Thornaby Remembrance Parade and Service, Sunday 12 November 2017

Pictures taken at the Thornaby Remembrance Parade and Service on Sunday 12 November 2017. The two gents stood in front of the Cenotaph on Acklam Road are Thornaby boys F/L Allan Huitson RAFVR(T) and Derek Brittain who were pupils together at Westbury Street Junior School.

Photographs and details courtesy of David Thompson.

One thought on “Thornaby Remembrance Parade and Service, Sunday 12 November 2017

  1. My Grandfathers name, H. DALRYMPLE, is front and center on the Thornaby Cenotaph. Whenever I am back in the U.K. I try to pay a visit. He is buried in Thornaby Cemetery. I have his 1st. World War Medals. The 1914 STAR, THE BRITISH WAR MEDAL and THE BRITISH VICTORY MEDAL (Pip Squeak and Wilfred). I also have his NEXT OF KIN MEMORIAL PLAQUE (The Dead Mans Penny). I am hoping somebody (Frank Mee) can help me out and give me an explanation as to how he got The Dead Mans Penny when the date of his death is January 12th. 1920. I understood you had to die in the War to get this.

    Like

Leave a comment

