinctive chimney pots are still recognisable on Streetview!

    Like

Leave a comment

