36 thoughts on “2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders

  1. Picture Stockton Team you are correct in saying the 15 rounds a minute from the P14 Lee-Enfield was a good rate of fire. The P14 short nose had only a five round magazine and anyone who was in the DLI Cadets would know that as we used those weapons. That made three reloads of five round clips and takes much training. At Brancepeth in 1947 we were issued Mk4 Lee-Enfields with a ten round magazine, on the Ranges we still did the rapid fire trials but with ten in the magazine and one up the spout it came easy to us ex-cadets, (you were not encouraged to have one up the spout but if there were bets on the number of shots we cheated). We had Mk4’s until 1956 when we got the SLR based on the Belgium FN and called the L-E, A1 L1 it had a 32 round magazine but as usual with British army funny rules we only put 28 rounds in the mag, or some did. As for the Angel of Mons if you have been to that part of Belgium there are some strange cloud formations at times and under the stress of battle your imagination can take some funny turns. My Mother who had Uncles in that war said they had seen the Angel and she believed them. One problem with rapid fire, Infantry carry all their ammo with them and it is heavy, with all the rest of the kit you carried plus probably cases of mortar shells you did not load too much on, that meant using your shots carefully, not too many rapid fires then.

    Like

  2. Just to add to the Picture of Stockton Team’s comments regarding Mons. I served there from 1981-84 where the Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE) NATO’s military headquarters are based and right next to the HQ is a plaque recognising where the first shot was fired of WW1. The veterans made their organised visit each year while I was there – a few drinks and they were young men again. My understanding of the battle from them was the Germans had no idea that they were facing a small battle group too and they were none too happy that they had to retreat from Mons.

    Like

  3. Picture Stockton Team
    The ‘angels’ Joan refers to were the legendary ‘Angels of Mons’. After the 1st battle of Mons in August 1914 the British Expeditionary Force were in full retreat, being heavily outnumbered and outgunned by the pursuing German Army. The story goes that St George and a host of Angels appeared in the sky above the battlefield and so alarmed the Germans that they stopped their advance against the retreating British. The truth is more likely to be a combination of the facts that the German advance was so swift that they were outstripping their own supply lines and were forced to slow down and that the British decided to make a stand. At that time a British infantryman was trained to fire ’15 rounds rapid’ – which was fifteen aimed rounds in one minute, this led the Germans to think that they were facing a lot of machine guns. The basis of the legend came from a short story called ‘The Bowmen’ written by Arthur Machen just after the battle of Mons and printed in the London Evening News. In it St George and his angelic chums come to the aid of a fictional retreating British Army, although Mons isn’t mentioned in the actual story. Bizarrely many of the British troops who were there at the time claimed to have seen and heard the heavenly host. Go figure!

    Like

  4. My Grandfather served in the 1st Gordon Highlanders with B.E. F. in 1914. He fought at Mons, definitely saw and heard the angels. Anyone else have relatives at that battle? He (William McKay) was later gassed and subsequently suffered from a bad chest all his life, died at 65, his widow received a war pension.

    Like

    • I’m also looking for more information on my grandfather, William McShane, who was in the 2nd Gordon Highlanders. He was a prisoner of war under the Japanese for two years in coal mines I believe. Any information will do.

      Thank you

      Like

  5. The 2nd Battalion of the Gordon Highlanders has only two battle honours from Italy in WWI. The Battle of River Piave which took place in June 1918. The Battle of Vittorio Veneto which started in October 1918. Both of these battles took place after George Riddoch had died. Genoa was a military base for the British army in Italy, and was far from the Austrian boundary where most battles took place. It is possible that he was not killed in action, but died from other causes. There were several army hospitals based in Genoa.

    Like

    • Thank you – just trying to find more info again, about George Riddoch – 8 years later!! and yes he did die from other causes – not sure what yet – must pay Gordon Highlanders in Aberdeen a visit.

      Like

    • I’ve just found out that my great grand father served in this and his medals were stolen. Is there any way of getting these remade, can any one help me?

      Like

  6. My Great Uncle was Private George Riddoch and served with 2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders until his death on 27/3/1918 at age 21, and is buried at Staglieno Cemetry, Genoa, Italy. Does anyone know which battle would have been thereabouts?

    Like

  7. My Great Uncle Charles Chisholm from Stow, Midlothian, was killed at the battle of Loos on 25th September 1915. I note that there are at least two other contributors on here whose relatives died on that same day, presumably in the same action. All those young lives, snuffed out before their time. How very sad. Charles was a Private, aged 22 when he died. R.I.P.

    Like

  8. My great grand uncle, Hall Mathie, was with the 2nd Battalion Gordon Higlanders and volunteered in August 1914, he was killed at the battle of Loos on 25 September 1915 (where he still lies). My son is now also serving with the Highlanders 4th Battalion Royal Regiment of Scotland which was originally the 2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders – how freaky is that.
    Does anyone have any photos or know of Hall Mathie?

    Like

    • That was my great grandfathers brother and his name is on the memorial in Milngavie town centre. I even have the bible that he died with as it was brought back for the family! My dad’s middle name is Hall in commemoration!

      Like

  9. My grandfather Charles Taylor (sometimes used the middle name of Ramsay) was a Pte with A,D and C Coy 1/7th Terr: Gordons. He received injuries which were treated at Rippon. He was a POW at Friedrichsfiled Bei Wesel EH 24 xxiv Germany Gruss Aus Gross Blitters Dorf i/Lothr 1. Madche nschule 2. Conditores A Karmann (whatever this means I don”t know.) I believe he was also at Coblenz. He escaped and rejoined British troops which was reported in the local paper. Although he escaped his record showed he was a repatriated POW L Coy Hut 8 ? He was granted leave on repatriation on 24011919 which expired 01021919. I would love to find out more re his time in POW camp and his escape.

    Like

  10. Google on “the Scottish war memorials project index” and “|Scottish war graves project”. Somebody was writing about a James Duncan, buried in Dalgety. Photo is on 2nd website.

    Like

  11. I have a sniper scope the markings have M.D.V. HOLT 3 whitehall place.THE ADJUTANT.2ND BN GORDON HIGHLANDS…it also has Ross Of London with a serial number, does anyone have information on this?

    Like

  12. my great grandfather served with 2nd gordon highlanders from oct 1905 till his death on 2nd nov 1914 at hazebrouk in france i would be interested to see any photo”s of the battalion prior to that time also anyone looking for more info from the great war might try the western front association as it is a good source. with many researchers on the historical side of the great war.

    Like

  13. MyGreat Grandfather was Killed in Action 01/07/1916 at Memetz in France, he was part of 2nd Battallion of the Gordon Highlanders having joined up in Glasgow in 1915. His name was Pvte Frank Hepburn, from his records and the info from the Gordon Highlanders museum in Aberdeen I have found out that he was awarded a couple of War medals and the next of kin should have been awarded a scroll and a bronze holder from the MOD. Any information regarding my Grandfather or the battle for Mametz at the Somme would be greatly appreciated.

    Like

    • My Great Grandfather Pvt Charlie Ross 2nd Bat Gordon Highlanders KIA 07h35 1st July 1916 at. Mametz . They were stuck in a slight slope as they attacked the machine gun entrenched in The Shrine…unfortunately there was a lot of undamaged barbed wire in the slope which was not seen until the last moment …92 of the Gordons were killed ….and are buried there…Charlie Ross’s name is on his home town war memorial in Kilmarnock

      Like

  14. I wanted to find out from the war diaries what the 2nd Gordon Highlanders were doing upto 29th Of October 1914 when my grandfather was wounded and taken POW. I was able to get this online from A2A . The cost was £3. It seems the diaries had gone missing from that time period so they had been made up from entries from other battalions at that time and this is stated on the cover page.

    Like

  15. Ancestry are allowing free access to all service records during the month of November. James Duncan joined the Gordons in 1901, he may have served in the Boer War and then been recalled in 1914, as my gt. grandfather was. Many service records of WW1 were burnt so best of luck.

    Like

  16. War diaries are at the National Archives, if you can”t get there yourself there are researchers who will get copies for you (for a large fee of course) I did that myself for my great grandfather trying to find where he had been injured, luckily he survived and returned home. If you check out the Commonwealth Graves Commission site you will find James Duncan (just enter the initial) buried in Dalgety, Fife. The team have my email address if you need any more help

    Like

  17. My Great Uncle was Private James Duncan of the 2nd Gordon Highlanders. According to his “Campaign Medal Index Card” he entered the war 7 October 1914. He died on 8 August 1915, I have just started to try to put together some facts/photos of his relatively short Army career and wonder how you trace War diaries etc.

    Like

  18. I think Sophie Tabesse is researching the WW2 the Medloc route from Dieppe to the middle east was from Dieppe to Toulon I was on it in 1946.

    Like

  19. My Grandfather was a private with the Highlanders during WW1. I have his joining papers, he joined in Aug 1915 with his two brothers. He was quite old at 28 years. I have just discovered through Nat Arc that he was awarded 2 medals but none of the family seem to know anything about this. We don”t even know if he ever received them. He was wounded and lost two fingers, but all three brothers came home. They were the lucky ones. I have a photo very similar to yours.

    Like

  20. Some papers still exist for WW1 POWs. There is 1 for Pte Faulkner….. WO161 Faulkner Pte Gordon Highlanders page 31 pages 1893 re: Punishment. You can get a copy from the A2A site and the site Behind The Wire is very helpful ( with a searchable index for any existing papers on WW1 POWs)

    Like

  21. My great grandfather also served with the Gordon Highlanders as a private. He was William Faulkner. He was taken as a POW but managed to get home after the war but died in 1919.

    Like

  22. Hi, my grandfather George Third also served with the highlanders in WW1. He too was only a private. I stumble across your picture while doing research on him. I am trying to locate his medals which are still in Scotland.

    Like

  23. Found your entry when I was doing research on my various relatives who fought in WWI. My Great uncle, Archibald Hulskramer also served in 2nd Gordons, though only a private. He quite probably knew your relative as battalions were quite close-knit affairs. Archie was wounded (probably in the Somme battles) and lost an eye and arm and was also gassed. After the war he was (amazingly) a swimming instructor! I believe he died in 1960.

    Like

  24. Hello Sue, My Grandfather was Private William Johnstone of the 2nd Gordon Highlanders . I have the War Diaries for October 1914 showing them leaving Southampton on the SS Lake Michigan and the SS Mineapolis up to the 1st Battle of Ypres . My Grandfather was taken prisoner just before on the 29th of October . I have a picture of him with some men . One of them who is center seated on the ground is holding a ball with their details written on it. if you would like a copy of this photo I would be happy to share it. Cheers, Heather

    Like

    • Hi Heather, My Great Grandfather was a Sergeant in 2nd Batt. Gordons in D coy. (possibly C). He was stationed in Egypt before WW1 and was I believe in the battalion Football Team (Cricket and Boxing), so am interested in your picture. His name was Arthur Edward Girling and he survived the war. He was not taken prisoner though. They let him have leave so that he could get married in 1915. He appeared at my Great Grans covered in mud and lice. They still got hitched though – hence my existance.
      Many Thanks
      John

      Like

  25. My father served with the Gordon Highlanders during WW2……he married my mum in 1943 (she was in the women”s land army)……both are now passed away…..still missed dearly. My dad was a Sergeant Major…..and trained soldiers in Sierra Leone….he almost died from black water fever whilst over there….thankfully he got ok!! In memory of my dad…..a very much missed soul.

    Like

  26. TRANSLATION OF ABOVE Hello, I hope that you speak French. I am doing some research on the Medloc Transit Camp in Dieppe and I found in the local newspaper the name of John Bruce, of The Gordon Highlanders, a native of Baranfield in Scotland. He was the 500,000th soldier to pass through the Transit Camp. Is he your grandfather? If so, I have the newspaper article which explains how this occasion was celebrated and I can send it to you. Can you tell me if your grandfather father has any photographs of this camp? Yours, Sophie

    Like

  27. Bonjour, J”espère que vous parlez français. Je fais des recherches sur le Transit Camp Medloc de Dieppe et j”ai trouvé dans le journal de dieppe le nom de John Bruce,des Gordon Highlanders, natif de Baranfield en Ecosse et qui fut le 500 000 ème soldat à passer au Transit Camp. Est ce votre Grand père ? Si oui, j”ai l”article de journal qui expilque la fête réalisée autour de cet évènement. Je peux vous l”envoyer. Pouvez vous me dire si votre grand père possède ds photographies de ce camp ? Cordialement à vous Sophie

    Like

  28. This is my grandfather Captain John Robert Bruce (Bob) 2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders. The photograph was taken during WW1 I”m not sure where possibly France as he served in The Battle of The Somme. Why he joined the Gordon Highlanders I don’t know as though we are all Bruces none of us are Scots! He had a Clock and watch shop opposite the Five Lamps in Thornaby around 1940″s.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.