22 thoughts on “Advert for Rossi’s Continental Cafe

  1. As kids we always pronounced it “Ross Eyes” but seeing Status Quo member Francis Rossi as part of the family it looks like we’ve been saying it all wrong all these years

    Like

  2. I remember Rossi’s, but more often my mum would take me to Pacitto’s. I loved the clear glass cups and saucers and lovely milky coffee, which we were able to have lashings of brown sugar in, something we never had at home!
    Now I live in Dorset and lo and behold there is a Rossi’s on The Esplanade in Weymouth which sells the same great homemade ice cream!
    Probably distant relatives of the same family?
    I also heard that the Stockton Rossi’s were distant relatives of Francis Rossi of Status Quo fame, who I know were also an ice cream making family.

    Like

    • Hi. I remember Rossi’s and the clear cups. Used to go to Pacitto’s a lot as a child. I now live in Rotherham. Miss the coffee and ice cream. Have read that Pacitto’s is now a tea room. Sandra

      Like

  3. As a pupil at nearby Holy Trinity School during the war we would occasionally call at Rossi’s for delicious ice cream when it was available. Otherwise a lemonade or something similar. It was near the Number 4 bus stop from where we caught a bus home.
    Brian Bucknall

    Like

  4. My Mam worked there when I was a child and I remember school holidays spending time there, helping wash pots upstairs, watching sandwiches being made, having a meal made by Mrs Rossi sat round a large table upstairs, I also remember Mario and watched how the delicious ice cream was made. Happy days 😃

    Like

  5. To this day I am still enjoy GENUINE ice cream, in the 50’s/60’s I would alternate between Pacitto’s, Rea’s, Rossi’s, mainly calling in at the cafes near the Empire end of the High Street and Yarm Lane, they were all within 100yds of each other, there were no winners, each had their own unique flavour, whether you had a sugar cornet or chocolate wafers with a flake.
    Going into Paleschi’s in Tilery Road for a bowl full of ice cream on a Sunday, a great dessert at home with Mam, Dad & Brothers. The ice cream making tubs were set in the counter, just so fresh.

    Like

  6. I used to help Mario Rossi at his ice cream factory in William Street some nights after school, and also help out on the vans at the weekend. This was the early 60s when the Rossi traditional ice cream vans were struggling to compete against Mr Whippy.
    I remember Mario used to give me frozen blocks of ice cream, which I would take home on the no.8 bus to Ragworth for my Mam & Dad to enjoy!

    Like

  7. Yes, of course I remember Rossi’s ice cream, also Pacitto’s (Stockton and Redcar) and di Duca’s in Oxbridge, my “local” as a kid. All businesses totally run by family members. Yes, the first two were a “cut” above, and I recall my older sister taking me to one or the other for an ice-cream treat whilst she sat with a coffee (and a cigarette!) chatting with her girl-friend. A la Posh! Weren’t those hissing coffee machines the fore-runners of Espresso?
    I also recall Moffatt – it was Bond and Moffat in my day – the state of the art of dentistry in those days was limited to extractions, I believe!

    Like

    • Was Moffat the dentist with one arm missing who had a hook replacement which he anchored your neck with to make an extraction? I remember having some cracked front teeth due to being headed by a robust centre half and going for treatment to the one armed Dentist, who proceeded to extract the four front teeth without ever discussing what the treatment would consist of… On waking up and finding my four front teeth missing I was shocked, and could not believe his rough method of dental treatment. It would not occur under the present dental treatment system.

      Like

  8. The Stockton on Tees official guide is where this comes from along with lots of other interesting pictures and ads…It was difficult to find a date anywhere but the General information section gives town population as 74,024 and rateable values as of years 1952 /1953.

    Like

  9. Pre-war Mother would take me to Stockton with her, Norton duck pond to Town Hall on the “0” bus then being a dressmaker we would visit all the Haberdashery Stalls collecting buttons ribbons and cottons sometimes cloth for a dress and end up at Rossi’s, She would have a coffee and I would get an ice-cream, Mother thought it the height of opulence sitting in what was at the time quite a posh place and she loved Coffee as they made it bringing back memories of when she was what she called a Skivvy at Scutterskelf Hall, actually she started at 13 as a kitchen maid under the cook her Aunt Lizzy, they apparently had coffee for breakfast. Dad thought it was filthy foreign stuff so we never had it at home. Then we would visit all they other stalls for the weeks supplies and back on the bus home. The Ice-cream was the best and it was often a toss up as to whether I went to the Saturday morning tuppenny rush at the Avenue Norton or the Town with Mother, Roy Rodgers, Pearl White or Rossi’s ice-cream, what choices we had to make at a young age.
    When Italy came into the war Rossi’s shop was trashed by people who knew no better as were some of the other businesses in the Town, some of the shop owners had been here years and some born here, the name was all it took to enrage some hot heads.
    The Continental Cafe came back to life and we still went in for a break and it was often a meeting place for us youngsters as was Pacitto’s on Yarm Lane, both places being quite opulent in decor and of course a now and again treat for cash strapped teenagers, raking our penny’s together for one Knickerbocker glory and four spoons.
    The picture shows the advert for Preston Hall so possibly late 1960’s the shop went in the rebuilding of that side of the High Street and the name seemed to vanish with it. Many things I remembered pre and post war vanished although the memories last, a different time and a very different Town, I wonder what it will be like 80 years from now (if I last that long)?
    Frank.

    Like

  10. I agree lovely ice cream. We use to visit Preston Park often in summer and always had one there and the van use to come around Newham Grange Estate. The treats of our childhood which are just an everyday thing these days.

    Like

  11. I can remember going in here when it was a proper coffee bar, Pacitto’s seemed for the older people Rossi’s for the young folk

    Like

  12. I can remember Rossi’s ice cream van when I lived in Bickersteth Street and Rettenden Close, Roseworth then Tithe Barn Road, Hardwick. Rossi’s shop/café I believe was in Bishopton Lane or as we called it Bishy Lane. Where have all those good times gone? I get very nostalgic about my childhood in Stockton, like seeing the Beatles at the Globe Theatre on November 22nd 1963 I was 11 years old a magical time. I could go on but thank you Stockton for my childhood.

    Like

  13. Great icecream. I remember it at the top end of the high street not too far from the Empire.
    I will never understand why the old High Street was demolished to construct the shopping centre. Surely it would have been better sited off Portrack Lane.
    The old town had character and a great history. Look at what been left in its place?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I remember it well, my parents took me there when I was a small boy for some hot milk, when Moffat the dentist gave me too much gas when I was getting a tooth pulled. Rossi was also our mobile ice cream van in Roseworth.

    Like

Leave a comment

