12 thoughts on “American Tavern, Stockton

  1. I was best man at my friend (Vic Franks) wedding and we held his bachelor night there. We were regular drinkers there on a weekend.

    Like

  2. I remember it well, like the chaps above I also started my career as a budding alcoholic in this establishment, cant quite remember the landlords name, was a little portly and had a florid complexion…..there was a water colour sketch of him behind the bar for many years with the inscription “mine host” I think there was also one of his wife too. I also seem to remember a story that the pub was to be demolished at one time…..only the demolition company knocked down the pub over the road by mistake, could have been the Phoenix hotel?

    Like

  3. I played guitar with Bert Weedon in the American Tavern, he was playing in a pantomime at the Globe, it was winter 1972. He was not such a great guitarist actually, I took a 15 year old lad to meet him in the American Tavern one night hoping that Bert would be able to help this really good young guitarist get a break somewhere. After the young lad, played a couple of tunes, Bert got up and just left, he had been completely upstaged by a 15 year old!

    Like

  4. I always liked the disco on a Friday night. It was a great pub to use. I was sorry to see it demolished. The picture would have been taken in 1976/7. I know this a I worked on the home constructions of the houses in the forefront.

    Like

  5. Remember it well, with a group of mates as teenagers in the 60’s it would be one of our first watering holes on Saturday’s prior to having a walk around the High Street.

    Like

  6. This was the first pub I got thrown out of, for being underage. I remember thinking that the landlord wasn’t daft, we got served and were then given our marching orders.

    Like

  7. …My ‘local’ in 1965/6… as a 15 year-old schoolboy, underage drinker and virtually penniless, I would sit in the back room with older, ‘working’ chums who didn’t mind getting me the odd ‘pint-touch’ to see out the evenings for me… what great guys they were – and so kind – and the landlord, so ‘understanding’!… We’d occasionally head for the ‘Phoenix’ pub, which was nearby.

    Like

Leave a comment

