Vane Arms Dinner Menu c1964

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The dinner menu for the Vane Arms for 15th April 1964. All in all not a bad spread for under 80p in today’s money. I was given this menu by my aunt Nora Hough who worked at the Vane Arms for many years.

The real attraction for myself is that a very famous person was dining at the Vane Arms that night and he was good enough to sign the reverse side of the menu which reads ‘To Martin with best wishes Len Hutton’. Len Hutton is out the very top drawer of English cricketers and his 364 scored for England against Australia in 1938 remains the top test match score by an English player. Len Hutton became Sir Leonard in 1956 after he retired from the game.

Images and details courtesy of Martin Birtle.

4 thoughts on “Vane Arms Dinner Menu c1964

  1. Hi Martin I read your post about The Vane Arms is your aunt still alive? My mother and father managed this hotel in 1968 Mr James Irvine Wilson and Mrs Anna Wilson my father died after I was born I would love information on him.
    Mhairi Siobhain Ainsworth

    Like

  2. Talking about Distinguished Guests, I had lunch there a few times (just kidding by the way). My Mam & Dad would take me along in the late 1950s on a Saturday. A real treat for a young lad. I loved it. Damned shame that the Vane Arms & Black Lion were pulled down. Progress?, not at all!

    Like

  3. Len Hutton (Sir Len) first professional to captain England – Winston Churchill a big fan.
    Plagued by back problems throughout his magnificent career – Vane Arms could not gave have had a more distinguished guest.

    Like

Leave a comment

