11 thoughts on “Elliotts Royal Hotel. Stockton High Street.

  1. The Elliott in ‘Elliotts Royal Hotel’ is a Frederick Elliott, who was the proprietor from c1881 onwards. A guide of the time described Mr Elliott as ‘highly respected in Stockton, and by his spirited enterprise, genial courtesy, and considerate attention to the comfort of his guests, has secured the confidence and support of a very extensive and high class patronage’.

    Like

    • Frederick Elliott proprietor of the Elliott’s Royal Hotel was my husband’s great grandfather, his grandfather Thomas Jackson Elliott was born here,

      Like

  2. I have a photograph of the Elliott- Savonas troupe though I”m not sure when it was taken. My father,John Elliott from Thornaby is fairly sure that it was his great grand father who was the “ELLIOTT” in the troupe.

    Like

  3. My name is Savona R. Sharples, my grandmother and I (my late granny) are from Manchester. My granny named me after a Savona Elliot, he had a saxaphone band, and she was on stage. I just recently moved to upstate New York (U.S.) I am 57 years old and still play the drums…any info on the Savona Elliots?

    Like

  4. I am the grand-daughter of Olive May Elliott, sister to Savona Elliott and Hazel Elliott who were grandchildren of “the Great” J B Elliott who was the founder of the performing family known as the Elliotts (sometimes the musical Savonas, Savonas and Elliotts etc).I remember lovely stories that my grandmother told me about her time as a child / young woman in the act. I am beginning to research my family history in a little more detail (it”s what happens when we get older!). Happy to share stories.

    Like

  5. I have a photograph of the Elliott Savonas and signatures of Paulina, Gina (or maybe Tina, Violet, Florence, May, James, H, Thomas and Robert Gilbert. I think it would have been around 1916.

    Like

  6. Chris, I am researching my family history (on my mother”s side) & know something of the Elliott family.My Grandmother”s maiden name was Clarice Marie Elliott, and her father, who was not actually married to her mother (who was an actress)was Thomas Brown Elliott, who I believe was a member of the cycling act when he was young – he later became a straight actor & stage manager. His father was James Bedford Elliott, who I believe was the founder of the cycling act. He was born in Middlesbro”, Yorkshire in 1846,& I have located him on the 1851 & 1861 censuses in Middlesboro” & Stockton, and in the 1871 census in Gateshead (where my Great Grandfather, Thomas Elliott was born in 1870). James was employed as a blacksmith in 1861 & an “engine smith” (I think in the maritime industry), in 1871 in Gateshead. In the 1881 census, the family have moved to London (Southwark), and James is listed as a “bicycle artist”. I have loads more information on the family, including names of the other children,if you are interested. I am about to contact a theatre archive collection for information on the family, and will let you know what I find out.

    Like

  7. Does anyone have any information on the Elliot Savonas? They area related to my grandmother Vera Burn maiden name Cale who has since passed away. We are not sure exactly of the the family connection we think they may have been cousins. Does anyone have any information on the Savonas?

    Like

  8. Emily, I read your comments with interest and some admiration. Who could imagine the youth of today willing to exert themselves so much for a good night out! I spent each Friday at the “pallie” gazing in awe at the jazz bands on offer then crawling home to grab five hours sleep before work on Saturday mornings. Go to “Search database” and type in The palais for all the comments.

    Like

  9. The sight of the Royal brought back many happy memories. I celebrated my 20st birthday there with friends from the Smiths Dock offices typing pool, and finished off the evening at the Maison or the Pallie. Manys the night we called at the chippy and raced over Thornaby bridge to catch the last train home – to South Bank.Later we used to cycle to and from Stockton dances, usually leaving the bikes in the gents at the Pallie.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.