4 thoughts on “The Garrick Hotel, Stockton c1969

  1. My mother worked as a cleaning lady in the Garrick sometime during the fifties. One afternoon during my last visit to Stockton in 2015 I went in and had a look around. A bit of a dump now, unfortunately.

    Like

  2. Further up Yarm Lane, just past the hotel, was a dry cleaners (anyone remember what it was called?) and my family used to live in the flat upstairs. This would be around 1950. There was no mains lecky, just gas lights, and no hot water. We lived there for a year or so and then moved up to Roseworth Estate.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This image must have been taken at 6 o’clock on a Sunday morning. In the 1950s I used to go cycling on Sundays. With my sandwiches in a tin box and a Thermos in my saddlebag I would set of a six for somewhere like Whitby, Richmond or High Force. The streets were empty, just like Yarm Lane in this shot. Thank you Neal, you have brought a tear to the eye again.

    Like

Leave a comment

