5 thoughts on “Fruit and Veg Stall, Stockton Market c1957

  1. My uncle, Jim Carrol had a fruit and veg stall on the market. It would have been near where the photograph was taken, because all the fruit and veg stalls were in one area. Later on he acquired a large trailer, instead of a covered stall. I had a part time job on Saturdays and some Wednesdays, helping out in the warehouse on West row, and bringing fruit and veg down to the trailer on a barrow. My brother John worked with Jim for many years after leaving school in the late 1940’s. He was known as John Carrol. Later on my mother worked with Jim on the market. The market these days is only a shadow of it’s former self.

    Like

  2. I was thirty then, versus your seven, and still become nostalgic when a poster such as you can publish a great view of the Stockton I knew as a growing lad (and older). I left it all behind in the year of this pic.

    Like

    • I Knew a Haslock at Richard Hind 1941-45 a younger sibling maybe?
      Nostalgia is a wonderful thing, you only remember the best bits, if you returned to Stockton today you would find a clean lively place very forward looking. So many old Market Towns stuck in the past are fading away, Stockton cleaned up the River, the High Street and brought in a new look that my Grandchildren love with all the events organised around the Town.
      Some do not like it and yearn for a past long gone, we all have our opinions. My memories of Schooling working and living there told me it needed a lot of TLC and it did happen over a long period of time.
      I loved it then but even more now, you cannot live in the past.
      Frank.

      Like

  3. Back in the good old days I was seven then and often at Stockton market with my mam and when I was younger I remember her taking me to the cattle market to see the animals, good days.

    Like

    • Stuart,
      I’m interested in knowing a little more about your family background. My maternal grandmother had a sister who married a Alfred Highfield in 1899. If you ask Picture Stockton they will give my email address for any answers.

      Like

Leave a comment

