6 thoughts on “Debenhams, Stockton High Street c1986

  1. Was this the shop, when it was Robinson’s with the vacuum tubes that carried cash payments and receipts in little cylinders from the counters to a centralised bureau? It was fascinating to watch and apparently stopped stealing by the staff, but it made transactions very slow.

    Over to Frank Mee!

    Like

  2. I also spy Burtons, The Tailor of Taste, in the adjoining building, whose made to measure suits were affordable and smart in my early manhood.

    Like

  3. It’s a momentary pleasure to share the memory of Robinson’s Store with others of (around) my age! My Mother’s cousin, Laura Stokell, was employed there as a store clerk in her earlier years. If my memory is correct my mother bought the last washing machine from Robinson’s (tub on wheels with swisher going back and forth on which was mounted a multi-position wringer that would squeeze the clothing in both directions – by its own power!). I say “last” because production ceased at the beginning of WW II.
    I am somewhat surprised that no anecdotes of Debenhams is relayed here.

    Like

  4. I remember this store when it was called Robinsons. When my Dad was no longer well enough to continue working at Dorman Longs he got a lighter job here as a stock controller in 1950. He died of a heart-attack in 1951. The store was regarded by many as quite an up-market retailer with large windows that were always well dressed. On the ground floor there was a staircase leading to the first floor. The stairs had a balcony above the lift entrance. The first floor was the ladies department where my Mum used to drag me round looking at the coats and dresses she could never afford. The tall building behind, just visible in this shot, was Robinsons water tower I think. My strongest memory of the shop was the toy department that had an abundance of Dinky toys but, like Mum, I couldn’t afford those either.

    Like

    • I remember it as Robinson’s too and I got a temporary job there working in the kitchen when I was a student! They had a tea break in the morning with lovely buttered scones! It’s what kept me going!!

      Like

  5. Originally Robinson’s, Mrs Robinson lived in Hutton Rudby, a lovely lady I worked at her house & also worked at the shop many times when it was Debenhams.

    Like

Leave a comment

